Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Gear Up Grandstand Single Bike Floor Stand

Gear Up Grandstand Single Bike Floor Stand

Overall rating:
3.531 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
6
1 Star
1
25 out of 32(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer reviews for Gear Up Grandstand Single Bike Floor Stand
Review 1 for Gear Up Grandstand Single Bike Floor Stand
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
bmlbike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Poor design but does the job

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Poor design and assembly instructions but the product does the job i.e. holds up bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gear Up Grandstand Single Bike Floor Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bikemad17
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great product sturdy

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Great adjustable features, sturdy only v minor downside slightly heavier than the saris model but more adjustable to wheel size
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gear Up Grandstand Single Bike Floor Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ansku
Country:Finland
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good value for money

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
The stand is lightweigt and works with road bike, MTB etc. It's not pretty but if it's held in a store or cellar, it doesn't have to be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gear Up Grandstand Single Bike Floor Stand
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
rider40
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

This product is cheap.

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
Set up is quick.
I rest the front 700c wheel of my Cannondale hybrid in the stand, as the rear wheels derailer is right up to the arms of the stand itself, adding pressure on the derailer.
I've placed a spirit level on the stem of my bars to see if the bikes standing level. Yet it never is, no matter how many times I try. And that is with the arms of the stand as tight as I can get it, without jamming the wheel in.
My 700c wheels tyre/rim touches up against the stands legs/arms. You would think like that the bike would be level. Yet it's leaning against some of the spokes on one side, meaning added pressure.
This is because both arms of the stand gradually curve outward a bit to much, to meet the spokes in the wheel bang on. There's a slight gap, causing wobble, causing rest on one side of the wheels spokes.
The only thing I can think of to remedy this, is to stick a bit of cardboard to the inner part of the leaned on stands arm, to level the bike that extra cm. That way both sides of the wheels spokes will be touching both arms of the stand.
Not happy about that at all, but I'll give it a go.
If that doesn't work, I'll buy a better stand.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gear Up Grandstand Single Bike Floor Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LukeT68
Country:Italy
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Value and easy to make it work

PostedMay 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Good for the value and easy to make it work. The stand is light and confortable for my bike. I use it in my car, too
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gear Up Grandstand Single Bike Floor Stand
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
dan48
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Good quality but not a great product

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Assembles quite easily and appears fairly sturdy but not a great design.
Two problems are:- the height and thickness of the supports mean if you dont put the wheel in from the front the derrailleur will get pushed out at an angle its not meant to.Also due to the height and thickness of the supports the bike is held upright by the spokes quite low down meaning quite a lot of leverage on them.If the supports where thinner and longer they would go behind the derrailleur and support the bike nearer the axle.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gear Up Grandstand Single Bike Floor Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
viragopaul
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what was required

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: a bit fiddly to build
I bought this for keeping my new bike upright. Despite the fact that it is a bit fiddly to get the nuts and bolts in place - once this was done it's been just what I needed. My bike is upright and the stand is nice and stable.
Nothing else to say really - just glad I have it!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gear Up Grandstand Single Bike Floor Stand
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Phil555
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Does the job

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Unattractive
This keeps a road bike standing up without leaning against the wall which I what I wanted it for. It doesn't look/feel great but it does it's job.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gear Up Grandstand Single Bike Floor Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BigRed
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

It does what it says on the box... holds your bike

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, it works
Light, simple and very effective.
It will knock your deraileur if you're in a high gear.
At this price it's as good in looks as you can expect. Perfect for a garage/shed, but in our front doorway I would love to find a nicer model.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gear Up Grandstand Single Bike Floor Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MarcoG
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Value for Money

PostedMay 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Was looking for a simple option for indoor use on a wooden floor. This looked a nice cheap option so bought it. Perfectly satisfied easy to mount, does its simple job well so would recommend to anyone who wants their bike upright indoors
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gear Up Grandstand Single Bike Floor Stand
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
icalagmoirog
Country:Singapore

Unusable for Mountain bike

PostedMarch 12, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Uncomfortable, unusable
doesn't work for its intended purpose! 1st problem is the delivery w/o screws. sent me screws but after installation it won't hold my bike as it sways sideways. even if it holds improperly, it will destroy or misalign your spokes where the side support is resting especially if your bike is heavy. i will give it a try on my upcoming road bike and see if it will doe the job!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gear Up Grandstand Single Bike Floor Stand
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Tom80
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

It's not bad dose the job

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: bit week for bike
Easy to put together, good for short time storage, a bit flexible
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gear Up Grandstand Single Bike Floor Stand
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
FratelloTob
Country:Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

cheap storage

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Poor quality, Unattractive
This is a cheap and easy storage component. A bit plastic and unstable, I would prefer something more metallic, but the price tag i favourable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gear Up Grandstand Single Bike Floor Stand
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
CombatWombat

Stable but order came with missing parts

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Nice stand worked well even though order came with 2 missing nuts and bolts. I ended up having to use cable ties to construct the stand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gear Up Grandstand Single Bike Floor Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Exhead
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works fine, the bike leans a bit but i'm happy

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This works fine, the bike leans a bit (mtb) but I haave 3 of these and they are very useful
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gear Up Grandstand Single Bike Floor Stand
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Luciani
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Clumsy, ugly and heavy.

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy, Unattractive
This product scores where the Pro bike stand (also heavy!) falls down a bit - try a 29" MTB on a pro bike stand and the axle is barely located. With these cheaper stands you wouldnt have that problem. But changing the stands for different tyre widths would be a bit of a chore. If you just ride one size tyre on your bikes or only want it for one bike then it would be fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gear Up Grandstand Single Bike Floor Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Apostolis23
Age:18-24
Style:BMX
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Very good stand and very nice price! It is adjustable and my BMX fits perfect!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gear Up Grandstand Single Bike Floor Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tomichi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Simple and good value

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Good value for money, simple, light and good value for money. Easy to throw in the boot so that I have a stand when I am out and about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gear Up Grandstand Single Bike Floor Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
xcracerzoomzoom

Great for MTBs with 142mm rear axles

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I have a XC bike with 142mm rear axle, have conventional bike stand that clamps on the QRs, won't work here; need a bike stand that can hold my bike with various tyre widths. Found this great product!!! Just follow the instructions for different bike types, holds on my MTB tyre just nice, bike doesn't lean on the spokes when adjusted properly. Wonderful product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gear Up Grandstand Single Bike Floor Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
55vv
Country:Japan
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very nice!

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Cheap but good function.
Made in USA is nice.
I wil buy this again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>