Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack

Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack

New ergonomic design and an amazing low weight of only 560 grams. Made from 10mm aluminium tubing the Tour Ultralite is the ideal choice for fast tourers and Audax riders. Multi-mount fittings to fit a wide range of bicycles. A rear facing plate can accommodate either a dynamo or Rear LED light. Max Load 25kg.
Overall rating:
4.478 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(69 reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 69 reviews
5 Stars
42
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
66 out of 69(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
50 Questions | 75 Answers
Customer reviews for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Review 1 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Micliff14
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good basic lightweight rack.

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Does the job as intended. Paired with an Altura rack bag with velcro "landing strip" works well but you'll also need an adapter to fit a rear light or reflector to the rack. Overall quite satisfied.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
potter12
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Very light

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I ordered this by phone and sought advice as to the best and lightest.
I was not dissapointed in both respects when the rack was delivered
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DJCO
Age:25-34

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, easy to install
Does the job. Very Good, light weight and easy to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ian262
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Solid and good quality

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This was fitted by Evans as part of a new bike purchase so I did not have to worry about fitting it myself. I also have SKS mudguards on the bike - they fit together neatly.
The rack is lightweight, excellent value, seems good quality (I have the silver one), and entirely fit for purpose for my daily commute (I use Vaude panniers). Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stevie123
Country:United Kingdom

Sturdy Product

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
This seems to be a quality product, which I can trust to bear a heavy load. The aluminium tubing seems very strong.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
helpoaj
Country:Sweden
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Works, but I don´t like the design

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Unattractive
Personally I want to have stuff attached to my long-distance cycles to look neat. I find this rack too high - it´s 43 cm from hub to top, whereas my Tubus rack, 37 cm, is and feels more balanced with Ortlieb pannier bags. The rear facing plate also spoils the appearance; a narrower plate/tube would look more elegant.
It´s a good idea to mention the dimensions - L/W/H - in the specification...
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dec3
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This rack was easy to fit, light and holds up my two Ortlieb Back Roller Plus panniers perfectly. Great value.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
vijinho
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not very precision-engineered fittings

PostedJuly 9, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
Cheap and looks good doesn't it? However be warned! One of the two screw-on attachment blocks for the rack was too big for the rack and no amount of forcing or pushing/hammering would make it fit. In the end I had to use a pair of pliers to stretch open the welded groove on the rack to make it fit better (albeit still not pefectly) only to discover the screw in was worn. I had to improvise and stuff tissue, tape and glue in the hole for the screw to actually go in and not move - not sure if this solution will work in the mid-long term. Probably I will have to buy a better, more expensive, higher quality rack.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PunctureVictim
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light, sturdy, easy to fit.

PostedJune 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Easy to fit onto my specialised sirrus, did need the legs pulling outwards a bit. Seems sturdy although the paint is a little too easy to scratch. First outing was 150miles with load with a few of the tracks barely describable as cycle routes and it didn't fail. Easy to attach the ortleib QL3 mount system onto it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
veldy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A light and sturdy rack

PostedJune 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Light and sturdy rack at a reasonable price. Also easily adjustable to fit different frames and sizes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
RachelZZR

Product is great, but it's fliddy & missing bolts

PostedMay 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
I ordered this rack to go on my new Bobbin Bramble (which is truly awesome). This rack is solid, sturdy and incredibly light. I have full faith in it.
It's quite fliddy to fit, I need someone to hold it in place whilst fitting the first couple of bolts otherwise it just falls off.
More frustratingly you need two M6 bolts to attach to the hub-area of the bike - These bolts are talked about in the instructions, but are not supplied. Not a real problem, but annoying if you don't know - as you would have to visit a local hardware store before being able to test it out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nigelmc2004
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit

PostedApril 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Arrived quickly, well packaged. Dead easy to fit to a Trek T10 2011 Hybrid.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cwe03
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent rack let down by por paint job....

PostedDecember 5, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, rear light fixing
Cons: very poor paint job and soon looks a mess
This is an excellent rack, strong, light and an excellent design. I particularly like the rear plate for fixing a light. It's such a shame that the paint job is so poor. It rubs off, chips off and falls at the slightest rub or knock. So I have knocked off two stars because who wants a rack that looks a mess on their bike?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Owen86
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Super light good looking rack.

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Amazingly light weight rack, really nice design and very easy to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
donjon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Does the job well enough

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Unattractive
Although it is only 400g I certainly noticed the difference in weight when I attached it to my road bike. Still probably a better option than some though. The bike doesn't look anywhere near as good with this on but it is easy enough to take off.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
strummerbond
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Notting Hill

Robust, lightweight, good value

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to fit
The rack did what it said on the tin. It is very light but strong. It was very easy to fit, even over my mudguards. I even left it on for the triathlon I did last weekend! I would recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
stumpyevans
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good Value

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A good value basic rack that is reasonably light and does its job adequately.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
terryb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good for commuting

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Minimal rack, perfect for my commuting run. Can reduce weight even further by only using only one seat stay mount.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bedandbreakfast
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

no complaints

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
easy to fit, light weight and is sturdy. No problems with this fiitted well and is good value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tortec Tour Ultralite Rear Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
phasing

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I did not think this product was so light.. I hardly feel a change in the bike.
Great product for the price value..
Highly recommended!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>