Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Bike Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Tortec P-Clips

Tortec P-Clips

Overall rating:
4.114 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
32 out of 35(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for Tortec P-Clips
Review 1 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Land041
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Useful but needs work

Posted21 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
Handy little clips. I've bought several of these. They are useful but the blacks plastic lining soon comes off and the metal will scratch paint off your frame. This has happened on two of my bikes.
The solution was to fit a strip of rubber between the frame and the clips, it worked in preventing damage to the paintwork but should not really have to modify to begin with.
Use at own risk
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
JamTheReviewer

Not enough info

Posted24 August 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Well I guess they'd be fine but I ended up ordering the wrong size so I don't know if they'll do the job. Need more information published on what the sizes actually mean!
Also a little on the pricey side when you include P&P.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
luca1975
Country:Italy
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect

Posted18 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Perfect solution to mount a rack on a bike without braze-ons.
The joint is rock solid; just remember to tighten the bolts again after the first ride (like you would do anyway, even using the braze-ons).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sahand
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

good product, but expensive

Posted01 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Very good quality and different sizes. A bit expensive though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pedalpedal
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Straight forward to use

Posted19 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Good product which is fairly obvious to use. I used them to mount a pannier rack which was easy to do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Laza55
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

P-Clips

Posted08 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Item was exactly as described and just right for what I need, Great price and quick shipping.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Peewee46
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great idea - be aware of sizes

Posted24 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I bought a 22mm pair of these to fit a "Bontrager Back Rack for Disc" to my son's mountain bike, which doesn't have the usual eyelets for fitting. His frame was close to 19mm, so bought the larger size, as recommended by other reviewers. These were too large, and had to pad out with rubber strips. 19mm clips would probably have been fine. They are well made, and the plastic coating would have protected the frame even without the extra strips.
The biggest surprise, however, was that the bolts were larger than the standard size used for fitting bike racks. This meant I had to drill the holes on the rack slightly larger. That was disappointing. They are doing a great job, though, and rack is firmly held.
Bit pricey for what they are.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Konsta

Not optimal choice

Posted03 June 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: rubber cover
Cons: not reliable
I would recommend Tubus Clamp-Set for Seat-Stay Mounting as they are more reliable and have two bolts for mounting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Stevie123
Country:United Kingdom

Solid but not straightforward to use

Posted08 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
The clips are now in place securely to attach a pannier rack to my bike (the bike did not have bolts where needed for the rack to attach). The clips were too large for the bike frame, so I used strips of rubber (not included) to fit it to bike. The product would have been better had it included something similar to fit different frame sizes.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Horaceeeeee

Simple, good build quality

Posted08 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
It's basically exactly what you would be looking for if you need one of these for your rack.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cromoman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great little problem solver

Posted07 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, easy to fit
Very handy if you need to put a rack on a bike that doesn't have eyelets on it. My old frame has mudguard eyes but not the upper mounts for a rack, these do the job perfectly and are very secure.
Not really suitable for bearing heavy loads, but that should be obvious.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
yanes
Country:Greece
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

does what it promices

Posted02 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
It does what it's supposed to do, but it could be better.
I would prefer 2 fixing nuts per bolt, one to stabilize the p-clip on the frame and the other to hold anything that its going to hold in place. This way installation would be much easier.
Regarging sizing, if in doubt get the smaller.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PaulSE16
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Just a P-clip, but it works fine.

Posted20 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I used these to mount a rack onto a bike without rack mounts on the stays. They do the job very well.
They seem a bit dear for a couple of loops of metal, but that's bike parts for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Deni01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very useful

Posted16 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Good product. Fitted to my mountain bike for commuting as no rack mounts. Does the job really well with Tortec rack I also purchased.
Excellent service from Evans - no problems
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Delfryn
from England UK
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A simple but extremely effective pair of clips

Posted24 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Evans supplied the P clips very quickly at a competitive price and no postage charges.
The P clips enabled me to fit mudguards to the front forks of my bike which has no suitable lugs.
Being stainless steel , they shouldn't rust, and the plastic coating over the relevant areas stops them scratching the enamel.
In addition, the bolts supplied are plenty long enough to allow for any slight differences in sizes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SwampyB
from UK
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really Useful Clips

Posted25 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, range of sizes, grip strongly when tightened
Cons: Expensive
I needed some clips to fit mudguards to a winter bike without any frame or fork fittings.
The Tortec clips did the job really well, as they come in several different sizes, to suit your tube sizes and they have a grippy plastic cover, to protect your frame.
They are a bit expensive, but I can now ride around clean and dry with proper full mudguards fitted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rob12345
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Do exactly what I required.

Posted26 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I have a racing bike and due to a change in circumstances it now mainly gets used for comuting. I was having some back problems and wanted to ride without a rucksack, so I investigated how I could fit a pannier rack to the bike. These Tortec P-Clips were the solution and I easily managed to fit them and the pannier rack to my bike. The pannier feels very secure.
I placed some rubber under the clips to protect my bike and increase friction.
If in doubt over which size to go for go for the bigger size.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous

Posted25 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
The clips dug into the frame slighlty but were very strong and held the pannier rack solidly for a week's off road cycling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
JamTartMan
from Reading

Sizing

Posted10 July 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, too small
I ordered 19mm clips for my 19mm diameter seat stays. In the absence of any other guidance in the product description that seemed reasonable. No, they are way too small. Judging by how small they are, not even the next size up would be any good. Utter waste of £4.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RenQat
from Kuala Lumpur
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Such simple accessories that work

Posted08 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Have a frame that doesnt have the screw holes for panniers? No fret, Tortec saves the frame-change!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>