Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tools or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Topeak Mini 18 Compact Tool

Topeak Mini 18 Compact Tool

Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
17 out of 18(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Topeak Mini 18 Compact Tool
Review 1 for Topeak Mini 18 Compact Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stucory
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

heavy but has all you need

Posted15 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Well made, has everything you might need except tyre levers. little on the heavy side but thats because it has everything on it and is well made.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak Mini 18 Compact Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vman86

Great product!

Posted02 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Bought this a few weeks ago and it's already come in handy. Very well built and robust but compact aswell. Good quality bits ensure it feels sturdy and it's not going to snap. Definitely recommend this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak Mini 18 Compact Tool
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
alwaysinshorts
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

it bent

Posted27 June 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
The ONE time I needed to use the tyre lever elements, in the pouring rain, a flat rear ruining my day half way through my 13 mile commute at 6.30am, IT BENT. It could not lever the tyre. I had to walk the final miles.... I cannot express my anger, frustration and disappointment. It let me down. Badly. So now I carry my tyre levers again...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak Mini 18 Compact Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pedro77
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Great little tool..

Posted15 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Great little piece of kit with most things you are likely to need if you get caught out, out and about. Packs down really small in its own storage pouch. Would definitely recommend. Also very friendly service - top marks..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak Mini 18 Compact Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bolshi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Everything you need

Posted09 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Reasonably light and very compact with everything you need whilst out and about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak Mini 18 Compact Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Goslima
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Awesome little tool !

Posted06 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is a very well made product with all the key tools required to maintain your bike. The tool is compact and reasonably lightweight, and now accompanies me on all my mountain bike excursions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak Mini 18 Compact Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fred76
Country:Belgium
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

All you need - protected in little case

Posted15 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: no knife
All the essential tools in a little case (i.e. doesn't rub against spare tube in saddle bag). Inexpensive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak Mini 18 Compact Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tonx1234
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great for emergency repairs

Posted14 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought this tool after borrowing one when my drive side crank arm came loose. I had not realised my new bike required a 10mm Allen key to tighten the crank and I didn't have one. I could get plenty of torque on the bolt and the tool didn't bend which has happen with other tools I've had.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak Mini 18 Compact Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CitySpeedster
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Simple, effective and value

Posted20 January 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Good mini multi-tool with all the standard bits. Reasonably lightweight and tough build. Excellent quality whilst easy to use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak Mini 18 Compact Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
makem
from Dumfries and Galloway
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality space saving multi-tool

Posted24 December 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I was surprised with the high quality of steel used to make this tool a very useful asset in my bike pack. Hard wearing and space saving make this a very useful gadget to riders of any style.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak Mini 18 Compact Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bigmofo
from Manchester
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great all rounder

Posted05 October 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
A great little tool for those on the go fix ems. Small compact lightweight and tough. Can get a little fiddly as there is no locking mechanism when using the individual pieces but thats just a minor problem, I'm sure i'll get over it. Its never let me down. I never ride without it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Topeak Mini 18 Compact Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nickon
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

No substitute for real tools

Posted17 July 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
This multi-tool is small, light, smart and handy. However, it is a little fiddly to use - there is no 'lock' so tools move around a bit when you'reusing them.Because of its small style, it is also a little difficult to get a decent grip on, but its perfect for taking out on rides and tours for those (hopefully rare!) occurances when you need to do a roadside repair or tyre change.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Topeak Mini 18 Compact Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ronnoco
from Surrey
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great tool, ever so slightly fiddly

Posted14 July 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, Good value, Good quality, has a fabric case
Cons: fiddly chain tool
The construction of this tool is excellent - the chromium vanadium alloy means that the tools are incredibly stiff resulting in a practical tool that can even be used for high torques. Also, the chain tool detaches from the main body of the tool which is an excellent idea. The chain tool also has a 4mm allen key, which mean you can tighten the two axles that keep the tools in place. This self maintenance comes in very handy. The chain tool works but is, however, quite fiddly and takes a while to work. Furthermore, the L-shaped allen key and the 10mm allen key rub as they go past. this could easily be solved by making the tool 1 or 2mm wider. Overall, an excellent, light and small tool that is let down slightly by the chain tool and being slightly too small!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Topeak Mini 18 Compact Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dazzi
from Sherburn-in-Elmet
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

One tool does all.

Posted12 July 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, Good value, Good quality
I am in the process of renewing a lot of my cycling gear and a multi tool is something I have never owned (used to carry everything I needed in a saddle bag) The range of multi tools on offer is mind blowing but this one ticks all the boxes in my opinion. It's light and compact (well I suppose anything is compared with my previous tool kit) It's certainly well built and although I havern't been too heavy handed when using it I'm sure it will survive the heaviest of users whilst out and about.
It's a gread little item and I'm pleased I bought this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Topeak Mini 18 Compact Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hooking
from Oxfordshire
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Never leave home without one.

Posted09 June 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
This tool was smaller than I expected when I opened the envelope but that's to its advantage. It's light and easy to carry in my underseat bag.
The quality is self evident, its the sort of kit that reminds me of a Swiss army knife. It's even got a bottle opener.
I've not used it in anger yet but I've know doubt that it will be up to the task when required.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Topeak Mini 18 Compact Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
eldeme
from Malaysia
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

topeak mini 18

Posted20 March 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
very use full when riding cross country, I attached the tool bag on my seat tube where it is easy to reach when it is needed during bike malfunctions. Best compact tool ever bought.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Topeak Mini 18 Compact Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2bikeJ
from Midlands
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Perfect

Posted16 March 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, strong
This is the perfect tool for me. It fits every nut, bolt, screw etc on my bike. Extras like bottle opener and tyre lever are icing on the cake. Weighs almost nothing and come with a nice little wallet to fasten to your belt or just to keep it clean in your pocket. It is very high build quality and feels strong and rigid in use. It even has a tiny allen key on the chain tool to adjust the main tool itself. This was definately well thought out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Topeak Mini 18 Compact Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lm09
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male

Excellent

Posted10 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, Good value, Good quality, feature-packaged
Product has many features, excellent build quality - great compact trail tool for all scenarios.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.