Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Car Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Saris Bike Beam

Saris Bike Beam

Overall rating:
4.72 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
25 out of 25Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for Saris Bike Beam
Review 1 for Saris Bike Beam
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidstone

Bike bar for use with hanging bike rack.

Posted19 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, wide adjustment
We bought a towbar 'hanging' bike rack - not from Evans but from the towbar installer - along with bars to go between the seat and the handlebars for ladies & kids bikes to hold the bikes on the rack. These resemble an S in shape and where the bike frames are so small they just fell off. Needless to say the bike rack (and Christmas presents) were not useable in the way we wanted.
Evans (Maidstone) were very helpful. They came out of the store and let me try one of their bars - which are closed at each end so the bike will not fall off - on the bike and bike rack. They also have a wider working range - both smaller and larger - than the ones we had.
They were dearer than the branded ones we had, but because they were demonstrated to us and the store was open I was more than happy to pay the small premium.
Not only does the item do as it is meant to do but the support from the store in Maidstone means I will be more than happy to return.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Saris Bike Beam
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leicester

fits and work perfectly

Posted27 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Bought this item to use on my wife's heavy Raleigh bike, fitted perfect and coped with the weight, allows you use women's and full suspension bike on a Saris Bones bike rack, more than recommend this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Saris Bike Beam
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Online

Excellent product. does the job & is good quality.

Posted13 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
does what it says on the tin! Is good quality and easy to fit. Feel it will last a long time as substantial.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Saris Bike Beam
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Does what it says on the tin

Posted27 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I bought one of these initially being skeptical if it will damage my dropper post. Got it fitted and the way it is designed does not touch the stanchion of my dropper post. I think as long as I keep the contact points clean, my bike will be damage free.
It is also quite stable as well. Only down point is that it makes the bike sit lower. On one of my cars (a saloon), this make the bike tyre too close to the exhaust and I had to remove both wheels to use the bike rack.
No need to do that on my hatchback though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Saris Bike Beam
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent.

Posted25 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, quality engineering
Cons: Heavy, no dimensions given
Does the job perfectly not a cheapy but worth the outlay to me the Best on the market. You are confident this will not let you down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Saris Bike Beam
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Product

Posted15 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
So I bought this as my Kona four would not sit on the Saris 3 bone properly, I was always concerned due to the shape of the frame it might fall off.
With the Bar I can place the bike closer to the car and use it to lift the bike on and off the car with ease!
Light weight well made and quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Saris Bike Beam
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chester

Great device,well thought of

Posted14 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Bought a saris bones rack for my car and then discovered that one of my bikes wouldn't fit and needed to use a saris beam,have used it several times and I must say it is easy to use and keeps the bike secure and doesn't damage the bike or bike rack in anyway,will be buying another one for my sons bike and would highly recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Saris Bike Beam
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

This product is great!

Posted28 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Solid and well made piece of kit. Really easy to use click system.
Extendable tubing will allow fitting to most bikes.
Feels safe and reliable.
Would recommend to all cyclists using a bike rack.....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Saris Bike Beam
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Bike bar made adding to rack simple

Posted12 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Sturdy & easy to use; made putting our bikes on the car rack simple. Comes with a lifetime guarantee would highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Saris Bike Beam
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:BMX
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very good product

Posted30 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
When I realised that the design of my wife's bike would not work with the Saris bones bike rack i had purchased, mainly to use with my sons bike and my own bike this bike beam made a big differance and saved us from having to rent a bike for my wife on a recent trip.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Saris Bike Beam
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid

Posted20 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Does what it says on the tin; got it to use as a crossbeam on a girls bike. Feels solid, should last. Also good for Captain Hook impressions, with no need to wear tights.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Saris Bike Beam
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
It was bought:Leicester

a great beam for the bike rack

Posted22 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Ive got a pashley bike and this bike will not fit on the bike rack. its a heavy bike but this beam works wonders. easy to use and very strong.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Saris Bike Beam
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

saris bike beam

Posted18 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
i bought this item to use with my saris solo to enable me to carry my mountain bike and also to tow my caravan.the beam is like all the saris items i have examined being very well made and strong.without the beam i found that the bike was very low to the ground.there are cheaper beams available but as i have always found you get what you pay for!
one mod i have done is to fit some foam pipe insulation over the jaws of the beam,to save any marking on my new mountain bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Saris Bike Beam
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it should

Posted15 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Strong and easy to use, worked well with the Saris Bones 3 on a recent family holiday to Center Parcs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Saris Bike Beam
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product and reasonable price

Posted29 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Good product and reasonably priced. Was needed to mount my girls bikes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Saris Bike Beam
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Does exactly what its supposed to

Posted15 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, easy to fit and remove
Cons: Expensive
Very simple and quick to fit, held the ladies bikes in place on the bike rack but quite pricey for a simple metal bar at £29.95 , I needed two which bumped the price up
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Saris Bike Beam
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A necessary addition

Posted19 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Needed to purchase after buying the Sarris Bones. Easy to use and makes carrying my wife's or children's bike possible. Adjusts to accommodate different size frames. Solid and well made, should last for years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Saris Bike Beam
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Strong easy to setup

Posted18 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great price easy instructions and great to attach to the saris bike rack we bought for my wife's giant hybrid bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Saris Bike Beam
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Lakeside

Easy To Use

Posted11 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
So handy and useful, easy to use in seconds. strong. Really does the job of creating a cross bar for the bike rack.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Saris Bike Beam
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Posted16 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Excellent addition to a saris bones rack for a kids bike or full suspension mtb. Holds the bike in place and less of the rack comes into contact with the frame.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>