Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Slime Tyre Sealant - 8oz Bottle

Slime Tyre Sealant - 8oz Bottle

Overall rating:
3.778 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
7 out of 9(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Slime Tyre Sealant - 8oz Bottle
Review 1 for Slime Tyre Sealant - 8oz Bottle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tom23
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I had this and so have friends and haven't had punctures since until a screw pierced my tyre, but nothing would prevent air escaping that really.
WORKS WITH PRESTA VALVES it's just quite difficult I did it and I'm 13 so I presume most people could do it, there are various videos on youtube explaining how to install it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Slime Tyre Sealant - 8oz Bottle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Superwoman
from Wigan
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedMay 4, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wish it had stated clearly in the description that this product was not suitable for a presta valve i just wanted somthing quick and easy to sort out a flat tyre so i bought this no use to me at all
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Slime Tyre Sealant - 8oz Bottle
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
bemrider
from UK
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Slime - is it perfect

PostedApril 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: helps
Slime filled tubes can reseal after a thorn type puncture but you cannot count on it - always take a spare tube!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Slime Tyre Sealant - 8oz Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
piotrs333
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMarch 24, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
perfect, I did not believe I fixed within 3 minutes of pumping, I ride to work is an excellent champion
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Slime Tyre Sealant - 8oz Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Monk
from Norfolk
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Pass the Kleenex

PostedFebruary 24, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good stuff but if you're a bit clumsy like me it is possible to make a bit of a mess on the garage floor. Slime kept me going for several months when I got a slow puncture in my front tyre and I couldn't be bothered to mend it. I always carry some with me because it has got me home a couple of times before I fitted puncture-resistant tyres. And you never know what's round the corner.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Slime Tyre Sealant - 8oz Bottle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cynical
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
  • Staff

PostedDecember 13, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Thought this stuff was a little strange, however, when the time came it did the job and I could get home safely.
when a hole happens it will be forced out and seals by the pressure coming out, it's fantastic.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Slime Tyre Sealant - 8oz Bottle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
80miler
from northumberland
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

worth the weight

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, just keeps working
Easy to fill tyre, and the marking on the bottle ensured only the right amount was used.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Slime Tyre Sealant - 8oz Bottle
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
waimea
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Not sure how great this is for road tyres

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I used to be a hardened freerider and dirt-jumper and I always ran my tyres with this stuff in the inners to make sure that wee trail punctures were either slow to go down or instantly sealed. Unfortunately it just doesn't seem to work now I ride in London - I've had a run of especially bad luck lately with glass shards, thorns, tiny pinch flats, etc, all less than 2mm. I guess when there's less air to work with there's a smaller time for it to seal. That said, it does work sometimes and I still use it - anything to prevent the punctures!
Main gripe is whether it's actually good value for road bike users - I still use it for my commuting bike because reliability is king.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Slime Tyre Sealant - 8oz Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rushboy
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

it works

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Used this product many times before and does work. Can be messy to install.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.