Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Slime Tyre Liners - 26 inch MTB Twin Pack

Slime Tyre Liners - 26 inch MTB Twin Pack

Overall rating:
2.5 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
8
8 out of 18(44%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Slime Tyre Liners - 26 inch MTB Twin Pack
Review 1 for Slime Tyre Liners - 26 inch MTB Twin Pack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Janet99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Worse than useless

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive, causes punctures
This product causes punctures- it took us ages to work it out but the end rubs against the inner tube and causes a huge great rip after a surprisingly short time. Do not even consider putting them in- use slime inners an a good thick tread on your tyres if you want to avoid punctures
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Slime Tyre Liners - 26 inch MTB Twin Pack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
southernsteve
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

waste of money

PostedMarch 19, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: none
Cons: Expensive, cause more problems than solve
Would give these a zero star rating if I could. Bought the liners in the bigger 700c size for my cross bike after a puncture at 4am in the dark. After fitting I had endless flats which I initially put down to the tyres which I replaced. Flats continued and I eventually found that the liners where moving in the tyres and the sharp edges had somehow worn down the sides of the tubes and the corners where puncturing them. Binned the liners. Total waste of money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Slime Tyre Liners - 26 inch MTB Twin Pack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
GaryXJ6
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

More trouble than they're worth.

PostedMarch 12, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: actually caused a puncture
There's not much I don't recommend from Evans, but this is unfortunately one of them. In my experience, these tyre liners are utterly useless. They are difficult to fit between the tyre and inner tube, due to their stiffness. They do not stop punctures, and make repairing a flat at the side of the road vastly more complicated than it need be. The pair I purchased ended up in a waste bin after the front one actually caused! a puncture due to it's sharp edges rubbing on the inner tube. There seems to be no cheap fix. If I want high puncture resistance, it looks like I'm going to have to save up and upgrade the tyres.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Slime Tyre Liners - 26 inch MTB Twin Pack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ken1957
from UK

Avoid this like the plague..

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, not recommended by those in the know..
Bought a brand new bike with these fitted, and two days later I got a puncture. Took it back to the store and was told that the puncture came about because the lining moves around in the tyre and pinches the tube.
Had them removed, what a waste of money...
Foutunately Panaracer Flataway Tyre Liner is still available, as I had these on my previous bike, and I never had a puncture through the material, I shall buy this instead.
I would have thought that the Slime liners were good, and I was unfortunate, but on the advice of the mechanic....
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Slime Tyre Liners - 26 inch MTB Twin Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dailyrider
from Hampshire
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Mostly works

PostedDecember 22, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, works most of the time puncture free except for b
Cons: didn't cope with a rusty nail
Worked well until i got a nail go through the slime layer. Got in touch and sent a photo, and they replaced it FOC all the way from the US. Don't think it's as good as the dual layer strip I bought in halfords (can't remebervthe name).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Slime Tyre Liners - 26 inch MTB Twin Pack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Blackspur
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
  • Staff

PostedJuly 29, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: better than nothing
Cons: can be hard to fit
Not easy to fit and these don't stop pinch flats. They won't stop punctures every single time and if you get a puncture on a ride with them in, repairing your tube and refitting these can prove very difficult. They don't protect the sides of your tyre either, so their effectiveness is limited.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Slime Tyre Liners - 26 inch MTB Twin Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Munkie
from Hampshire
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Great for puncture free miles

PostedJuly 15, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, easy to fit
Cons: prevent punctures
These liners protect your inner tubes from punctures. I can't think of any draw backs, if you prefer not to have punctures then fit these liners in your tyres.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Slime Tyre Liners - 26 inch MTB Twin Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reggie
from Yorkshire
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedJune 1, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Used these for 3 years and never had a puncture. Could not bothered to install these on the first outing of my new bike and got a puncture. Since they have been installed no issues, famous last words
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Slime Tyre Liners - 26 inch MTB Twin Pack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Troopbee
from Hants - Wilts Border
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Slime liners - not for me!

PostedMay 22, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
On my first outing I ended up with a medium sized thorn going straight through the liner with apparent ease!
Unlucky maybe - but any faith I had in this product completely disappeared when I tried to refit the liner after fixing the puncture - it was raining, very muddy, getting dark and after 30 mins of trying to reseat 26 inches of useless green plastic I gave up. I think I managed to clear my local forest of all wildlife with my cries of frustration; ruined a great ride. Verdict - stick to slime tubes.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Slime Tyre Liners - 26 inch MTB Twin Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Syck
from Surrey / Sussex
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Hardly use my puncture kit now

PostedMay 3, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: stop punctures, can be used in different tyres
Cons: not quite 100% puncture proof
I don't understand some of the negative comments - I have used these for 5 or 6 years. Previously got punctures probably on about 1 in 3 rides, since using the liners have had hardly any. They are not quite fully resistant to hawthorns (which cause almost all of our problems) and I have had one penetrate even the centre of the liner. It is also possible for thorns to get in round the edge but based on my experience you would be unlucky. They can be slightly difficult to fit although this gets easier after they are used as they slightly take the tyre shape. And a coating of baby powder in the tyre and on the liner and tube makes it much easier to get them in position. Once in I have had no issues with them moving.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Slime Tyre Liners - 26 inch MTB Twin Pack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
AndYc1999
from South Yorkshire
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Thes liners gave me a puncture!

PostedMarch 29, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
The place I ride is a nightmare for thorns and I was getting a puncture on nearly every ride so bought this tape thinking it would help. First time out the tape itself actually punctured ny tube. On closer inspection I found that the ends where it had been cut off had sharp bits protruding. I finished up rubbing down the cut of ends with sandpaper so I would advise anyone to give the stuff a close inspection before fitting it. After this it was it was ok . It seems to have prevented any further punctures through the contact surface of the tyre but I still get puncture through the side wall. MIght try some slime next .
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Slime Tyre Liners - 26 inch MTB Twin Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NottinghamNick
from Nottingham
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Awkward but effective

PostedFebruary 26, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: effective
Cons: tricky to fit
I've used these for some time now, I use my Hardrock for comuting and since using these have reduced the frequesncy f punctures considerably. They are a bit of a pain to fit but once in seem to me to work well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Slime Tyre Liners - 26 inch MTB Twin Pack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ray01
from Newcastle
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Do not buy these!

PostedFebruary 14, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, rubbish
2 days after fitting there was a 4 inch split in the tube.Ok there was only a small hole in the split but the tube had to be thrown out.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Slime Tyre Liners - 26 inch MTB Twin Pack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Jono
from Edinburgh
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Waste of money

PostedDecember 11, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: none
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, rubbish
These slice your inner tubes like nothing else and actually cause a lot more punctures than they prevent. I have tried them with Specialized tyres and Michelin tyres on my wife's bike and my 3 kids bikes and they have been a real headache. They are expensive and have been a complete waste of money.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Slime Tyre Liners - 26 inch MTB Twin Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Eggy
from Birmingham
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Tyre Liners Puncture Prevention

PostedDecember 11, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, saves time
Cons: Heavy, fiddly to fit
It does what isays on the package. Since fitting these I have no punctures on my daily route to work. This includes going through a country park with about a mile of Hawthorn Hedge. I have taken several pieces of hawthorn out of my tyres still the tube was not damaged.
I did find them a bit fiddly to fit and found the best way was to lay the wheel on the ground and make it as horizontal as possible. The amount of time they have saved me from repairing punctures as been worth the cost of them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Slime Tyre Liners - 26 inch MTB Twin Pack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Wiz56
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Pointless

PostedDecember 11, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Heavy
hard to fit and didn't wok. just spend your money on a higher spec set of puncture proof tyres.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Slime Tyre Liners - 26 inch MTB Twin Pack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Streaky
from Surrey
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedDecember 10, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
Do not seem to work very well. I have still had a few punctures and the kevlar tyres i had before were definately better...You get what you pay for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Slime Tyre Liners - 26 inch MTB Twin Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
anwnymous
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
good for them they haven't tubless...easy install at your bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.