Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tools or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Ice Toolz Star Nut Installation Tool

Ice Toolz Star Nut Installation Tool

Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Ice Toolz Star Nut Installation Tool
Review 1 for Ice Toolz Star Nut Installation Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
krgolf
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A must tool to make the job easier

Posted04 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Very easy to use and prevents possible alignment errors when installing star nut. also very good price ,and prompt click and collect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ice Toolz Star Nut Installation Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sneaky
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

Posted02 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I used this to install a star nut on my new RockShox forks and it works perectly. It also has different shims for different size fork sleeves. Clear instructions and very easy to get the depth correct.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ice Toolz Star Nut Installation Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
stark72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Straight forward operation

Posted09 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easy to use, has 2 adaptors for different diameter steerer tubes, used it and have had no problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ice Toolz Star Nut Installation Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NigmaRyder
from UK
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job well.

Posted03 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Makes fitting Star Fangled Nuts easy.
I've struggled without the proper tool in the past and not always had success. This tool makes it easy to fit the part well without worry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ice Toolz Star Nut Installation Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Vesko
from Sofia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good purchase

Posted02 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
I'm satisfied from my purchase. Helpful widget with good quality.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ice Toolz Star Nut Installation Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ciclista
from Sydney, Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it's supposed to

Posted24 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Simple, effective & does what it is supposed to. Well made product that, while you may only use it on a rare occasion, is the sort of tool that one should have in the tool box. Still cheaper than taking it to the LBS for a 5 minute job!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ice Toolz Star Nut Installation Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ecko
from Manchester
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ice Toolz Star Nut Installation Tool

Posted20 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, ease of use
Cons: Unattractive, seperate parts a bit fiddly
Very basic tool, does the job well. You need to ensure forks are secure before using tool, otherwise worries about damaging forks come in to play. Made my job of replacing damaged forks much easier. Make sure you use a mallet with this tool, not a hammer. Places the star-nut into position evenly and securely, if instructions for use are followed correctly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ice Toolz Star Nut Installation Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
from East Yorkshire
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it should....

Posted22 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: very easy to use
Cons: how many times will i need this?
I was sceptical whether a special tool such as this was a worthwile purchase. You Tube is full of advice on how to fit your star nut with a screw driver and a hammer. Get it wrong a couple of times and you wil have spent enough to have got the tool in the first place.
Using it was soooo easy and it did just what it should do.
Very easy to use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ice Toolz Star Nut Installation Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
manny

Good little tool

Posted10 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
This is one of those tools you use once every so often, so buying an expensive workshop one is a waste of maney, however, its the sort of tool you need if ever your changing forks round. Dont be tempted to try and hammer in the star nut with a screw driver for something, for the amount of money it costs this tool is great and its almost impossible to go wrong with it. Excellent
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ice Toolz Star Nut Installation Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NealM
from Chester/North Wales
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Ever tried it without one of these?

Posted10 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
This is one of those tools that you might only ever need once or twice in your life as a biker when changing forks. Trying to put a star nut in a steering tube without one of these tools and getting it lined up vertically is pretty much impossible. Screw on the nut, hammer into the tube and voi-la! Cheaper than getting your bike shop to do it for you!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.