Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Bike Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack

Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack

New ergonomic design and an amazing low weight of only 560 grams. Made from 10mm aluminium tubing the Tour Ultralite is the ideal choice for fast tourers and Audax riders. Multi-mount fittings to fit a wide range of bicycles. A rear facing plate can accommodate either a dynamo or Rear LED light. Max Load 25kg.
Overall rating:
4.48 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(75 reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 75 reviews
5 Stars
45
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
72 out of 75(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
55 Questions | 80 Answers
Customer reviews for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Review 1 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
amiesaps

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The rack fit easily on my Specialised Vita, even over the mud guards.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
retrorider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Notting Hill

Good value, solid and recommended

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I was only able to fit one of the horizontal stays as the other interfered with my rear brake mechanism no matter which way I tried it.
(I have a Ribble Reynolds 525 steel road bike)
However even with just the one in place it feels more than sturdy enough and I have been able to carry a heavy panier with no trouble at all.
Looks good, no rattle and not particularly heavy.
Recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
alwaysinshorts
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

light, sturdy.

PostedJune 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Just what I needed. The only disappointment being that my Vaude pannier/ruck sack hook does not work - no horizontal lower frame... but a bungy does the job!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KaroA
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional

PostedJune 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I installed this rack on my Pinnacle to fit the bag over it. It does the job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Konsta

Low weight, reliable, easy to install

PostedMay 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: unnecessary pad for reflector mounting
I’ve ordered that one for cyclocross bike. Main criterion was a low weigh. Quite happy with it. There is only one disadvantage in my opinion – a mounting pad for back reflector. I tried to find something ergonomic without unnecessary parts, so this pad is not a good idea in this case.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cherry17
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Spitalfields

Lightweight

PostedApril 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this with my new bike. This is lightweight and good quality. Definitely recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Micliff14
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good basic lightweight rack.

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Does the job as intended. Paired with an Altura rack bag with velcro "landing strip" works well but you'll also need an adapter to fit a rear light or reflector to the rack. Overall quite satisfied.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
potter12
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Very light

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I ordered this by phone and sought advice as to the best and lightest.
I was not dissapointed in both respects when the rack was delivered
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DJCO
Age:25-34

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, easy to install
Does the job. Very Good, light weight and easy to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ian262
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Solid and good quality

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This was fitted by Evans as part of a new bike purchase so I did not have to worry about fitting it myself. I also have SKS mudguards on the bike - they fit together neatly.
The rack is lightweight, excellent value, seems good quality (I have the silver one), and entirely fit for purpose for my daily commute (I use Vaude panniers). Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stevie123
Country:United Kingdom

Sturdy Product

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
This seems to be a quality product, which I can trust to bear a heavy load. The aluminium tubing seems very strong.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
helpoaj
Country:Sweden
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Works, but I don´t like the design

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Unattractive
Personally I want to have stuff attached to my long-distance cycles to look neat. I find this rack too high - it´s 43 cm from hub to top, whereas my Tubus rack, 37 cm, is and feels more balanced with Ortlieb pannier bags. The rear facing plate also spoils the appearance; a narrower plate/tube would look more elegant.
It´s a good idea to mention the dimensions - L/W/H - in the specification...
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dec3
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This rack was easy to fit, light and holds up my two Ortlieb Back Roller Plus panniers perfectly. Great value.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
vijinho
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not very precision-engineered fittings

PostedJuly 9, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
Cheap and looks good doesn't it? However be warned! One of the two screw-on attachment blocks for the rack was too big for the rack and no amount of forcing or pushing/hammering would make it fit. In the end I had to use a pair of pliers to stretch open the welded groove on the rack to make it fit better (albeit still not pefectly) only to discover the screw in was worn. I had to improvise and stuff tissue, tape and glue in the hole for the screw to actually go in and not move - not sure if this solution will work in the mid-long term. Probably I will have to buy a better, more expensive, higher quality rack.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PunctureVictim
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light, sturdy, easy to fit.

PostedJune 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Easy to fit onto my specialised sirrus, did need the legs pulling outwards a bit. Seems sturdy although the paint is a little too easy to scratch. First outing was 150miles with load with a few of the tracks barely describable as cycle routes and it didn't fail. Easy to attach the ortleib QL3 mount system onto it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
veldy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A light and sturdy rack

PostedJune 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Light and sturdy rack at a reasonable price. Also easily adjustable to fit different frames and sizes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
RachelZZR

Product is great, but it's fliddy & missing bolts

PostedMay 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
I ordered this rack to go on my new Bobbin Bramble (which is truly awesome). This rack is solid, sturdy and incredibly light. I have full faith in it.
It's quite fliddy to fit, I need someone to hold it in place whilst fitting the first couple of bolts otherwise it just falls off.
More frustratingly you need two M6 bolts to attach to the hub-area of the bike - These bolts are talked about in the instructions, but are not supplied. Not a real problem, but annoying if you don't know - as you would have to visit a local hardware store before being able to test it out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nigelmc2004
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit

PostedApril 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Arrived quickly, well packaged. Dead easy to fit to a Trek T10 2011 Hybrid.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cwe03
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent rack let down by por paint job....

PostedDecember 5, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, rear light fixing
Cons: very poor paint job and soon looks a mess
This is an excellent rack, strong, light and an excellent design. I particularly like the rear plate for fixing a light. It's such a shame that the paint job is so poor. It rubs off, chips off and falls at the slightest rub or knock. So I have knocked off two stars because who wants a rack that looks a mess on their bike?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Owen86
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Super light good looking rack.

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Amazingly light weight rack, really nice design and very easy to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>