Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Cycleops Mag Trainer

Cycleops Mag Trainer

Overall rating:
4.372 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 51 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
49 out of 51(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 48 Answers
Customer reviews for Cycleops Mag Trainer
Review 1 for Cycleops Mag Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CharlieB13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Worth the money

Posted27 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Good trainer for a newbie to cycling. Solid construction, reasonably easy to put together and not massively noisy. Easy to adjust the resistance and doesn't take up huge amounts of room when you fold it up. I was concerned at the price to begin with but in comparison to other similar ability trainers it worked out quite well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cycleops Mag Trainer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
RDC2012
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cannot fault the Cycleops Mag Trainer.

Posted18 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, ample resistance
Cons: non so far
This is the first Mag trainer I've ever used and it does exactly what I'd expect it to do. Easy to assemble and set up and after three hours use so far has offered ample resistance.
Yes I would certainly reccomend this mag trainer. The 3 star rating is purely as I have nothing to compare it to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cycleops Mag Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DamoN
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good basic turbo trainer

Posted04 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
good basic turbo trainer. Easy to set up, using is easy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cycleops Mag Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ShaunS
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted27 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Delighted with this product, arrived promptly, easily assembled, up and running in no time, keeping me in the saddle during this awful weather!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cycleops Mag Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TC3724
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect Basic Trainer

Posted27 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Very good quality product. Easy to assemble and use. Would recommend to anyone looking for a basic but high quality trainer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cycleops Mag Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fordy5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy and quick to get up and running

Posted14 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Have been really happy with this purchase for a turbo trainer for some extra winter training. Good quality and very easy to set up and use. I like to use the free riser block to give a even ride.
Would also recommend the use of a mat as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cycleops Mag Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
saxmanpete
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great entry-level trainer

Posted30 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I tentatively bought this trainer after reading good reviews on the Evans website, but my biggest worry was that of noise (I live in a flat with parquet flooring). I have found though that. provided I use a yoga mat underneath and a riser block under the front wheel, it's not unduly loud for daytime use.
The build quality is sturdy, and it's quick and easy to get the bike in and out of. I would recommend viewing the YouTube video before the initial set up, and you should expect to spend a bit of time and trial and error on this (it took me about 20 minutes). Once that's done it's hassle-free enough to get the most reluctant 'armchair cyclist' on the bike really regularly through the winter.
A good buy that's certainly got me back on my bike without getting cold.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cycleops Mag Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Supermurph
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very happy with product

Posted05 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
As a relatively new cyclist I was keen to develop over the winter months when I can only get out at weekends.
Set was reasonably straight forward, not too noisy so all in all I'm happy.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cycleops Mag Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
robreading
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Very stable

Posted15 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Great turbo, very stable when on bike, good resistance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cycleops Mag Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Richy
from UK
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Robust design

Posted09 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, easy assembly
Cons: none
Recently purchased this item and found it easy to assemble and was impressed with the design and robustness. I find going through the gears on your bike gives the required resistance to fulfill a decent session. This is the first trainer Ive bought and after reading all the other reviews decided that this was the one to buy. Definately a great buy and would reccomend to any first time user like myself.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cycleops Mag Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chizgreen68
from London commuter on road, towpath weekend rides
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect low cost trainer

Posted29 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
People seem to find these noisy, but really found it fine.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cycleops Mag Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Johnno99
from UK
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid build, easy to set up and very quick to use

Posted11 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: resistance changer
This is my first Turbo trainer and I am hooked. The product is easy to use, feels solid and is quieter than I was expecting. Why not 5 stars then? The resistance changer seems to have a limited/no impact. Using the bike gears is much more productive. So don't spend the money on the remote change mechanism but do buy a riser block.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Supermurph
South Wingfield
 
Please wait while more information about Supermurph is loaded.
Additional information about Supermurph could not be loaded.
Are you still happy with product?
Posted 16 October 2012
Looking to purchase very soon, wanted to know if you still advised against the remote and opt for a riser block?
Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 13 for Cycleops Mag Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kcdc230
from United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Excellent product

Posted03 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I bought this product for my wife as a Christmas present (she had asked for it!) and it was incredibly easy to put together. Very easy to use, and works really well with her hybrid bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cycleops Mag Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ahmad
from Brunei
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Smooth ride.

Posted28 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
My first trainer, so cant compare it to others.
Initial set up might take some efforts. I suggest watching the video installation guide on youtube.
Smooth ride. not quiet, but wont disturb the neighbors. Can still hear the tv on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cycleops Mag Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jailerbill
from southampton
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

bike demon

Posted04 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Get this trainer and become a bike demon . No more shivering down forest roads and no more bringing your feet back to life after being drenched on a long haul burn.This trainer fits any bike , from my winter trainer to my wifes ambler to my sons mountain bike .We all love it .Easy to set up , easy to set the resistance and totally worth while. Its the biz.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cycleops Mag Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
blueskyboy
from my garage
Age:55-65
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Did exactly what it said on the tin

Posted20 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: none really
Easy to fit (look on Youtube if you are struggling); easy to use and robust enough for a 100kg man to bounce around on quite happily. You do get some noise off it, the pitch depending on rear wheel speed so for me a rich bass, but a) I'm in the garage and b) got my buds in so i don't care. It's working perfectly for me getting some fitness level back after surgery but might need more features if you are a serious cyclist which i don't claim to be.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cycleops Mag Trainer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
goldilocks
from east london
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Posted08 June 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
arrived super quick, as always with Evans. unfortunately was unable to put together, the bolts would not line up. Took back to Evans shop and was refunded.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cycleops Mag Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PaulOD
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Product

Posted29 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
I thought this trainer was brilliant. the insturctions are not particuarly clear when putting it together, but its mostly self explanatory.
easy to use and folds away for easy storage, I have recommended this to a few of my friends.
This is my first Trainer and would definitely recommend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cycleops Mag Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
goody4
from swansea
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

turbo turbo

Posted11 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
bought this when recommended and so glad i did. its fantastic. would recommend to antone wanting to buy a turbo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cycleops Mag Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tenor
from Surrey
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted22 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Assembly instructions could be better but it is fairly clear how the components fit together. Getting the bike in and out of the trainer is very quick and easy. You have to use the wheel spindle provided unless you have an older style quick release but it's a simple task changing it over. I haven't yet found a setting of wheel against roller which doesn't wear out the tyre to some extent. For that reason it is probably better to use a tyre which you can sacrifice. That means it isn't practical to use a bike you want to go out and train on.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>