Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Frame Protection or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Lizard Skins Clear Chainstay Protector and Patches

Lizard Skins Clear Chainstay Protector and Patches

Overall rating:
4.148 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
24 out of 27Would you recommend this product to a friend?89%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Lizard Skins Clear Chainstay Protector and Patches
Review 1 for Lizard Skins Clear Chainstay Protector and Patches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Nice, discrete protection for your paint.

Posted21 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: cheaper and better looking than touch up paint.
My previous bike had no paint protection at all, and it did not take many miles for the chainstay to get chipped, so I wasn't going to make that mistake again. The Lizard Skins are quite thick, and being clear they don't spoil the bike's looks. I use the smaller patches to protect the areas on the top tube where the car carrier arms hold the bike. So far there's no hint of damage, just make sure you fit them as soon after buying your bike as possible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lizard Skins Clear Chainstay Protector and Patches
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from Ledbury
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Should have bought this earlier.

Posted06 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: simple to apply
Cons: Expensive
I was going to buy this product last May when I took delivery of my new Roubaix. A few months later the brake cables had made black marks on the white paintwork which faded after washing, but never disappeared completely. Now more months on there are small indentations in the lacquer. It's a little like bolting the door now the horse has bolted, but further damage has been avoided.
If you want to care for your bike I strongly recommend getting these. They are simple to apply; just make sure the paintwork is clean and dry - use the alcohol wipes (included) and apply. It's as simple as that.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lizard Skins Clear Chainstay Protector and Patches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great carbon frame protection

Posted02 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great product for keeping your pride and joy in pristeen condition. Easy to apply and discrete once attached, so far very hardwearing/durable. Not cheap for a sticker, but as it's a lot thicker than that worth the cost.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lizard Skins Clear Chainstay Protector and Patches
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Scratch stoppers

Posted31 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
These patches are easy to apply so long as your bike is really clean.
They aren't huge, so make sure you are putting them exactly where you need them. There are bigger packs available which might be a better buy if you want to protect multiple sites for bike racks etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lizard Skins Clear Chainstay Protector and Patches
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Posted16 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
These stickers are thick and do not come off when wet, a bit pricey for what they are though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lizard Skins Clear Chainstay Protector and Patches
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:Denmark
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Thick, durable and very sticky

Posted13 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Unattractive, logos stand out
I have used these for some time and they are durable and thick and best of all very sticky, so they do not come of as easy as other protection stickers. I buy them because they are extra sticky, and will stay put even on curved surfaces. Only drawback is the logos, which stand out, because thay are white. It seems stupid to paint logos on clear protection stickers. They are clear in order NOT to be seen. Hence only 4 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lizard Skins Clear Chainstay Protector and Patches
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

expensive for what it is.

Posted11 August 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive
Does what it says on the tin but expensive for what it is - essentially a bit of clear sticky backed plastic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lizard Skins Clear Chainstay Protector and Patches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

excellent paint work protection

Posted18 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
After having the paint ruined on my old bike, i got these to save rubbing. You can't see them and they work great. You need to ensure you know where you want them as best to get it right first time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lizard Skins Clear Chainstay Protector and Patches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Looks like a quality product.

Posted25 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Easy to install and looks like it will do the job intended, as long as the adhesive lasts. Like the fact that it does not diminish from the bike look i.e. colourless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lizard Skins Clear Chainstay Protector and Patches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted04 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great value for money, considering it will protect from marks on my frame! Cannot even notice them unless you look closely! Easy to apply also!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lizard Skins Clear Chainstay Protector and Patches
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Just the job

Posted05 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Easy to apply, and barely visible on my silver grey frame.
My bike already had patches to prevent cables rubbing so only needed the chainstay protector. Would've been handy to buy separate.
A little bit pricey for what it is, but so far it's done a good job!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lizard Skins Clear Chainstay Protector and Patches
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Overpriced

Posted31 May 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product may do the job, although I am not sure because it seems so thin. For the tiny piece of plastic that it is, it is horribly overpriced. I probably could have fashioned something myself for a tenth of the price and it would have not looked much worse.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lizard Skins Clear Chainstay Protector and Patches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Offers good frame protection

Posted25 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Brought this to protect my frames when clamped into the bike rack so far so good. Seem a little expensive for what it is but a lot better than damaging your frame.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lizard Skins Clear Chainstay Protector and Patches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Frame protection

Posted18 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
These patches are great. I use the chainstay protector under the down tube to stop stone chips damaging my frames.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lizard Skins Clear Chainstay Protector and Patches
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Product

Posted15 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Perfect if you only want to cover a few areas on your bike, I went for cable rub on the stock and chipping on the chain stay and that was the end of the pack. Overall a good product because it does what it says on the tin, but I think there could be a few more in the tin
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lizard Skins Clear Chainstay Protector and Patches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted02 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Very good and lasting. Only down side is they turn yellow after some time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lizard Skins Clear Chainstay Protector and Patches
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

expensive

Posted14 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive
Bit expensive for what you get but a must have to stop chips,put on your new bike asap .
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lizard Skins Clear Chainstay Protector and Patches
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great safe guard to stop frame being damaged

Posted24 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
great item but very expensive for what it does,if the was cheaper i would apply them to other bikes or areas on bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lizard Skins Clear Chainstay Protector and Patches
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from Wirral
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quick and easy to apply and do the job

Posted11 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Quick and easy to apply and does the job. Instructions are clear and concise. Has been on my Cooper hub gear bike for some mucky January commuting and is stopping the hub linkage chipping my immaculate cream paintjob!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lizard Skins Clear Chainstay Protector and Patches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from North Yorkshire
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excel;lent Product

Posted19 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Simple to put on your bike & doesn't spoil its looks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>