Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Tortec P-Clips

Tortec P-Clips

Overall rating:
4.296 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
26 out of 27(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for Tortec P-Clips
Review 1 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Stevie123
Country:United Kingdom

Solid but not straightforward to use

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
The clips are now in place securely to attach a pannier rack to my bike (the bike did not have bolts where needed for the rack to attach). The clips were too large for the bike frame, so I used strips of rubber (not included) to fit it to bike. The product would have been better had it included something similar to fit different frame sizes.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Horaceeeeee

Simple, good build quality

PostedJune 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
It's basically exactly what you would be looking for if you need one of these for your rack.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cromoman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great little problem solver

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, easy to fit
Very handy if you need to put a rack on a bike that doesn't have eyelets on it. My old frame has mudguard eyes but not the upper mounts for a rack, these do the job perfectly and are very secure.
Not really suitable for bearing heavy loads, but that should be obvious.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
yanes
Country:Greece
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

does what it promices

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
It does what it's supposed to do, but it could be better.
I would prefer 2 fixing nuts per bolt, one to stabilize the p-clip on the frame and the other to hold anything that its going to hold in place. This way installation would be much easier.
Regarging sizing, if in doubt get the smaller.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PaulSE16
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Just a P-clip, but it works fine.

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I used these to mount a rack onto a bike without rack mounts on the stays. They do the job very well.
They seem a bit dear for a couple of loops of metal, but that's bike parts for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Deni01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very useful

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Good product. Fitted to my mountain bike for commuting as no rack mounts. Does the job really well with Tortec rack I also purchased.
Excellent service from Evans - no problems
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Delfryn
from England UK
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A simple but extremely effective pair of clips

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Evans supplied the P clips very quickly at a competitive price and no postage charges.
The P clips enabled me to fit mudguards to the front forks of my bike which has no suitable lugs.
Being stainless steel , they shouldn't rust, and the plastic coating over the relevant areas stops them scratching the enamel.
In addition, the bolts supplied are plenty long enough to allow for any slight differences in sizes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SwampyB
from UK
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really Useful Clips

PostedDecember 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, range of sizes, grip strongly when tightened
Cons: Expensive
I needed some clips to fit mudguards to a winter bike without any frame or fork fittings.
The Tortec clips did the job really well, as they come in several different sizes, to suit your tube sizes and they have a grippy plastic cover, to protect your frame.
They are a bit expensive, but I can now ride around clean and dry with proper full mudguards fitted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rob12345
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Do exactly what I required.

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I have a racing bike and due to a change in circumstances it now mainly gets used for comuting. I was having some back problems and wanted to ride without a rucksack, so I investigated how I could fit a pannier rack to the bike. These Tortec P-Clips were the solution and I easily managed to fit them and the pannier rack to my bike. The pannier feels very secure.
I placed some rubber under the clips to protect my bike and increase friction.
If in doubt over which size to go for go for the bigger size.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
The clips dug into the frame slighlty but were very strong and held the pannier rack solidly for a week's off road cycling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
JamTartMan
from Reading

Sizing

PostedJuly 10, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, too small
I ordered 19mm clips for my 19mm diameter seat stays. In the absence of any other guidance in the product description that seemed reasonable. No, they are way too small. Judging by how small they are, not even the next size up would be any good. Utter waste of £4.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RenQat
from Kuala Lumpur
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Such simple accessories that work

PostedJuly 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Have a frame that doesnt have the screw holes for panniers? No fret, Tortec saves the frame-change!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
skinnyman
from Lancaster
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great buy

PostedJune 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought these to fit a rack to a bike which had no braze ons. They did an excellent job, rack nice and secure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AlexR

Handy solution

PostedJune 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
These clips allowed me to easily attach a rack to the back of my road bike. They are strong and sturdy. A nice solution.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
guidonicheli

PostedMay 17, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
easy to install. now i can add a rack on my mountain bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Carmanator
from New Zealand
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it suppose too

PostedMay 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Had to bend the band alittle as got prob size too small but works ok and seems to do the trick well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Raddish
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Job Done

PostedMay 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
Bought these to attach my pannier to the back of my Scott CX Cyclocross bike. Had to use the biggest size (could do with being a few mills bigger) and it took a little time to bend them into shape but they are now on and doing the job perfectly. Just took a heavy load around the Isle of Wight for a long weekend and had no issues with them at all. Im not sure if they are strong enough to be used with heavy loads for the bottom mounts of a pannier but if it is just securing the top the the rack to the frame they are more than adequate. Perhaps not the best looking of things but you dont really notice them when they're on anyway.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thebeautydoctor
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female

Perfect

PostedApril 29, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought a Trek 7200 (also from Evans) and wanted a pannier rack. This modelnof trek bike doesn't come with pre drilled frame holes for the rack fixings. However Evans knew exactly what I wanted (halfords said I needed to drill holes in the frame which I could do myself!) and suggested these clips. For my frame I needed the biggest size but they are perfect and the rack is now solid. Very pleased I went back to Evans instead of listening to halfords! As usual great service and patient explaining from the staff. Once again many thanks.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tarzan
from Bath
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

PostedApril 18, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Unattractive
Does the job as described.
Bolts could be accused of being too long but this isn't the end of the world.
Plastic serves its role in protecting the frame from damage.
Prob best to avoid using them on your prize racing bike
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tortec P-Clips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
urbanachiever
from North Beds
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fix that Pannier Rack

PostedMarch 14, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: very useful
Pannier rack refusing to fix to your bike? Never fear - with a bit of bending, hammering and the judicious application of these clips to your seat stays you'll find a way of clipping that rack to your bike regardless of the bad positioning or absence of eyelets at the top of your seatstays. If in doubt about size go for the big ones unless your tubes are very thin.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>