Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Cycleops Magneto Trainer

Cycleops Magneto Trainer

Overall rating:
4.516 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
31 out of 31(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer reviews for Cycleops Magneto Trainer
Review 1 for Cycleops Magneto Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Zelda
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very easy to set up and very quiet

Posted27 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought this after a knee operation. Easy to alter the pressure as the injury improves. Also going to be a bonus for the winter when I cannot get out.
I was a little concerned about the noise issue after reading other reviews, but there is no noise!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cycleops Magneto Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gavvx
from Kent
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great trainer, very quiet

Posted04 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, very quiet
I bought this trainer as a replacement to a very old elite travel turbo trainer.
Set up was very easy and the trainer sits very solid.
I can't believe how quiet it is, early morning session in the garage are now possible without waking up the whole house.
Overall, very happy with purchase and great value.
Thumbs up from me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cycleops Magneto Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stupot1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Seems good and solid.

Posted12 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Good solid pieced of kit, it is well made and very easy to set up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cycleops Magneto Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fletch854
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted26 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Being new to turbo trainers, I cannot really compare to other brands on the market. However my experience of the product and the service so far has been great. I have bought other products from Evans before but this was my first online purchase. The product was processed and delivered within a few days. I setup the product fairly easily although the instructions are not very good at all. I would suggest viewing the video's on youtube before attempting the installation first. I had no problems and the trainer is performing well. The product is a little noisy but as mentioned earlier I have not used other trainers before so I cannot compare. In action using the gears and your work effort determines how hard your workout is. No adjustments on the trainer required, although I have read you can increase the pressure on the tyre when installing the bike into the trainer will also increase the resistance and thus effect your workout. Overall I am very pleased with my purchase and would recommend the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cycleops Magneto Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Benton11
from UK
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very pleased with this trainer!

Posted20 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I am not a sport cyclist - but I have a mountain bike and wanted an alternative for days when I need a break from running. Took advice from Evans and bought this turbo trainer. Only used it a few times so far but it seems solidly built and delivers a feel very close to normal cycling - choose a high gear / pedal hard and the resistance increases or ease off and have a gentler work out. I am using a fairly smooth road tyre and the trainer is quiet enough - no problem hearing the TV in my gym (garage). Fully recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cycleops Magneto Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dav357
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quallity product..

Posted29 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Have now tested the cycleops a few times and am really happy with it..Very easy to set up and dvd encourages you to work hard and gives you the sensation of riding in a bunch..Simple to use,to increase difficulty all you need to do is move up through the gears, just like riding outdoors...:)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cycleops Magneto Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TMR1
from Bristol
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good kit

Posted05 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive, not as adjustable as advertised.
Does what it says on the tin. Simple to use with gear changes affecting the effort needed to ride.
Comes with a quick release spindle to fit to your own bikes rear wheel which was a surprise to me and obviously an issue if you do not have a quick release wheel on your bike.
All the warnings about increased wear on the tyres should be heeded. Mine was smooth to the touch after an hours ride. I may well look for a training wheel and tyre now!?
Oh, adjustable feet...what adjustable feet. Yes the twist and yes they can be pulled out a bit. This is just because they are plastic / rubber sleaves over the end of the legs and they slide back as soon as any pressure goes on them. On uneven ground I have resorted to using wedges to support the unit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
GrayBlueHonda
Telford
 
Please wait while more information about GrayBlueHonda is loaded.
Additional information about GrayBlueHonda could not be loaded.
Questions and answers
Posted 24 February 2013
I agree with everyone that this is a great trainer, well designed, well built and sturdy that reproduces the feeling of road cycling very well. I assume the progressive resistance comes courtesy of the enclosed fan as there's no adjustment provided on the "Magneto" resistance unit, which makes it much simpler to use. Is there in fact anything inside the roller (eg a fixed magnetic resistance)? I assume there has to be for the unit to be described as variable magnetic. Anyway enough of that, it works and that's all I'm interested in! This is my first trainer and will probably be my last!
I've seen some comments on here about the clarity of the instructions and whether the feet are adjustable. I agree the instructions could have been clearer as certain diagrams where not keyed to the relevant instructions. The one for the adjustable feet is particularly unclear. The second diagram on second page of the instructions shows a plan view of one of the feet but it's not labelled as such and I was confused for a while as to what it was. Then it clicked - the hole in the the rubber feet on the adjusting legs is off-centre, so by twisting it you will get a variable "thickness" in contact with the floor. Not a great deal of adjustment but better than nothing. I can see that TM1 from Bristol was also understandably confused, as I was!
Another bit in the instructions says that if you want to centre your bike you can use one of the alternate holes in the locking bolt tube - but there's only 1 hole. Doesn't matter as my bike is more or less central; anyway and they do say it's not necessary that your bike is centred for the unit to work properly.
All in all even though the instructions could be better I'm very pleased with trainer itself and really enjoy using it.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 8 for Cycleops Magneto Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Piaz
from Yorkshire
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very happy

Posted05 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Excellent product, does exactly what it says it will. Fairly easy to set up, well built, sturdy and gives variable resistance, controlled by changing your bike's gears - just what you want.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cycleops Magneto Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IanB
from East Yorkshire
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First Trainer

Posted29 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought this after being persuaded by my brother. He's had one for a good while now.
It is a neat piece of kit, a little bit noisy but not excessively so. Easy to put together and very
nicely constructed. Good finish on all the components. It would be even better if a riser block for the front wheel was included in the package. i bought a riser at the same time. The only real drawback ( as far as I can see is computers driven by the front wheel don't work. I must be lucky, my son bought me a
computer with a cadence sensor so the wheel sensor is on the back wheel. It all works very well. I was even a help to make fine adjustments to my bike.
Good buy, very usefull and good value
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cycleops Magneto Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wiltsgal
from Lichfield
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Like it but...

Posted23 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: unclear instructions
Just got the Cycleops Magneto Trainer and first impressions were very frustrating to set up. The instructions aren't very clear there trying to find how to position the rear wheel and lock the bike in position was confusing.
That said it is set up and seems to work well. Some noise as its a mountain bike but being able to change gears to control the level of tension is definitely a thumbs up.
Clearer instructions are a must!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cycleops Magneto Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Irondan
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

Posted11 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
The Cycleops Magneto Trainer was an excellent purchase. It guarantees a good quality training ride from the moment you step onto it, which is otherwise so difficult to achieve if you live in an urban area. The magnet mechanism works extremely well.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cycleops Magneto Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brisbane
from Brisbane-Aus
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Happy Purchase

Posted17 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
First Trainer purchased, couldnt be more happy with it! Gives you a really good work out, especially with the DVD that comes with it. Easy set up. Great that is comes with a spare rod so you dont ruin your own. Wish it came with a front wheel holder though. I would recommend to any level rider. You dont notice any noise at all as you have the TV & DVD on. Impressed how quickly i received by mail as im from Australia.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cycleops Magneto Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Baso
from Kent
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Buy

Posted16 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great value for money.
Easy to set up and simply using the gears as resistance makes it easy to operate.
A bit noisy as using mountain bike tyres but not enough to change tyres yet. Headphones and music help.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cycleops Magneto Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bishy
from Milton Keynes
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted25 January 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I found the cycleops magneto trainer really first class. Worth every penny and excellent value for money. Easy to assemble and makes cycling indoors during poor weather really enjoyable. You may need consider purchasing the Tacx Skyliner Track Block.
 
Products related to my review
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cycleops Magneto Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TomGB
from Liverpool
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ideal Turbo

Posted24 January 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This was my first turbo trainer, and for a mid-rang price bracket you get a good quaility, easy assembly turbo that's smooth, realistic and fairly quiet. It also has the added bonus of progressive resistance, so the longer the session the harder it gets in terms of resistance and keeping up your cadence. Living in the NW means I may be using this alot in the coming months!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cycleops Magneto Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NormanB
from West Sussex
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Value for Money

Posted06 January 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This was my first foray into the world of turbo trainers and I've been very pleased with my purchase.
Build quality is excellent and the trainer is sturdy and robust. Noise levels are low with my semi-slick tyres.
Assembly was fairly simple - although the instructions are poorly written. I found the videos on the Cycleops website much more help.
Setting up the rear wheel for the first time can be done single-handed but is easier with an assistant.
Didn't appreciate you need a special quick release skewer that matches the trainer fittings. One is supplied with the trainer but you really need one per bike to save hassle.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cycleops Magneto Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Noggy
from Chippenham
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Training Device

Posted27 December 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Sturdy, great quality, easy to assemble - just the job for those long winter nights watching Tele when training!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cycleops Magneto Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
warhammer
from Wirral
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top Trainer

Posted09 November 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: bit noisy
Simple to construct, solidly built and great value. It can be a little noisy at times but I use it regularly and love it. Perfect for the winter evenings and better than watching X Factor!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cycleops Magneto Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ryan1
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Exactly what you would expect

Posted31 October 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I read the reviews on this piece of kit and thought with my budget it was the best I could find. It does not dissapoint, it does exactly what you would expect. Easy to set up, and also easy to store. It came with a training dvd which is good as it keeps the motivation high!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cycleops Magneto Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Janieb
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Brilliant starter

Posted27 October 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, easy to set up
I haven't owned one of these before however with the night drawing in, my partner and I opted for the indoor option. After having reviewed various models we chose this one. It is value for money and serves the purpose way above what we expected. It is easy to set up and very quick to change over our bikes. Brilliant, I wouldn't look further, it fills what we need 100%
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>