Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack

Tortec Expedition Rear Rack

Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
25 out of 25(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
32 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer reviews for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Review 1 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tellusa
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The extra horizontal bar is essential for touring

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, extra horizontal bar
When I tour, I carry a rear pannier bag on each side and have a tent strapped to the top of the pannier rack. With a convential rack, I have to fit the bags first then fiddle with the straps that hold the tent in place trying to get them through the tiny gaps between the bags and the rack. Fitting the bags after the tent is impossible as is removing the bags without first removing the tent.
The second horizontal bar on this rack changes everything. Strapping on the tent before or after fitting the bags is easy. Also the bags can be fitted and removed quickly and easily without first having to remove the tent. I don't know how I managed befiore purchasing this essential piece of kit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scottishlad
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid well built rack

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Bought this for commuting/utility riding. Fits well on my bike. easy to fit my various bags on it.
Took a little while to fit the stays but that is to be expected as it has to be able to fit many different bikes. Should fit most bikes as there are lots of flexibility in the stays mounting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Firsttimetoure
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Fits easily and seems robust

PostedApril 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Seems to be strong and it's not too heavy. Panniers fit easily to it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LeslieJ
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

a quality rack

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I had this fitted to my Specialised Crosstrail Sport Disc and have been very pleased with the fit and quality (and it looks good too). I nearly always ride with a pair of old Karrimor panniers which fit well. This rack is built to last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CyclistJohn
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Superb product

PostedJune 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I bought a Tortec pannier rack a few years ago now. The only reason it is now being replaced is because the original one was damaged in an accident.
It is a highly useful and reliable product and has never given me any problems at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Northernista

Knees of bees!

PostedApril 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Excellent product. Had a previous rack that wasn't very sturdy and wouldn't allow me to fit a mud guard underneath. Both problems rectified with this item now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eshercyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

High quality, reasonnable price, and very adjustab

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, adjustable
After a few months of use for communiting I judget this rack to be excellent value.
I have used of rcommuniting so far, and at times the weight can be high because of computer, documents, etc. This rack is very strong.
Adjustability of the rack is great, but it does take a little time to understand.
The lower horizontal bar (dog leg) prevents the pannier from touching the wheel; a problem I had on my previous rack with a Vaude pannier.
I have put 2 plastic ties around the lower horizontal bar, and hook the bottom of the pannier between these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
EGR33
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Easy to use and sturdy

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Easily attached to my ladies bike and looks nice very happy with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wolfnstain
Country:Czech Republic
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Unbeatable price/quality ratio

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Easy to install. Really high quality product. Black version has nice mate painting, which is hard to scratch off.
I would like to see any expedition rack for 26" bikes only.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wadowada
Country:Turkey
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJune 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
If it's sold double price, I guess I'd have bought it. I have the front and rear Tortec Expedition rack. You can put things on it as much as you want. And it's more comfortable that the lack of the unnecessary springy system.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Neil92
Country:United Kingdom

Great product, Great Price

PostedMay 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I'm heading off touring round Europe this summer so needed something sturdy, strong and relatively cheap. Having had a good shop around i decided that this was my best option and haven't been disappointed. A well built rack that's simple to fit, takes a good amount of weight with confidence, and fits particularly well with my Ortlieb Classics
not only that, but the lower arm allows you to hang panniers lower and further back so if you have big feet and thin wheels, you have no worries.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gascomm
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

solid

PostedMay 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
fits my ridgeback cyclone fitting points without the need for any tinkering. sits firmly with the frame and is solid in construction
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
neildownunder1

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Very sturdy with good welds. I rode with this and 15kg panniers on a rough trail for four days and it didn't show any signs of deterioration. Fitted easlily on my Cube 29er.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lmn1
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tortec Expedition Rear Rack

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: paint comes out
good quality, fit my trek 7.1 (2010) without any problems.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aboey
from Purwakarta,West Java-Indonesia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fit to my bike

PostedJuly 17, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
This good and economics rear rack bike, good looking and usefull to my bike.I didn`t have any trouble when I adapted to my bike. Its Fit!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GIGeorge
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sturdy

PostedJuly 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Easy to fix, lightweight and good looking (if you can say that about racks) felt a bit tall on my bike (gap between wheel and top of rack was bigger than the racks my friends had) and tended to wobble a bit, not sure if this was due to the bike or the rack.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pinnacle
from Hilly Devon
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

world tour rack

PostedJune 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Well, I'll start with the negative. This is a very chuncky rack. If you are after that look then it has it in bucket loads. For me, I struggled to get it to fit my hybrid frame, the thick tubing at the contact points will not give and it wouldn't sit on the frame properly. Had to go back unfortunately. I replaced it with something lighter and cheaper.
The positive sides, it is very well constructed, feels bombproof and nicely finished. Quite weighty but lighter than you think in relation to its size. Ready for a world tour, but overkill for popping into town or nipping down the gym.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Garrett
from Canada
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lightweight, Practical and Easy to Install

PostedMay 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
This is the best value in a rack that I have ever had. It is easy to install, carries a great load and is lightweight and strong to boot. It also looks good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
WRogers
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Doesn't fit all bikes!!!

PostedMay 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: doesn't fit wider frames like hybrids
I bought this rack yesterday, as I urgently needed a rack for my bike as I want to go touring...
I tried to fit this onto my Specialized Sirrus Hybrid bike, but the Tortec Rack is too narrow!
the bottom mounting points on my bike are too far apart for the rack to fit...
I looked at my parents Trek Hybrids, and again, the rack was too narrow!
other than the mounting problems, it is a nice lightweight rack... but be warned that your bikes rear stays may be too wide at the bottom!
so if you have a bog standard bike, then it would make a great buy!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
orrashio
from Leeds
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

High quality rack

PostedMarch 10, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The rack is well reinforced solid and surprisingly light. Its reenforced design gives plenty of areas of attatchment. I doubt I'll exceed 15 kg on my tour but u have 35kg to play with which is good to know.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>