Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Abus Varedo 47 300mm Lock

Abus Varedo 47 300mm Lock

Sold Secure Rating: Silver
Overall rating:
4.091 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
8 out of 11(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Abus Varedo 47 300mm Lock
Review 1 for Abus Varedo 47 300mm Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JimmyD
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Difficult mounting

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I like this lock as it is sturdy and looks expensive and solid. lock is long enough to thread through back wheel and frame. Only problem I had is mounting it on the bike with the supplied holder. Not what you'd expect as it can be mounted several ways - but I eventually figured out where to put it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Abus Varedo 47 300mm Lock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
wideeyedwander
from UK
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Lock was useless against SE1 thieves

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: useless against thieves
I thought the lock would give peace of mind. It is chunky and the mount works well, it was easy to put on and off the bike and use and the length was good. Almost exactly a week after buying the lock (2 weeks after getting the bike) I chained it to a heavy rail outside the busy entrance of Tesco Southwark in the afternoon. The bike was stolen within 30 minutes and seems to have offered the thieves almost no resistance as they could get through it without causing much fuss. Pity to spend so much on an ineffective lock, but police said almost no locks work and need to watch bike at all times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Abus Varedo 47 300mm Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ericosmi
from colchester
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

great buy

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
pros :great quality of the product.
It's enough to lock the frame and a wheel
very good packaging
superfast delivery
cons : -
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Abus Varedo 47 300mm Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrBrightside
from Glasgow
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sturdy lock

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Got a price match from Evans for this d lock.
It's quite heavy so it should offer enough security for my bike.
Comes with a bracket to fix to your bike,but i just carry it in my backpack as it's quite large.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Abus Varedo 47 300mm Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sunjhoon
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

RE: Great Lock

PostedJuly 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
After having a look online at many locks and reading multiple reviews I chose this lock and was a little reserved about it at first.
It is slightly on the heavy side but it is very sturdy. The extra length means it can lock around most lamp posts. On the bike rack i can lock both mine and my colleagues Bike into it and it does give me a piece of mind when I leave it out in the public
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Abus Varedo 47 300mm Lock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
scrooty
from Hertfordshire
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJune 29, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, good size
Cons: Heavy, only 2 keys
The lock is wide and long making it easier to lock the bike to something (rather than just itself). Abit heavy but that's to be expected for a larger lock.
Disappointing that it comes with only 2 keys and additional keys are £8.99 each.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Abus Varedo 47 300mm Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MazzaRC

Nice wide lock

PostedOctober 23, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, wide and long enough for anyone!
Cons: Heavy
This silver rated lock is extra long and wide, perfect for my folding bike when it's folded to also be attached to something that won't move. It's a little heavy, but you'd expect that as it has more material in it than other d locks. Does the job, and for a new bike, the price is fairly reasonable too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Abus Varedo 47 300mm Lock
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
dd22
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedSeptember 9, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Unattractive, Uncomfortable
Good sturdy lock but seriously let down by the poorly designed plastic to hold it onto the frame. I have to carry mine in a bag instead.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Abus Varedo 47 300mm Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jose1
from Lonson
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Protection at a reasonable cost

PostedJuly 13, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
This lock is great, fairly light compared to old models, strong and sturdy. The bike mount is useful too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Abus Varedo 47 300mm Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ellis
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good lock

PostedJune 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I bought this lock as it had the long neck and would secure two bikes to railings etc. It also met the requirements needed for my cycle insurance.
Very secure and worth the money. I did find the lock cheaper on another site but Evans price matched so they live up to their promise.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Abus Varedo 47 300mm Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bigmofo
from Manchester
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

piece of mind security

PostedMarch 5, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
This lock will give you piece of mind when leaving your prized possession in public places. This tough, lightweight, transportable lock will keep your bike where you left it.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.