Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano CT91 Altus Cantilever Brake

Shimano CT91 Altus Cantilever Brake

Overall rating:
4.182 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano CT91 Altus Cantilever Brake
Review 1 for Shimano CT91 Altus Cantilever Brake
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
trunmaster

Posted11 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Very good value. I would have gotten something better but they were the only ones that fitted my bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano CT91 Altus Cantilever Brake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dj101
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent, high quality item.

Posted06 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Very fast delivery, item replaces the older ct-90 cantilever brakes which are prone to breakage at the plastic spring collar. An excellent replacement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano CT91 Altus Cantilever Brake
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AlphaCharlie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple direct replacement

Posted05 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
The plastic cowls that cover the springs on these brakes had split (old age), but I couldn't find replacements anywhere so I bought the whole brake unit (front and back).
The Evans website was easy to navigate. Dispatch and delivery was very prompt and the brakes arrived very well packaged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano CT91 Altus Cantilever Brake
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
camper
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job but note the brake shoes

Posted12 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Simple clean castings. Note that the brake shoes are not the usual type used in canti brakes (which have the angle adjustment done on the stem by cone washers). They are the simple straight pads with angle and position all done by the clamps on the brakes. Does not look quite as clean but avoids the tiny adjustment screw - which usually rusts away and was why I needed new brakes in the first place.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano CT91 Altus Cantilever Brake
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BlueCaterham
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value replacements for broken Altus brakes

Posted01 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This is the 2nd set of CT91's I have purchased from Evans. The brakes are virtually direct replacements for old Shimano Altus (on our old GT mountain bikes) with broken plastic adjuster collars. Easy to fit, work fine for our level of casual use and not too expensive. Why go elsewhere.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano CT91 Altus Cantilever Brake
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent value, ideal for updating retro bikes

Posted23 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I bought these to revive my old 1993 Marin Nail Trail and make it a single speed. Many of the components are just not available anymore but these brakes are idetical and great way of keeping costs down on retro bikes. The price is exellent and they work (which is always a nice feature in brakes)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano CT91 Altus Cantilever Brake
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TheTrautbec
from Leeds
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Low cost Option

Posted21 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
An enxcellent low cost option to replace V-type brakes on my MTB. Quick and easy to install and very powerful compared to my Shimano 105s.
Why pay more?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano CT91 Altus Cantilever Brake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gbarcs
from Devon
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fine

Posted26 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
This is a boring review, a simple like for like replacement on my son's MTB. The reason was he lost the clamp bolt and I purchased the whole unit as couldn't find parts.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano CT91 Altus Cantilever Brake
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mikear82
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Great replacement cantilevers

Posted04 September 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Bought these for my old Diamond Back Outlook (~15 years old) to replace its current rather rusted cantilevers. Very easy to fit once you know how, and instructions were pretty simple to follow. Good product all round.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano CT91 Altus Cantilever Brake
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beza

Cantilever brakes

Posted02 June 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cheap V brakes are not a substitute for cantilever brakes and when the pads are worn they will destroy your tyres unless you keep them very carefully adjusted. So if you don't want to buy top of the range V brakes and also change the levers to match, stick with the cantilevers. They are a pain to set up and adjust but they have a very positive feel and they will stop you. These ones are perfectly adequate.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano CT91 Altus Cantilever Brake
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Albert0
from Gerona, Spain
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Si, these stoppers are good....

Posted10 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Great replacement for early style MTB brakes, where V brakes can't be used. Pads hit the rim, friction slows the wheels down, you stop. You can also stop by riding into a crash on the finishing straight, or use the rear window of any team car
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.