Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Bike Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack

Tortec Expedition Rear Rack

Overall rating:
4.593 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
27 out of 27Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
43 Questions | 53 Answers
Customer reviews for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Review 1 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The extra horizontal bar is essential for touring

Posted03 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, extra horizontal bar
When I tour, I carry a rear pannier bag on each side and have a tent strapped to the top of the pannier rack. With a convential rack, I have to fit the bags first then fiddle with the straps that hold the tent in place trying to get them through the tiny gaps between the bags and the rack. Fitting the bags after the tent is impossible as is removing the bags without first removing the tent.
The second horizontal bar on this rack changes everything. Strapping on the tent before or after fitting the bags is easy. Also the bags can be fitted and removed quickly and easily without first having to remove the tent. I don't know how I managed befiore purchasing this essential piece of kit.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great for the Hamax Caress

Posted12 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: rods were too short for one of our bikes
We bought two black racks for our Hamax Caress Childseat With Universal Rack Adaptor so we can swap it between bikes. Evans priced matched which meant we bought 2 for just over the price they had for one - thanks to their sales staff at Taplow.
This rack fit my husbands Specialized Hardrock but I had to obtain extra long rear mounting rods for my Specialized Myka expert which took some searching for, with these it fits my bike perfect too.
Axiom Rack Versalock Arms 280 they were only £7.99
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Strong and well made

Posted22 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I had this rack on my old bike and used it for about seven years commuting and the odd cycle holidays. Stacked it with panniers, tents and it put up with everything. When my old bike was stolen I bought another one. Really good system to connect to the stays. Good clearance around the disc brakes on my new bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid well built rack

Posted08 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Bought this for commuting/utility riding. Fits well on my bike. easy to fit my various bags on it.
Took a little while to fit the stays but that is to be expected as it has to be able to fit many different bikes. Should fit most bikes as there are lots of flexibility in the stays mounting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Fits easily and seems robust

Posted04 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Seems to be strong and it's not too heavy. Panniers fit easily to it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

a quality rack

Posted11 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I had this fitted to my Specialised Crosstrail Sport Disc and have been very pleased with the fit and quality (and it looks good too). I nearly always ride with a pair of old Karrimor panniers which fit well. This rack is built to last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Superb product

Posted22 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I bought a Tortec pannier rack a few years ago now. The only reason it is now being replaced is because the original one was damaged in an accident.
It is a highly useful and reliable product and has never given me any problems at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Knees of bees!

Posted02 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Excellent product. Had a previous rack that wasn't very sturdy and wouldn't allow me to fit a mud guard underneath. Both problems rectified with this item now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

High quality, reasonnable price, and very adjustab

Posted09 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, adjustable
After a few months of use for communiting I judget this rack to be excellent value.
I have used of rcommuniting so far, and at times the weight can be high because of computer, documents, etc. This rack is very strong.
Adjustability of the rack is great, but it does take a little time to understand.
The lower horizontal bar (dog leg) prevents the pannier from touching the wheel; a problem I had on my previous rack with a Vaude pannier.
I have put 2 plastic ties around the lower horizontal bar, and hook the bottom of the pannier between these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Easy to use and sturdy

Posted03 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Easily attached to my ladies bike and looks nice very happy with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:Czech Republic
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Unbeatable price/quality ratio

Posted01 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Easy to install. Really high quality product. Black version has nice mate painting, which is hard to scratch off.
I would like to see any expedition rack for 26" bikes only.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Turkey
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted25 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
If it's sold double price, I guess I'd have bought it. I have the front and rear Tortec Expedition rack. You can put things on it as much as you want. And it's more comfortable that the lack of the unnecessary springy system.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom

Great product, Great Price

Posted20 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I'm heading off touring round Europe this summer so needed something sturdy, strong and relatively cheap. Having had a good shop around i decided that this was my best option and haven't been disappointed. A well built rack that's simple to fit, takes a good amount of weight with confidence, and fits particularly well with my Ortlieb Classics
not only that, but the lower arm allows you to hang panniers lower and further back so if you have big feet and thin wheels, you have no worries.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

solid

Posted15 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
fits my ridgeback cyclone fitting points without the need for any tinkering. sits firmly with the frame and is solid in construction
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted24 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Very sturdy with good welds. I rode with this and 15kg panniers on a rough trail for four days and it didn't show any signs of deterioration. Fitted easlily on my Cube 29er.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tortec Expedition Rear Rack

Posted25 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: paint comes out
good quality, fit my trek 7.1 (2010) without any problems.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Purwakarta,West Java-Indonesia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fit to my bike

Posted17 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
This good and economics rear rack bike, good looking and usefull to my bike.I didn`t have any trouble when I adapted to my bike. Its Fit!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sturdy

Posted01 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Easy to fix, lightweight and good looking (if you can say that about racks) felt a bit tall on my bike (gap between wheel and top of rack was bigger than the racks my friends had) and tended to wobble a bit, not sure if this was due to the bike or the rack.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from Hilly Devon
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

world tour rack

Posted24 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Well, I'll start with the negative. This is a very chuncky rack. If you are after that look then it has it in bucket loads. For me, I struggled to get it to fit my hybrid frame, the thick tubing at the contact points will not give and it wouldn't sit on the frame properly. Had to go back unfortunately. I replaced it with something lighter and cheaper.
The positive sides, it is very well constructed, feels bombproof and nicely finished. Quite weighty but lighter than you think in relation to its size. Ready for a world tour, but overkill for popping into town or nipping down the gym.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tortec Expedition Rear Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from Canada
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lightweight, Practical and Easy to Install

Posted27 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
This is the best value in a rack that I have ever had. It is easy to install, carries a great load and is lightweight and strong to boot. It also looks good.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>