Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tools or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Ice Toolz Crank Removal Tool with Handle

Ice Toolz Crank Removal Tool with Handle

Overall rating:
4.576 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
32 out of 33(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer reviews for Ice Toolz Crank Removal Tool with Handle
Review 1 for Ice Toolz Crank Removal Tool with Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JasonK
from Southampton
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tool

PostedApril 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Does what it says on the tin.
Has 14/15mm sized sockets on one end to remove the crank nut, and the actual crank removal is done on the other end. Works a charm. One of the cheapest I found.
Tip: As crank removal is based on physical force make sure you screw the crank removal end completely into the crank, as failure to do so could result in wearing the thread of either the tool or your crank.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ice Toolz Crank Removal Tool with Handle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jamz
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good tool

PostedMarch 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I used it for removing the crank from bottom bracket worked a dream. Best value around. Also good for removing standard pedal nuts 15m or 14m good 2 in one tool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ice Toolz Crank Removal Tool with Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mynotrealname
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

easy to use, precise not expensive too!!

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
great tool, i have never changed cranks and i was worrying a but if i'll be capable to do it, but iwth this tool (and youtube) replacement went smoothly.
highly recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ice Toolz Crank Removal Tool with Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mrmac
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

an easy to use tool

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
this tool was just the job to do the job, no instructions but if you are going to use it then you most probably know what you are doing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ice Toolz Crank Removal Tool with Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pandaking
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works great, invaluable tool for removing cranks

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Well thought out tool. Does the job well.
I was previously trying to remove my cranks using a normal socket set, however my sockets were too thick to fit into the hole in my crank with the bolt in.
This does the job perfectly, fitted fine - and then has the useful tool to pull the crank arms off your bottom bracket once you have the bolts undone. Very easy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ice Toolz Crank Removal Tool with Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andicabby
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great piece of kit

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
This is an excellent tool for those with square taper spindles, it is easy to use and makes the job of getting the pedals off childs play. A must have tool for home mechanics.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ice Toolz Crank Removal Tool with Handle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fugglesby
Country:Australia
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

You'll wish you'd bought it long ago

PostedJune 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, elegantly simple
Cons: limited instructions
Bought this tool as I love finsing neglected bikes and restoring them to their former glory and the cranks were always a huge barrier when it came to getting them lovely again and this tool makes it a breeze.
The design is fantastic, as simple as it can be without compromising the function and the rubberised handle is great when the bike isn't exactly co-operating.
What you get for the price is excellent and ensures that it makes sense as a tool even for the most stingy backyard enthusiasts.
HOWEVER, the lack of proper instructions is a definite issue, and my first job led to great difficulties due to me guessing as to the function of the metal cap ont eh end and stripping out my crank thread.
Make sure you look up a video guide on how to use one of these first.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ice Toolz Crank Removal Tool with Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ut99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
It was bought:Online

Easy to use, well worth the money

PostedApril 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I am the type of cheapskate person who is loathe to buy any tools whatsoever, especially if I can makeshift with tools I already have. I considered trying to remove my crank arms without buying a proper tool, e.g. by loosening the bolts and riding around a bit until the arms came loose, or levering them off with a long bar, but thought better of it and, for the cost of this tool, it's really not worth the bother or risk of damage.
I'm not exaggerating when I say it was a pleasure to use and made light work of the job. In fact it paid for itself straight away as the socket out of my ordinary socket set was too fat to fit into the recess in the crank arm, so I wouldn't even have been able to get the retaining bolt off!
If you're planning on regularly working on, or maintaining your bike yourself, this is an essential, inexpensive bit of kit that will save time and frustration.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ice Toolz Crank Removal Tool with Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GaryXJ6
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

A bike toolbox essential.

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Other reviewers have explained how this tool works. It takes all the effort out of crank removal and the quality/price are spot on. Just like a bike workstand, if you have not had one of these tools before, you'll wonder how you ever serviced your bike without one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ice Toolz Crank Removal Tool with Handle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SpeshAllez16
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value and does the trick

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Uncomfortable
Bought this to replace dented chainset. As per the title was plenty strong enough to remove the cranks and chainset after around 3000 miles. Sure there are fancier models about but for occaisional use it was spot on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ice Toolz Crank Removal Tool with Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TonyP
from NE England
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well made tool

PostedSeptember 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
used this simple to use tool before replacing the Shimano square end bottom bracket on my bike.
All you do is remove (prize off) the dust cap, undo the bolt, then screw the outer bit of the puller into the crank (make sure you screw it in as far as it will go (also ensure that the centre bolt is unscrewed enough to allow you to do this - otherwise it will get in the way)), then screw the centre bolt in (nb. everything has a normal thread - unlike the bottom bracket) by moving the handle onto it. This bit is where it gets scary. It seems like you're sure to break something, such is the force needed, but don't worry it works.
This comes with a magnetic fitting (a small round bit of metal) that is not needed if you have square ends to the bottom bracket (as I do). Easy enough to remove/fit as required.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ice Toolz Crank Removal Tool with Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ricky100

Sound Investment

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Product does exactly what it says on the tin and had no problems in using it. It is certainly much better value compared to the equivalent available from a well know car accessory/bike supplier high street chain.
Excellent service in terms of delivery from Evans - 3 days from order to arrival using the free service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ice Toolz Crank Removal Tool with Handle
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
shn30
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

NOT a good all-rounder tool...

PostedMay 26, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
The crank removal component of this tool is ok. It did what it was supposed to do.
However, the included spanner was less than adequate. On tight crank bolts it actually deformed the spanner cut-out, because the spanner is too thin and too short. I couldn't get any leverage on it. I had to resort to a much longer socket driver. I also had to use a separate 14mm socket piece because the socket with this tool is of a non-standard fitting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ice Toolz Crank Removal Tool with Handle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
che5ter
from Norwich
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good tool for the price

PostedMay 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Simple but effective tool that does the job well. I used it to remove a pair of old STX cranks which hadn't been touched since 2001. Don't forget to remove the small magnet if you're using it on an old-style square taper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ice Toolz Crank Removal Tool with Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ALMCG
from Durham

Does all it says

PostedMay 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Having used the tool for the first time, it does everything that it says it will. Nice cheap little bit of kit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ice Toolz Crank Removal Tool with Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jjones
from cheshire
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great purchase

PostedMay 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
great little tool and a fair price! :-) quick delivery also. no instructions with the tool but fairly easy to understand how to use it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ice Toolz Crank Removal Tool with Handle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jaimito28
from northumberland
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good tool

PostedApril 10, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
This is my first crank tool,,and made removing my first crank straight forward.Does the job its supposed to,,have no complaints.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ice Toolz Crank Removal Tool with Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dopeybob
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Really rather good

PostedMarch 10, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Haven't got anything bad to say about this - bought it to remove the crank from my old Raleigh and didn't have a problem - impressed with the thread strength.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ice Toolz Crank Removal Tool with Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Santo
from Scotland
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

top-notch

PostedMarch 10, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Great extracting tool! had no problem on cranks that had NEVER been touched in eight years!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ice Toolz Crank Removal Tool with Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
robertow
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great bit of kit

PostedMarch 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I highly recommend this, its a great quality tool and does exactly what it says on the tin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>