Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Cycle Computers or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Polar CS200cad Cycling Computer

Polar CS200cad Cycling Computer

Overall rating:
4.318 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
19 out of 22(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer reviews for Polar CS200cad Cycling Computer
Review 1 for Polar CS200cad Cycling Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RSmith4026
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great combination HRM/speedo at a good price

Posted05 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good chunky buttons that respond well to gloved fingers with a pleasing relatively large face with clear figures. This is my second one of these. The first, still in use, unfortunately had one of the thee teeth that hold the unit in place broken in a fall - now held on with a cable tie.
The instructions are relatively easy to follow, however as with all Polar manuals they don't quite flow for me- I need to read them a few times over and experiment.
The recorded information certainly meets my needs, however it's best to use the supplied wearlink transmitter as some of my older trasmitter belts can be a bit erratic ( which probably means they are done !)
All in all a good bit of kit worrth the money for this reviewer anyway.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Polar CS200cad Cycling Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
570WOL
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent, prompt delivery no hassles

Posted24 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Easy to follow instructions, took about 35 mins to fit to the bike, everything works fine. Worth every penny
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Polar CS200cad Cycling Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hamsta
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product not too complicated

Posted25 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Happy with product and prompt delivery to Oz well done Evans
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Polar CS200cad Cycling Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JOH1

Polar CS200cad Cycling Computer

Posted27 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Excellent product. Only misleading point is that it is not clear that the heart rate monitor is included. Bought that as an extra at the same time, so need to return it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Polar CS200cad Cycling Computer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Esssel
Country:France
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Disappointing in the long run

Posted09 August 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Good spec. First delivered what it promised.
Yet: I bought this 3/4 years ago and after the first 2 years the sensors started to play up. The aftersales service fixed it under waranty but I lost cadence again after a couple of months. Aftersales replaced it again (free) and HRM belt as well. Cadence lasted another couple of months. HRM's gone again. Not a pb of battery apparently.
It's now too unreliable to be any use.
Pity.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Polar CS200cad Cycling Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TriKev23
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Decent Computer

Posted03 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: difficult to fit
I went into the Gatwick showroom looking to buy a cheap bike computer for a triathlon the following week, but ended up buying this!
The setting up process was very difficult and stressful, and took me over an hour! You need to stick with it!
Once set up though, its a great computer and does everything the above average cyclist could ask for. I'm so glad I went for a computer with cadence as my cycling has improved enormously since I started using it. The HR function is as you would expect from a Polar product.
The one issue I have had was using an uncoded transmitter band, instead of the coded one supplied. This seemed to give false informatiom to the computer and the distance and HR readings were on and off during my ride. I won't be using an uncoded band again!
Overall very happy with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Polar CS200cad Cycling Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Farmerboy

Nice

Posted29 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
It's a little daunting at first when I tried to grapple with the many features and functions of this Polar....but once you get the hang of it, it works like a charm. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Polar CS200cad Cycling Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dcash5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perplexed by the bad reviews

Posted13 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I did an awful lot of research prior to purchasing a HRM and cycle computer and seemed to read the vast majority of the reviews.
Along with the reviews I canvassed every cyclist I knew about it and the reviews were whole heartedly positive. I thought I would address the concerns I read with my own experience after 3 weeks of ownership.
So the two concerns I saw:
Doesn't work on carbon forks: Rubbish, if it's within the distance tolerances 40cm etc, I haven't experienced a single loss of signal. Plus I'm using a full carbon bike and the cadence sensor is also on carbon - again no issues.
Sensors have sealed batteries - yep I agree that's the design and it sems odd but according to two of my fellow polar user friends, 3 years cycling on average 140 miles per week the batteries are still going strong.
My only complaint is the slightly fiddly fitting kit (all zip ties) but this is just a one off and once it's done it's set to go.
Overall, I'm very impressed and for £99 including all the sensors you can't complain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Polar CS200cad Cycling Computer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
marshian
from London

Worst cycle computer I have ever owned

Posted16 November 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, lacking standard cycle computer features
I read a few positive reviews of this computer and noticed that the people who raved about this computer had bought it as their first one - having purchased this computer (annoyingly on the recommendation of a friend, whom I presumed knew what he was talking about) - I have concluded that it really is the worst cycle computer that I have ever owned. A great heart monitor it may be (but it's not even that) - but a good cycle computer it isn't.
As other reviewers have mentioned, the speed, cadence and heart sensors are all sealed units - which means that when the batteries go, you have to buy new units. Additionally, the signal output from each sensor is fairly weak which means that the unit is often quite unresponsive - and it can take quite a while for the unit to register your heartbeat.
In it's favour, at least you can add your personal details (weight, age and gender) to get a more accurate calorie burn value - unlike the Cateeye v3 - but apart from that, my main complaints are as follows:
1. Your heart rate is always displayed - but it is impossible to view your current speed with your elapsed journey time on the same screen. As I commute the same journey every day, I like to race my best time and make sure that I am cycling at a decent speed throughout the journey - to do this, I need to be able to see my current speed and my elapsed time for every journey. This I cannot do with this computer.
2. While the unit registers your heart rate - it doesn't show a heart rate reading unless the computer is sunning - so for example, if you have just completed a circuit and stopped the unit - if you wanted to see how long it takes your heart rate to return to normal - you can't do it with this unit.
3. Maximum speed is not a value that is available on the scroll through of readings from the main screen you have to exit and go to a list of totals - which is too fiddly to do quickly.
4. The cadence readout is too small to be able to read clearly while you're cycling.
5. You cannot toggle readings - for example display the cadence reading as large and the heart rate reading as small. - Personally, I really don't need to see my heart rate as the largest display on the screen.
In summary - I certainly wouldn't recommend this unit and am annoyed that I have purchased it - as in my opinion it is not fit for purpose.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Polar CS200cad Cycling Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SirBruce
from Bracknell
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good cycle comp

Posted13 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
I already have a polar monitor for a mixture of swimming, running and cycling but decided that I needed something a bit more permanent for the bike.
Yes you can get different makes of cycling computers, which have all the options of the polar but it is a tried and tested name with good training support from their website.
The spec of HR monitor and cadence included gives a varied array of views and training targets while on the move. It was simple to set up even if you think the distance of the transmitters are bit close.
The extra option of the cadence monitor gives you a good option for keeping economical cycling, which for me keeps me spinning instead of trying to power my way around a ride.
As a product I am more than satisfied with what it has to offer and think it would suit all levels of cyclists.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Polar CS200cad Cycling Computer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bedouin
from Abu Dhabi and French Alps
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very Poor

Posted28 November 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, Unattractive, poor reception
In retrospect I would not have bought this product as the sensors are large sealed units with very poor radio reception.
- Large: In contrast to my previous sigma computer the sensors are all significantly larger
- Sealed Units: When the batteries run flat you have to buy new sensors eg cadence and odometer/speed
- This is major gripe and it manifests itself in two ways. 1 the sensors have to be extremely close to get a reading. 2. The distance between the sensors and computer is quite short for large frame bikes. It does not allow for example the cadence sensor to be mounted on the lower rear stay.
In summary a chunky, poorly designed product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Polar CS200cad Cycling Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Posted04 November 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This product does what it says on the box!
Simple, quick set up.
As my first cycling computer, it is a very helpful training tool.
I set it up about a month ago and have used it every ride since, through all weather conditions and no problems.
The display is clear, functions are quite intuitive to use and HR and cadence features really helps focused training sessions.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Polar CS200cad Cycling Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
eldr
from Northwest
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent, apart from the bulky sensors

Posted04 October 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
Prior to this I have only owned entry level cycling computers, just for an idea of speed and distance. The jump from those to the CS200cad is huge. You can get readings for everything you will ever need, and the computer itself feels much more solid and better made.
The addition of the cadence sensor and heart rate monitor makes it so much better for training efficiently, as you can always ensure that you are training in the correct zone.
I bought this mainly for use indoors on my turbo trainer, and one feature that is particularly useful is that you can enter your personal data and instead of the speed readings (which are irrelevant indoors and wouldn’t work anyway as the sensor is on the front wheel), it will tell you how many calories you have burnt during the session.
The computer will store the details of up to 7 training sessions, which can then be uploaded to your PC for comparison. Given the amount of data must be very small (as in a low number of Kb), I was surprised that it will only store 7 sessions. But if u keep on top of uploading them then it should be sufficient. I cannot comment on the process of uploading them, and the information you get once you have done so as I haven’t uploaded any data yet. However, the computer has no external ports and does not come with any cable so I’m not sure how it’s done.
My only negative comment about the computer, and the reason it gets 4 rather than 5 stars, is the size and required positioning of the sensors. There are two separate sensors that need to be attached to the bike, one for speed and one for cadence. Not only are they unnecessarily bulky (by far the biggest i have ever seen), but they both have to be within 4mm of the magnet. This is more of an issue for the cadence sensor, as it means the sensor has to be sticking out from the side of your bike to within 4mm of the crank arm and looks like it could very easily get knocked. A friend also has a computer that measures speed and cadence and rather than 2 bulky sensors, it has one small sensor which attaches discretely to the underside of the rear triangle, with 1 magnet on the rear wheel for speed and one on the crank arm for cadence.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Polar CS200cad Cycling Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GaryPW
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Works a Treat

Posted21 September 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I like the data feedback offered by this bit of kit, you get alll the usual mph, time etc plus heart rate and cadence. Very simple to fit the various sensors to the bike and set them up to the required tolerances and they are all wireless so no wires dangling about. The monitor is quite small and easily removable from the holder mounted to the bike should you have to leave it anywhere. I have read of people having issues with the sensors but to date I have not had one glitch and very pleased with my purchase. For the money I think its a good buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Polar CS200cad Cycling Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
trackrecordplay
from London & Herts
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Polar cs200 CAD computer almost brilliant

Posted18 August 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: could be more robust slighlty
This item is excellent and brilliant for HRM, Cadence and multi functions for your cycling needs. the only reason that i say it is not absolutely top notch is - there is only one magnet supplied and the tape used to retain it on the crank is poor. especially the self adhesive pads. also if the pedal arm is recessed at the back it cannot be held in position very easily. apart from that it functions brilliantly. and really gives a lot of information very clearly. i love the cadence hrm function really helps compare what level you are cycling at. almost brilliant.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Polar CS200cad Cycling Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hdog
from South Yorkshire
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Loads of info

Posted18 August 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: easy to use, large clear display
Cons: batteries
A great bit of kit.
Easy to use, large clear display and loads of info (Cadence, speed, distance, HR, HR zones, averages, etc, etc).
The only faults in my opinion are;
Needed new battery in heart rate monitor on arrival
Not Mac compatible (For uploading to polar training diary)
Unable (without force and glue) to replace battery on cadence and speed sensors.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Polar CS200cad Cycling Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Elmar
from Windhoek, Namibia

Excellent HRM

Posted11 August 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: not easy to download
Great heart rate monitor, really functional. Quite easy to install and the backlight is a good pro of this HRM. The only aspect of it that I don't like, but have gotten used to is the fact that it uploads to the online web coach via sound. So if there is any background noise present you usually have to send the data two to three times to get it uploaded to the online web coach. For the price, the functionality is great! I give it a 7/10.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Polar CS200cad Cycling Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nichs

An excellent buy

Posted15 July 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, Good quality
This cycling computer is very reliable. The cadence and speed data is easy to keep a check on. The callibration took 5 minutes and attaching it to the fork and frame was fine. The biggest plus is the heart monitor; it is confortable and very useful on long rides.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Polar CS200cad Cycling Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Triumph
from Yorkshire
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

great training aid

Posted14 July 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
gives you all the information you could ever need whle out on a run. helps with undertanding your body (heart rate monitior) as you push on can act as an incentive to work harder. Not sure about teh battery issues, be better if these can be replaced without the need to return to Polar but otherwsie no complaints
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Polar CS200cad Cycling Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
eldeme
from Malaysia
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Polar Cs200 cycling computer

Posted24 March 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
works great, Really helps me during training. Where i can monitor my max HR in every session.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>