Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Cycleops Fluid 2 Trainer

Cycleops Fluid 2 Trainer

Overall rating:
4.654 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
51 out of 52(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer reviews for Cycleops Fluid 2 Trainer
Review 1 for Cycleops Fluid 2 Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
from Isle of Harris
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

No excuse for not training

PostedFebruary 17, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Delivery on time. Easy to assemble. Up and running in 15mins max.
Have used it for two different bikes and switching between them is easy to do, although it is necessary to use the provided Q/R spindle.
In use, it is quiet and comfortable with little vibration. A block of wood (4"x2") under the front wheel gets the top/tube hosizontal and takes the pressure of the hands.
No excuses - get training rain or snow!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cycleops Fluid 2 Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JohnnieR
from south shields
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellnt product

PostedFebruary 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
This product is very quiet in use, with a noticeable change of resistance with gear changes. Easy to set up and gives a very tough workout if required. It appears well built and sturdy. Definitely highly recommend to anyone. Evans also price matched, with quick delivery.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cycleops Fluid 2 Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andrew246
from West Yorkshire
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great piece of kit

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easy to assemble but the instructions could be a bit better. The Trainer is very well made and it does what it says on the tin. I have been using it in my garage for a month now and I can really feel the benefits in my fitness. You can adjust the tension on the wheel so that you can replicate the hardest of climbs, using your gears to the max. Its quiet, and the wear on my rear tyre looks OK. I use this every evening, the only problem being that both my son anf daughter have now started using it and so I may have to introduce a booking fee!!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cycleops Fluid 2 Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:Denmark
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Reasonably Quiet Flat Road Trainer

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, relatively quiet, sturdy
Cons: slight rumble
I've never had a cycle trainer before so this is my first. Used it 3 or 4 times for about 40 minutes each time.
Resistance:
I've found that I'm having to use the top few gears of my bike in order to get a reasonable amount of resistance. At this level I'd say it's the equivalent of a flat road, but not much more. There's not really enough resistance for me to sprint (out of saddle). I have noticed my tyres have gone flat more quickly than when used on road, so pumping them back up to full pressure should improve the resistance levels.
Noise:
I live in an apartment so was a bit worried about the noise. Luckily I don't think it's too bad at all, although I don't have much to compare to. It's probably about the equivalent of a hair dryer on full blast. Definitely get a smooth/hard tyre they recommend as 1) it'll wear down fast and 2) it will help minimise noise.
Vibration:
I can feel a very slight dull 'rumble' through the pedals around once every second. Not sure if that's normal or not, but I don't find it an issue in the least. I just hope it doesn't go through to the flat below. At least, they haven't come knocking yet!
Overall I'm happy with it. Much nicer than running/cycling in the freezing cold and wet.
Just stick something on the TV or crank up come music!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cycleops Fluid 2 Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JV4811
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great piece of kit.

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Great piece of kit. Fast delivery from Evans Cycles. Easy to set up and use. No frills or fancies with no electronic read outs etc.
Sturdy and well made and looks like it will last for years.
I use mine in a conservatory which is great when it's cold outside.
I would recommend this product to anyone who wants to keep fit. You don't have to be a top flight athlete to justify owning one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cycleops Fluid 2 Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ParttimeTri
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great first time turbo purchase

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I spent several hours online trying to work out how much money to spend and on what type of trainer but found the choice a bit overwhelming. In the end I chose the Fluid 2 which was a little above my intended budget but I liked the fact that it was a popular choice and classed as quiet. It has met my expectations in that it is a solid piece of equipment, appears to be good quality and does the job. It is simple to set up and folds for easy storage. I have had it for a month and used it about 10 times for an hour session each time. Definitely beats riding outside in this cold weather and I get to watch TV at the same time. No complaints so far, no hesitation recommending it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cycleops Fluid 2 Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wwright12

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cant hear it from the next room, doesn't take long to have a really good workout and really fast delivery
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cycleops Fluid 2 Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bags78
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Great

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I recently brought cycleops fluid 2 trainer.great piece of kit bike clips in and out easy nice and quite,set up easy,good price in Evans sale
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cycleops Fluid 2 Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BADGER1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

GOOD PRICE WITH FREE RISER BLOCK

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I bought this product to try and keep my fitness levels up during the winter months on the days that were to bad to get out, and i can say t does the job and i am not dissapointed with it.
Depending on how you exercise, its easy to get an intense workout and feel as if you have been on a decent mileage ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cycleops Fluid 2 Trainer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Billbike
from Birmingham
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good....but cycleopps could do better

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I've owned 3 turbo trainers. Air resistance, elite travel magnetic circa 2000 and the cycleops fluid 2.
Likes:
- Mainly the feel of the resistance wheel/unit.It is quite smooth (less "lumpy"/uneven resistance than the elite that i had before on high resistance settings). Is it like riding on the road? Questionable.
- Quick release is convenient.
- Feels solid when I got used to it.
Dislikes:
- Quality of the finish of the welds is very poor given the price. This is really unecessary - i hope that this has been resovled on 2012 models - get your act together cycleops. This is disappointing given the price. However, i doubt if there have many failures on the welds -just could look better.
- The description suggested that the legs are adjustable - maybe they are - but not on on the model that I had. This would be anoying if you had an uneven floor.
- Resistance level on my model changes after about 5 mins. I suspect that this is when the fluid reaches a certain temp. I personally like the greater resistance that this kicks in - but am put off by the fact that the level of resistance appears to be influenced by the temp.
- I am not a powerful cyclist - but wonder whether the limited resistance could be a problem for some riders.
If magnetic models have moved on since my early elite model - then i'd consider one of these, given the price of the cycleops.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cycleops Fluid 2 Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jamiec902
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent trainer

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is my first purchase of a trainer and after many weeks of looking at reviews etc this is the one I bought. I have used 6 or 7 times now and found it easy to build, quick to put the bike on and very quiet. An excellent 1st trainer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cycleops Fluid 2 Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
N1ght1ngale
from Lowestoft
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great training device

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, sturdy, effective
Cons: little noisy
I purchased this device to keep me cycling through the winter months when the rain and cold weather would otherwise put me off.
The device is a great trainer, allowing you to adjust the resistance by simply changing through the gears. Putting the device together was simple with clear instructions.
The device is not quiet by any means but as I normally use with headphones it is no problem.
I purchased along with the riser block which I would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cycleops Fluid 2 Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dicka
from North East England
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
First Turbo Trainer I have purchased because of the poor summer weather but seems very life like when using it.
When pedalling there is a hum from the rear tyre but not more than I anticipated.
I have it set up in garage so no problem. May be a little noisy in the house.
Set up took about 15 mins and I also bought a stand for the front wheel. Whole set up is very stable and no problems at present.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cycleops Fluid 2 Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GPete
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cycleops Fluid 2

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Love this trainer! Easy to set up, perfect for winter mornings. Smooth and quiet, able to change resistance by simply changing gears which is a big plus!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cycleops Fluid 2 Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beerbarrel
from manchester
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

money well spent

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, very quiet
I bought the Cyclops 2 Fluid trainer after messing about with a cheap mag trainer for a couple of years,it was without doubt the best thing I did regarding training.It is so much quieter than old mag trainer I had, itwas almost silent in comparison.It is heavey and sturdy but you can fold the legs in and take it outside if the weather is fine and you are having a quick spin or just keep it in thehouse,I use it upstairs while the kids are downstairs and they do'nt even notice it.You might think ti is expensive but if you are serious about getting fit then the cheap mag turbos are a false economy and any way Evans beat the price of all tha other sites I looked at,and it was ready to collect from my shop of choice two days later.Great service and don't forget to buy the 4 way riser block it's a must.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cycleops Fluid 2 Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gman2007
from Brisbane Queensland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great trainer

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great price - Great delivery - great product !
I ordered this and trainer...., and I couldn't find another price that could beat Evans......, it was delivered a week later - 15 minutes assembly and I was up and running (well - riding).
Fantastically quiet - its not whisper quiet - but as far as trainers go...., I haven't come across another trainer that is as quiet.
I don't know about you - but the drone of a trainer will be deterrent to avoid using it..........., not so with this one.
Solid.
Heavy fly wheel (realistic feel)
Stable
Buy it - you wont know why you took so long to get one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cycleops Fluid 2 Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
decibelSG61
from Perth
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cycleops fluid trainer

PostedJuly 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This is a substantial piece of equipment, extremely well made with quality components. The delivery packaging from Evans was excellent.
Clear instructions for building the unit are supplied and although simple it is an awkward fiddly set up.
In use the trainer is very quiet, extremely stable and very effective. Once set up it provides a smooth resistance and responds well to acceleration, gear change and standing. I am enjoying using this product and consider it a valuable addition for a time limited and Scottish weather limited training plan.
A good purchase, it does what it says and has in fact exceeded my expectations.
Service and reliability from Evans - suoerb.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cycleops Fluid 2 Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RichardGT
from N. Lincolnshire

CycleOps Fluid trainer.

PostedJuly 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, very quiet in use
Cons: Expensive
I purchased this item recently from yourselves and it was delivered very promptly, and well packed.
Assembly was simplicity itself, and my trial 'rides' on the machine have indicated to me that it is an ideal method for training.
It is very stable, quiet in operation and a pleasure to use.
Many thanks,
RichardGT
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cycleops Fluid 2 Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kat8
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great turbo!

PostedJune 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I have used the turbo a couple of times now as I am recovering from injury and it does everything I imagined it to! Its really quiet and the resistance is good. This one was recommended to me as its slightly higher spec than the average trainer and i can say I am very impressed - the best price was on Evans too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cycleops Fluid 2 Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pjg347
from yorkshire
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJune 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Bought this after getting frustrated with our weather. Easy to set up ( not sure what other reviewers have been doing? ) Have used it most days and am actually preferring it now than being out on the road! No cars,traffic lights,potholes to contend with is such a relief. Quiet enough not to annoy other housemates and would thoroughly recommend to anyone looking to get their miles in whilst the weather is bad. Great service by Evans too - came earlier than expected and was price matched so couldn't lose.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>