Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack

Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack

New ergonomic design and an amazing low weight of only 560 grams. Made from 10mm aluminium tubing the Tour Ultralite is the ideal choice for fast tourers and Audax riders. Multi-mount fittings to fit a wide range of bicycles. A rear facing plate can accommodate either a dynamo or Rear LED light. Max Load 25kg.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(88 reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 88 reviews
5 Stars
54
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
84 out of 88Would you recommend this product to a friend?95%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
63 Questions | 89 Answers
Customer reviews for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Review 1 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
doey189
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Decent rack

Posted14 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Lightweight and substantial rack - fitted on my Boardman road bike with a bit of flexing, but feels solid. A good size for a 'proper' pannier rack that doesn't look like I'm trekking across the Andes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
elhoffo
It was bought:Holborn

Posted10 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: can be a bit fiddly to fit
Panniers are easier on the back than a rucksack. Fitting is a little fiddly if the mounting points on your bike don't exactly match up with where the rack expects them to be but although it may look a little odd it's nice and secure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
StevenP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Posted08 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Great item. Easy to fit and dose the job strong and lightweight very pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rodley
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Does what it says on the tin

Posted04 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Strong and lightweight, as described. Fits well with Ortleib roll tops (bag-steady fits behind frame of rack). Top fixings need some trial and error to decide on the neatest and strongest arrangement and to miss rear brakes, before any cutting of the fixing bars, but worth the effort for a neat finish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lucas69
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Great Rack

Posted30 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
My bike was stolen, so when I bought a replacement at Evans, and wanted a new rack for commuting. This one is light (as the name would suggest) and there isn't a huge amount to it, so not massively intrusive when not carrying bags.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
soundcheck
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great rack

Posted10 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Lightweight and nice looking rack. Really pleased with it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
londonap2014
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Lightweight and robust

Posted17 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Lightweight and robust perfect for everyday use or weekend away
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
IveGotABrandNew
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Good item but missed a trick or two

Posted01 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: rod length, lower bag attachment
Well made and certainly light, the extension rods at the front are not long enough for my hybrid bike to make the top of the rack horizontal and I suspect other low slung frames would suffer in a similar way. Useful holes for fixing lights at the rear. Could do with side bars low down near the bottom fixing to attach largers panier bags to stop them flying about.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
60sRacer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

light, fitted well

Posted26 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Took a few goes but fitted well after a few tries. Light, rigid, looks neat. All I wanted.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
notokcomputer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Easy to use and does the job

Posted26 August 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I purchased this rack to go on my Fuji road bike and it was easy to fit. The first test of the rack was a 3 day ride from Brighton to Paris and I have no complaints whatsoever. It supported my pannier bags without any problems.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sahand
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

very solid

Posted04 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
looks breakable but amazingly strong and stable, very good rack. strong and stylish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LandRover1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very light and strong

Posted04 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I have not fitted it yet but can't wait as I bought a set of twin roll panards to go with it.
Comes in black or bright alum.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jpmaris

Good but test first

Posted30 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: range of fit
The pannier rack seems very robust and has been working well for me. I mounted it on the hybrid that I use to commute. One word of warning--although it is advertised as a universal product, I would test first if at all possible. It only just about fit on my Scott hybrid--at the extreme end of the range on both the width of the hangers and the length of the supports that connected it to the rear fork. Best to buy in store and check that it will work for you first.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
amiesaps

Posted16 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The rack fit easily on my Specialised Vita, even over the mud guards.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
retrorider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Notting Hill

Good value, solid and recommended

Posted11 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I was only able to fit one of the horizontal stays as the other interfered with my rear brake mechanism no matter which way I tried it.
(I have a Ribble Reynolds 525 steel road bike)
However even with just the one in place it feels more than sturdy enough and I have been able to carry a heavy panier with no trouble at all.
Looks good, no rattle and not particularly heavy.
Recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
alwaysinshorts
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

light, sturdy.

Posted27 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Just what I needed. The only disappointment being that my Vaude pannier/ruck sack hook does not work - no horizontal lower frame... but a bungy does the job!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KaroA
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional

Posted05 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I installed this rack on my Pinnacle to fit the bag over it. It does the job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Konsta

Low weight, reliable, easy to install

Posted28 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: unnecessary pad for reflector mounting
I’ve ordered that one for cyclocross bike. Main criterion was a low weigh. Quite happy with it. There is only one disadvantage in my opinion – a mounting pad for back reflector. I tried to find something ergonomic without unnecessary parts, so this pad is not a good idea in this case.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cherry17
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Spitalfields

Lightweight

Posted28 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this with my new bike. This is lightweight and good quality. Definitely recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Micliff14
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good basic lightweight rack.

Posted28 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Does the job as intended. Paired with an Altura rack bag with velcro "landing strip" works well but you'll also need an adapter to fit a rear light or reflector to the rack. Overall quite satisfied.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>