Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tools or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Ice Toolz Chain Scrubber

Ice Toolz Chain Scrubber

Overall rating:
3.833 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
10 out of 12(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Ice Toolz Chain Scrubber
Review 1 for Ice Toolz Chain Scrubber
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rob62
Country:Sweden
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent little thing

Posted15 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
very small and handy. easy to use and dose the job !
what else is there to say, especially with that pricetag!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ice Toolz Chain Scrubber
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JohnnyMc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65

Excellent service

Posted03 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
This was a gift for my son - he was delighted with it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ice Toolz Chain Scrubber
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
happyface
from London
Age:Under 18
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Cheap and cheerful

Posted14 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: not the best
For the price, this tool is pretty good. It does the job fairly well, but the tool isn't fantastically built. It tends to leak a little and doesn't always give a sparkling clean chain.
Overall, it's a decent tool and doesn't break the bank. however, it might be worth forking out a bit of extra cash to buy a higher quality chain cleaner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ice Toolz Chain Scrubber
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
moi2011
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Posted29 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
An excellent product. It does what it is supposed to do well - cleans bike chains and with minimal effort. The fact that it is compact and reasonably priced are added reasons for getting one : - )
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ice Toolz Chain Scrubber
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
JM2a
from 2 mile commuter
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First thoughts

Posted01 October 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
My uncleaned chain needs something special to bring it back up to a decent standard. I know this is going to take a few goes. It's now had two runs a week or so apart, 4-5 passes cleans a lot of the gunge off. The chain is even starting to look clean too. I think it will get there, after another few goes. After that I don't know if the cleaner tool will last of not. If it make mine shinny (and clean) once again and manages another bike I'll be well pleased mister.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ice Toolz Chain Scrubber
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ankletapper
from Scotland
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value

Posted16 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Neat liitle unit, a bit finicky, but I don't mind taking a bit of care when the thing was such a reasonable price (i.e. cheap!). Needed to use a couple of cycles (no pun intended, or delivered) to get a reasonable clean, but beats the brown stuff out of using rags and meths.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ice Toolz Chain Scrubber
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
chrismc
from HANTS UK
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

chain scrubber

Posted03 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Simple product, great for the price, and it works great.
Perhaps a little flimsy - the scrubber bits look like they might not last a long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ice Toolz Chain Scrubber
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
S2VMX
from Liverpool
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted23 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Poor quality
Easy to use - nit sure how robust it will be - time will tell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ice Toolz Chain Scrubber
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AKRider
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Handy little tool

Posted30 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
A nifty little tool. No need to break the chain to clean it. Could do with having a deeper bowl for a bit more degreaser to sit in but it's not a massive problem really.
I'd buy another if I needed to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ice Toolz Chain Scrubber
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rlepecha
from Leeds
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great chain cleaner for very little money

Posted14 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
good cleaner, used it 3-4 times now. Cleans like the more expensive barberi cleaners.
I use white spirit in this and bought it because its got thicker plastic walls, where the barberi one wore out because the white spirit killed it.
But yes its very usefull, a few runs through with the chain. Get a old rag/cloth and dry. Then re-lube. job done
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ice Toolz Chain Scrubber
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
bilum
from East London
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

OK but cheap, don't expect spotless chain!

Posted27 July 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: doesn't clean amazingly
This isn't the best chain scrubber I've used, but its about 75% cheaper than other brands. If you really want to clean your chain, you should take it off anyway, so this just about does the job for more frequent and quick, but less thorough cleans while the chain is still attached. If anything it covers the chain in cleaner for you to wipe off taing some grime with it. There's not many cogs/brushes so don't expect miracle cleaning power - you don't get what you don't pay for in this case.
Also, word of caution, won't fit a fixie or track chain (1/4 inch I think) just gets stuck too often as its a tight fit.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ice Toolz Chain Scrubber
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Draxion
from Manchester
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

False economy

Posted26 July 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
After struggling with an old toothbrush I finally decided to purchase a chain cleaning tool. I didn't want to spend a fortune and tried the Ice Toolz Chain Scrubber. It worked reasonably at first, performing an adequate job of cleaning the chain. However the degreasing fluid started 'leaking' as I cleaned the chain. This was a small annoyance at first but I could live with it. The main problem is that if the fluid leaks onto the outer case it is very difflcult to remove the cleaner from the chain as one must slide the cover in order to remove it. If the chain is quite dirty the cover sticks and this compounds the problem.
I have since bought the Park Chain Cleaning system, this works much better (ie cleans the chain better) and with much less mess.
 
Products related to my review
 
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.