Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Abus Diskus Chain

Abus Diskus Chain

Sold Secure Rating: Silver
Overall rating:
3.667 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
11 out of 15(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Abus Diskus Chain
Review 1 for Abus Diskus Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Deen757

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
It does the job well. It's just very heavy, but does a good job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Abus Diskus Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
acciaio
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

About the right balance

PostedApril 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
About the right balance of security, weight, length and price.
I have secure bike parking at work so don't carry a lock that often. If I did, the Hip Lock belt that I got for my son is better (and more expensive).
Only slight niggle is the lock itself. Strong, but seems unecessarily fiddly - you have to hold the lock and both end links and then turn the key to close it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Abus Diskus Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
WhizWes
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Reassuringly heavy, well made and does the job

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, versatile
Cons: Heavy
The chain-based construction makes this a versatile lock which is easy to loop through the frame, wheels and bike rack. Not light by any measure but taking the bike and my weight together, it's not a big deal in the scheme of things...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Abus Diskus Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AdamC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Solid lock, a good visual deterrent.

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This is the second Diskus I've bought from Evans, having been impressed with the quality of the first.
My bike is suspended by the wheel in a communal bike shed, so I needed something long enough to go through the wheel and frame (a d-lock wouldn't reach the frame, and the lock extensions you can buy are easily cut), but with a chain thin enough to fit through the wall mounting point. Having suffered a few thefts recently, I was keen to find a solid-looking lock to act as deterrent. This fits the bill perfectly. Crucially it's also insurance-policy friendly, having the Sold Secure silver rating.
As other reviewers have mentioned, it can be fiddly to line up the padlock and chain when locking your bike, but you'd hope the lack of space will make it more difficult to cut. As a downside, I've found that the lock on my second Diskus can sometimes be difficult to open (requires a lot of jiggling of the key and chain), but I'd imagine this will improve over time.
Overall, an impressive, solid-looking lock, which should act as a deterrent to thieves. Good value for money compared to other locks in the Sold Secure silver category.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Abus Diskus Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marcus63
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Ain't no one getting thru this.

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Just what was needed and well worth the money, especially as my last bike had been stolen.
I'm taking no chances now and can't see anyone getting through this bad boy.
Also have a D Lock for the front wheel.
Handy too as you can just chuck it across your chest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Abus Diskus Chain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
mikeynz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

shoddy lock

PostedOctober 1, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Heavy, Expensive
only after four months use the lock does not work. Not impressed with the quality at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Abus Diskus Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lilu
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good and solid lock, not very handy shackle

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, shackle difficult to use
Good quality lock; the chain is very thick, so this will definitely secure your bike very well. Of course, on the downside its also quite heavy, but in my opinion this is what you have to sacrifice to keep your bike safe.
I find that the only real downside is the shackle, which -although solid and secure -is not very handy or quick to use; a normal padlock would have been preferred.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Abus Diskus Chain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Joshua001
Country:United Kingdom

OK but...

PostedMay 10, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this chain in conjunction with a 7ft kryptoflex cable to secure two hybrid bikes (Montague Navigators) and a dog trailer. Together, they give loads of practical securing options without being too bulky and heavy to conveniently transport around.
However, I find the ‘disk’ lock fiddly to use as I never seem to have enough hands to both line the lock pin up with the two ends of the chain and simultaneously turn the key to link it all together, in hindsight I would have preferred a snap together lock and will get one a.s.a.p.
I also question the quality of the lock keys; mine snapped in half whilst simply being carried around in my pocket, probably when I sat down, I have never had a key do this before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Abus Diskus Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lmn1
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Abus Diskus Chain

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Strong and very good quality. What else can you expect from chain?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Abus Diskus Chain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
83years
from Montpellier, France
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Looks good....

PostedApril 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, too big to wear as a belt
Looks really good but can't say much about it's performance until someone tries to steal my bike. Hopefully the size of it is a good deterrent
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Abus Diskus Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
shums
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Solid, but not Krypto

PostedMarch 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Great for heading out with it as I easily lock it around my waste while riding comfortably. I can pop off the bike to run in somewhere and leave it for a bit and feel safe about it, but would not leave the bike on the street long term with it, so the added Kyrpto D ring gives me piece of mind if I am away from it for longer.
Just remember that with enough time, theives can get through almost anything.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Abus Diskus Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very Secure

PostedNovember 9, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I can tell you that this lock is very secure, I used this for about 3 weeks before my bike was stolen, no fault of the lock though.
Where I live I keep my bike locked in the basement where it is chained to a steel upright bike rack, I used this through the frame of my brand new scott s20 and the wall bike rack.
The thieves had to cut away the bike rack with my bike still attached with the Abus! considering they were out of site and undisturbed they obviously couldn't get through it so just stole the the rack with my bike still attached! :(
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Abus Diskus Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
strawberry
from London
Age:25-34
Gender:Male

Job jobbed!

PostedJune 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Good secure chain. Feels substantial and well-put together.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Abus Diskus Chain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
meteoricpath
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedMay 27, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
The good thing about this lock/chain is that it's a hefty looking piece of kit that seems to have deferred thieves for a bit. It's also quite lightweight compared to the kryponite chain/lock.
The bad bit is that it is not all all theft proof: my bike just got stolen while it was locked up with this chain & lock combo. Granted the guy had to hack at it quite a bit with the clippers but I have the broken lock bits to prove it's possible to break it with some determination. I'm pretty sure if I was using the krptonite chain/lock I would still have my bicycle.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Abus Diskus Chain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
HassledDad
from London
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Useful but has limitations

PostedMay 7, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, seems secure
Cons: Heavy, inconvenient to use
I have used this for a while to lock up my bicycle at work and on visits to the shops near work. (I'm fortunate enough not to have to carry it around all the time, which is just as well, because it is quite heavy). It seems very secure but can't tell if it would stand up well to an angle grinder.
However, it has some flaws. First the chain isn't long enough to reach from the front wheel to the back wheel - you have to use it with an extension cable or remove the front wheel if you want to make sure one of your wheels won't get nicked by an opportunist thief.
Secondly, it's quite awkward to lock - it feels like it would suit someone with three hands: one to hand to hold the chain ends in position, one to hold the lock body, and the third to turn the key.
As a result of having only two hands, I found myself dropping the lock fairly often. On one occasion, the key broke off in the lock. As a result, instead of the Abus Discus lock, I now use a heavy-weight conventional padlock, and that is an awful lot easier to lock up.
So in summary, it is reasonably good value for what it is but has drawbacks (unless, of course, you're one of the three-handed people this product was designed for).
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.