Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Blackburn Mars 3.0 Rear LED Light

Blackburn Mars 3.0 Rear LED Light

Overall rating:
4.381 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
18 out of 21(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Blackburn Mars 3.0 Rear LED Light
Review 1 for Blackburn Mars 3.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
from West London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great rear light at a good price

Posted22 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is one of the best and brightest rear lights I've seen on the market. It's not a bad price either!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Blackburn Mars 3.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dwarf
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality

Posted06 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
All bike lights have issues. This light has only one - its a very good light. I now have 3 lights all Blackburn because the light is bright and effective. Either flash or constant. Other lights do not come up to the brightness/visibility. Highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Blackburn Mars 3.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
skirma
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good when works

Posted06 March 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
Have had this light over just over a year and it wasn't too bad if a little battery hungry. However, last night, got on my bike, pushed the button and it's just dead. Thought it was the batteries first but I have replaced them just last week so I was suspicious. Replaced again with no joy. Very bizarre considering there is no oxidation inside. Will try a different brand.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Blackburn Mars 3.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
digscorp25
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

Be Seen!

Posted22 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Took less than 5 mins to unpack & install, superb light, very bright!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Blackburn Mars 3.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ChazPants
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great little light

Posted27 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
We both have one of these. Great light, really good output for light of it's size
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Blackburn Mars 3.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rookie666
from Essex
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Super Bright light, Great Price

Posted15 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, bright
I was amazed at how bright this light is. Effective lens design amplifies the LED's really well. It is blinding to close fellow riders but will certainly get you noticed. I use this on my seatpost and it has always been secure. I do not take it off the seatpost, and I ride off road regularly and have never had a problem with it's security.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Blackburn Mars 3.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Mark1960
from UK
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good light but stopped working after 12 months

Posted15 January 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
A very bright light and I was very pleased with it but after twelve months of use it stopped working. It seems to be the switch that has gone wrong as first it wouldn't switch off and then it wouldn't switch on. I have only used it about once or twice a week so it's very poor value.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Blackburn Mars 3.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BoardmanHappy
from Uk
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great rear light

Posted05 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I purchased this light as saw it had great reviews, my previous light was a cateye that i had for years but lost on a ride, i would have bought a new one but their reliability was suspect.
Anyway this is great light, small bright and great functions 3 modes only (how many do you really need?) looks great on the seatpost and fantastic bracket so easy to remove.
Only little niggle is the button is a pain to turn on with gloves, a small price to pay though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Blackburn Mars 3.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
JRE56
from UK
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very poor battery life

Posted17 December 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: poor battery life
Yes this is a great light, bright and visible, when the batteries are new. But the claimed battery life of 150 hours is a joke, The batteries it came with (long-dated Duracells) lasted about 20 hours in flashing mode. The second set of batteries I fitted (Tesco Extra Long Lfe) lasted even less. I'm giving it one more go with a different set, and if it doesn't do a lot better then it's going back for a refund.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Blackburn Mars 3.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Emma1979
from UK
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent light for city commuting

Posted08 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Really nice light, lovely and bright for commuting in the city. It comes with a variety of brackets and fixings, one of which has screwed on perfectly to my Topeak rack - so absolutely no worries about the light bouncing off into the road. The side visibility LEDs are a nice touch. Only downside so far is that it gets through batteries fast.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Blackburn Mars 3.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CyclistJimbob
from Hampshire
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Bright and Compact

Posted10 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
The is a very impressive little bright light! Easy to fit to the bike frame, and although I haven't tried it, the clip looks like it would securely attach to a rucksack or similar. However I am not so sure how easy it would attach and remain on the back of a jacket without falling off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Blackburn Mars 3.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GregT

Lighting fantastic

Posted25 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is the second one of these lights I've bought (broke the other one). Really bright, so your sure to be seen. The batteries on this version can be changed without the need for tools, which is an improvement. Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Blackburn Mars 3.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Livetest

Glue it on

Posted21 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This is my second one of these - that i bought anothere tells you i think it is good - really bright, nice random pattern and the orange bits on the side (although probably ineffectual) look cool.
The bummer is (as others have said) it can fall off - i lost my first due to a deepish pothole. I plan on putting a dollop of glue on this one at the levant points
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Blackburn Mars 3.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Horace
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid and bright

Posted09 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: no one-push turnoff mode
Bought this after I lost a couple of Cateye backlights attached to my backpack.
This one's rock solid and won't come off no matter what. Bright leds as well, it will definitely get anyone noticed on the road.
Only negative is that one has to cycle through all light modes in order to turn it off,
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Blackburn Mars 3.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BikingDude
from Germany
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Be seen by others!

Posted18 November 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I ride my bike here in Germany to work almost daily. It is 8 miles one way through small villages and forests through lots of hills. I deal with riding at dawn, dusk, dark and in the fog on both mountain paths and on the road. I wanted a light that would alert others (bicyclists, vehicles on the road) that I was there so as to not get run over. This light works perfectly, is highly visible, and makes me a safer rider.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Blackburn Mars 3.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
florentino
from Lincolnshire
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great rear

Posted06 November 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, bright
Super bright for the money with a nice selection of flashing/constant modes. I wear this as a flashing back up on my helmet. Very pleased.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Blackburn Mars 3.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sagath
from Russia, South Ural region
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Best small gift for bicyclist

Posted17 July 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, very bright
Bought 3 of it. I think i will buy more - so good this backlights. I give it to my training partners, and now we feel ourselves little more protected on the road.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Blackburn Mars 3.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rybo
from Haywards heath west Sussex
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great value

Posted15 June 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Switch on and you just know all the cars behind can see you, just hope I am not to bright ! Even use this light in daylight and I'm sure I feel seen when in dark shadows of trees , a great light and at a good price
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Blackburn Mars 3.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steven
from Wiltshire
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

It's a super light!

Posted02 June 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great, Good value, Good quality
Very bright and looks professional. It's easy to set up and is adjustable. There really isn't much more to say other than I highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Blackburn Mars 3.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fatboy63
from North East Hampshire
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Lights up the road!

Posted01 April 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: none
I have to say this light is the brightest rear light I have seen. Personally I us it in the day light and obviously in the dark and it simply works. We spend loads on very bright front lights and seem to forget our behinds and this light for me ticks all the boxes. I have used it for hours and it keeps going. You do have to replace the batteries but it is a small price to pay to be seen and talking of that I think they can see me in Blackburn and Mars!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>