Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for SRAM PC951 Chain 9 Speed

SRAM PC951 Chain 9 Speed

Overall rating:
4.308 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for SRAM PC951 Chain 9 Speed
Review 1 for SRAM PC951 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Poppysbike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good chain - smooth transition between gears

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Does the job well - bike was struggling pre-service by Evans - now all gears working well, chain integrated well into the drive system and crisp gear changes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SRAM PC951 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MTBSam

good all round chain

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
had no trouble with this chain and decent lasting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SRAM PC951 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Winza84
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Simple but Strong

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Recently had my bike serviced and the chain snapped, took the bike back and Evans changed it free of charge. It's only a chain but it does the job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SRAM PC951 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Andyh63
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product at a good price

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This was purchased on recommendation of one of the Evans advisors. I have to say this chain has proved to be a great buy giving smooth gear changes and good value for money too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SRAM PC951 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
g2311
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Better than Shimano !

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Although Shimano and SRAM chains (and cassetes, rings) are ostensibly interchangeable, I just could not get a Shimano chain to sit on my daughters Giant XTC, which has SRAM gears.
So, flying in the face of logic I swapped the Shimano chain for an SRAM; result: karma, smooth ride and changes.
Just wish I'd switched sooner.
If your bike has SRAM gears I'd recommend this chain, don't waste your time with any other.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SRAM PC951 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
DrShaun
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Still waiting judgement

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Had to replace chain earlier this summer and chose the SRAM. But two links split after only couple of months (albeit after much training indoors and out, with a lot of climbing). Decided to replace with same model assuming first was a lemon. Currently all ok with replacement but will let you know if it fails .........
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SRAM PC951 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pipkin
from South East
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

easy to fit, durable

PostedOctober 11, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
love the way these fit so easily with the powerlink - even a relative mechanical buffoon like me can fit them.
Word of warning though...if you break them and re-attach not using a powerlink the pivots do become weak...so ensure that the powerlink is always used
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SRAM PC951 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
harvey
from North Herts keen off road and on road OAP
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

SRAM CHAIN

PostedSeptember 23, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Very easy to insall and gear changing etc worked perfectly without any further adjustment
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SRAM PC951 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
MattL
from Berkshire
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

I'm going against the flow here

PostedJuly 31, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: doesn't shift so well
Yes it's a chain. Yes, it's probably as durable as the more expensive ones. No, the shifting isn't as slick on my bike with this chain as with the XTR / Dura-Ace chain which isn't that much more expensive. Used with XT and SLX cassettes, XT/XTR mech & shifters
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SRAM PC951 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sagath
from Russia, South Ural region
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good quality for good price. Used 6+ 951 chains with Shimano XT setup and with SRAM X.4-X.7 setup too. Both setups have predictable and fast gear changes. I don't have any problems with this chains (3-at-round usage) through 6000 km of hills / forests.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SRAM PC951 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sparowhawk
from St Albans
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

its a chain and it works

PostedJune 28, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
its a chain and it works. Difficult to say much more....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SRAM PC951 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TheBear
from Northants
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
  • Staff

PostedDecember 13, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
It's a chain.
Wait. It's more than that. The 951 is the true workhorse of the SRAM chain line up. It's cheap, tough as old nails and with a powerlink, it's easy to take apart and put together. I used an incredibly expensive chain at the Megavalanche this year, 10,000nm breaking strain. Yeah? It snapped.....in 1st gear....on the flat....at the beginning of the week. Fitted my 'backup' 951, and ran it for 5 days of thorough abuse, and through the worlds premier Downhill endurance race. No problems. Fit one of these and then ride all day, every day.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SRAM PC951 Chain 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alastair555
from Near MK Bucks
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good solid reliable product

PostedDecember 12, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I buy SRAM chains because I need chains that are bullet proof.
These deliver and are not pricey either
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.