Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Chains or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for SRAM PC971 Chain 9 Speed

SRAM PC971 Chain 9 Speed

Overall rating:
4.45 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
19 out of 20(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for SRAM PC971 Chain 9 Speed
Review 1 for SRAM PC971 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Crowborough
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

good balance of quality, weight and value

Posted18 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Very reliable chain, and a good balance between value and weight. Have used this model on road and for off road MTBing, and no chain breaks yet. The easy release power link is great when doing bike mechanics and chainring work as well.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SRAM PC971 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nifty05
Country:Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great service as usual

Posted09 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Chain works well and is lightweight. Great service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SRAM PC971 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fidoedidoe
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice Replacement

Posted30 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
used this to replace a factory shipped shimano chain. power link works well, gear changes are seamless. got on price match with competitor so price excellent too. no complaints
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SRAM PC971 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JimB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Smooth running chain with Sram cassette

Posted21 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I have used these chains before and have not had any problems with breakiage or noise through the front mech, unlike other brands I have used with a Sram cassette,Tiagra front mech, Ultegra rear mech.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SRAM PC971 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Charlie65
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Easy to fit

Posted09 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easy to fit with clear instructions, unlike the Shimano alternative.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SRAM PC971 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mrswildcat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Wimbledon

New chain for my Trek

Posted23 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Does everything you would expect from SRAM. Runs smoothly on my Trek. Very lightweight and quiet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SRAM PC971 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hughgood
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good chain

Posted14 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
No problems with it, not much else to say really. Would buy again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SRAM PC971 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ribb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Provides precise changing.

Posted18 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I have fitted one of these chains to my winter bike. The rest of the drive chain is Campagnolo. Gear changes with this chain are precise, & the drive chain seems to run smoothly overall. Nothing much else to report ...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SRAM PC971 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
littleray
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

it's a bike chain

Posted01 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
what else can you say....comes in a nice plastic box which can be re-used for bits and pieces...the real plus point is the powerlink..a dream to fit or take apart. I've used SRAM for years ( on a tandem..twice the strain )and never had a chain break on me ( kiss of death ) but then again we don't really hammer the drive chain prefering to change gear rather than having to push too hard. For the money it's OK...you can "always " spend more and get better gear .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SRAM PC971 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
davehar166
from wigan
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great chain

Posted09 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
had one of these before and lasted well over 1500 miles and only ever snapped once but that was my fault, easy to fit because of the quick link thing but unlinking it is a bit hard
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SRAM PC971 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
thebear28
from edinburgh
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

s-ram 971

Posted25 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
came with a bike of mine, has lasted well but still not as long as my xtr chain, hasn't been as durable either rusted easier. has not broken though so can fault it there. just think shimano has a slight edge if you can get the xtr or xt chain cheap. bottom line decent chain that will last and as all chains wear out over time you are going to have to replace them at some stage.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SRAM PC971 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
simpit
from Turramurra, Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

SRAM PC971 Chain

Posted25 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is a good quality entry level chain and is excellent value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SRAM PC971 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bobfleming
from super Leeds
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted16 January 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Far better than the Shimana chains and the gold links make it far easier to fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SRAM PC971 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pipkin
from South East
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

snapped within a month

Posted11 October 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: snap!
Probably my poor shifting rather than the fault of the chain, (I tried to switch the front mech and rear gears at once on a climb = twist) but I snapped mine on a technical section in Wales.
Would hope for a little more durability. As far as I can see the PC951 is equally as good but not as expensive. Perhaps just a slight weight difference, if that bothers you
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SRAM PC971 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
david4
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Posted24 September 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
runs nice and smooth with my new 9 speed cassette but remember you will need to cut the chain if you buy one i think there are 56 links and mind worked out at 53 with the old one.but once on works well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SRAM PC971 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Moelbak
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Great

Posted31 July 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great chain, easy to take of and on for cleaning etc. Strong and at a good price.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SRAM PC971 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dado
from Brazil
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Smooth and durable

Posted18 July 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Shifts smooth and lasts long. My chains had more than 5.000Km when I replaced it - with another pc-971. Didn´t need to change the cassette and I believe I could ride even more before replacing it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SRAM PC971 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orangepeel
from Essex
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great Value Chain

Posted16 July 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
My MTB came with this chain and snapped after 8 months due to a difficult change in gears due to some ramblers on a hill - not the chains fault. Had no other problems with it so I was quite happy to replace it like for like and its given the same smooth changes and quiet pedalling. Great value and the powerlink is excellent for easy removal for cleaning etc.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SRAM PC971 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
morxy
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Strong and Smooth Shifting

Posted22 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this 6 months ago while completely overhauling my drivetrain (new cassette, chainrings, derailleurs etc..).
It runs very clean and quietly, looks silvery, quite shiny. It shifts very smoothly. In fact, it's probably the smoothest shifting chain I've ever ridden. Responds very quickly to rear shifts too.
Quick link is very convenient for removing the chain to clean. I always remove chains to clean them. (Do you clean your jeans while still wearing them? Also, how can you clean jockey wheels properly while there's a chain in the way?)
I check my chains regularly for wear using the Park Tool Chain Wear Indicator. So far, after 2200 miles, this chain shows NO sign of any wear and continues to shift as smoothly as ever, even in these Wintry conditions. Superb.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SRAM PC971 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
denboy
from cumbria
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Posted14 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
got the chain for a replacement sametime as the rear cog due to problems with my old gear ths seems to be a good chain at a good price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.