Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tools or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Ice Toolz Cassette Lockring Tool for Shimano Cassette

Ice Toolz Cassette Lockring Tool for Shimano Cassette

Overall rating:
4.845 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 58 reviews
5 Stars
49
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
58 out of 58(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer reviews for Ice Toolz Cassette Lockring Tool for Shimano Cassette
Review 1 for Ice Toolz Cassette Lockring Tool for Shimano Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
perran03
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good bang for the buck

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I've only used it once to remove my Shimano cassette and it did the job perfectly. Since it's so simple to do i will do it often to clean it. Gret product at a great price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ice Toolz Cassette Lockring Tool for Shimano Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tron
Country:Greece
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Surprisingly well build for that price!

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, efficient
Looks and feels like good quality metal, something that would most probably last for years. Didn't go for the more expensive "big name" lockring tool since I don't plan to change cassettes very often (I just needed to swap out my 10sp Tiagra for a 105 which I also got from Evans!) so I was pleasantly surprised by the build quality. Solid tool - works great!
You just have to take out your QR skewer because as you see in the product photo this tool has an axis that takes its place in the center of the hub to keep everything centered and "locked" in place .
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ice Toolz Cassette Lockring Tool for Shimano Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pedalman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Just the tool

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, works well
Effective tool. Worked well on Sram Red cassette making a change a simple task.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ice Toolz Cassette Lockring Tool for Shimano Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tkailoon
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cheap and good

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cheap and good, get the job done hassle free. highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ice Toolz Cassette Lockring Tool for Shimano Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
newtonuk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

An absolute doddle to use

PostedMay 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I thought I would struggle to swap my cassette to my new wheels, but this tool proved to be an absolute doddle to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ice Toolz Cassette Lockring Tool for Shimano Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TommyMTB
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect for the job

PostedApril 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: none
Needed a deep lockring tool to fit over the cone nuts on my rear hub to fit a shimano centerlock disc, this tool fits easily and is great quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ice Toolz Cassette Lockring Tool for Shimano Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
haggis
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

great product

PostedApril 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
this is a good, straight forward piece of kit to use, and its solid build means its durable too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ice Toolz Cassette Lockring Tool for Shimano Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kogi1321
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

i like the guide pin

PostedApril 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
bought it to replace my existing lockring tool as this has a guide pin so less likely to knarl the lock ring if it gets a bit over tight and gummed up from the salt
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ice Toolz Cassette Lockring Tool for Shimano Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
stretch525
Country:Portugal
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it Does

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
One of many tools you will need to sort your bike out , and this does exactly what its supposed to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ice Toolz Cassette Lockring Tool for Shimano Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RuiK
Country:Portugal
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good price and quality

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Good price and quality
As usual on icetoolz. Affordable tools at great quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ice Toolz Cassette Lockring Tool for Shimano Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
timof3
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job well.

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Has both spanner and square fitting, and found my torque wrench fitted the latter. If you don't have a quick release axle fitted, you will find you need to remove the axle (and ball-bearings!) from the wheel, (but then, you should be re-greasing the bearings at the same time!.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ice Toolz Cassette Lockring Tool for Shimano Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sizzlebiz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works well, and does exactly as expected

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Let's not get complicated about this - it is a simple tool and works well. It was good value and keenly priced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ice Toolz Cassette Lockring Tool for Shimano Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ard47

Quality tool

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
The cassette lockring tool worked a treat. It was a perfect fit, appeared quite strong and made the task a simple one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ice Toolz Cassette Lockring Tool for Shimano Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BianchiCommuter
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

Does the job

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Not my first lock-ring removal tool, but with a move from Campy to Shimano I needed a new one.
I previously had one with a handle, but with an adjustable spanner this works just as well.
If you need to change a Shimano cassette, you need one of these. Simple.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ice Toolz Cassette Lockring Tool for Shimano Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kiwiboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shimano Lockring Tool

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I don't intend to remove lockrings too often so didn't want to spend too much, but this is a solid and quality tool that does the job perfectly well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ice Toolz Cassette Lockring Tool for Shimano Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
harristheturk

Fits the bill

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Simple product that fits shimano casettes - used for tightening and loosening
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ice Toolz Cassette Lockring Tool for Shimano Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Splurj
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just what I needed when other tools didn't fit

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I had a nightmare finding a lockring tool that would fit over the nuts on the rear hub and reach my centerlock rotors. Every tool that was recommended by other stores ended up being returned until I found this one which fits perfectly on both front and rear rotors and rear cassette.
I'm really chuffed I found the right tool in the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ice Toolz Cassette Lockring Tool for Shimano Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aohare

excellent product

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Good Quality but you need a chain whip when using it
i used with the ice tools chain whip and the cassette came away in seconds
This was used with an ultra 10 speed cassette and was perfect for the job
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ice Toolz Cassette Lockring Tool for Shimano Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Historia
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Easy to use and does the job

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This was used by my son to dismantle his mountain bike for the first time ever and he found it worked well and did not take long to learn how to use it easily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ice Toolz Cassette Lockring Tool for Shimano Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Player13
Country:Malaysia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best tool

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
You do not need anything more expensive than this to do the same job!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>