Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Frame Protection or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Specialized Mudflap Shock Protector

Specialized Mudflap Shock Protector

Custom fit for frame clearance - Shape optimised to keep mud off shock seal - Strong and flexible - 04-05 Stumpjumper FSR - Keeps your shock clean and tidy
Overall rating:
4.615 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Mudflap Shock Protector
Review 1 for Specialized Mudflap Shock Protector
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shipper
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

easy to fit

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: none
The mudflap is ideal to keep dirt off the rear shock. its been on my bike for about 100 miles and dies what it says. excellant
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Mudflap Shock Protector
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gaz4565
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Nice lightweight bit of kit which serves a purpose and looks great on my bike Would definitely recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Mudflap Shock Protector
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ako22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Check your year

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: year specific
It's a great concept for full sussers, to have a rear mud guard, even if it only protects the shock. What they don't tell you is that it only fits a certain year of Stumpy properly though I forget which one (2004?). I have a 2010 model and the cross bar on the rear swing arm is a lot fatter so you don't get a good fit.
I still attached it anyway because something's better than nothing but it's not ideal.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Mudflap Shock Protector
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Saus19
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent fit

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This mudflap does a excellent job of keeping mud off the shock and bush. I have done a 3 hour ride and before I fitted this the shock would be covered in mud but with it fitted there was just a few spots but no big lumps. I am really suprised how effective this little flap is for it's size, hopefully it will make my shock stanchion and bush last longer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Mudflap Shock Protector
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SouthDowns79
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product..!!!!

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Easy to fit, keeps shock clean.....a must have for any Stumpjumper..!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Mudflap Shock Protector
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
oldfatbloke
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

does exactly what you want it to

PostedJune 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: does what it should
actually fitted to an older yr 2000 fsr but fitted perfectly. Took less than 5 minutes to fit it and most of that was me faffing about! worked perfectly and would buy it again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Mudflap Shock Protector
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
flex29er
from UK
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tin

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, comes with cable ties
Keeps shock clean, fits my fsr xc 2005. Comes with cable ties which is cool. Only downside is that there is a TINY bit less mud clearance with big tyres
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Mudflap Shock Protector
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Piggybladder
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Er...its a shock protector

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: no colour option
Does what it says on the tin. Fits my 2007 Specialized XC Pro just fine. Shame it doesn't come in a white option. Loses a star for that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Mudflap Shock Protector
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
rb5193
from uk
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect fit for frame does what it says on the tin

PostedNovember 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I was a bit scepticle that this item would actually keep mud off anything due to it's small size when I fitted it (fitted in two minutes by the way).
To my surprise on my first muddy outing after fitment it does the job perfectly, in fact the only clean part on my bike when I got home was the shock simply amazing that such a small piece of plastic can divert any crud from reaching your shock.
It's a shame that you can't currently buy a Carbon look mudflap, maybe something to look at because it would then look as good as it works.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Mudflap Shock Protector
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Slater
from Nottingham
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Useful addition to a great frame.

PostedJune 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
I bought this shock protector with mud in mind.
I'll be honest - I didn't think it'd work as well as it does! Cheap, effective, easy to apply.
No complaints what-so-ever!!
Great buy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Mudflap Shock Protector
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MAROOK
from OSSETT
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Specialized Mudflap Shock Protector

PostedMarch 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Excellent product does what it says on the tin really and keeps the worst of the muck off your shock.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Mudflap Shock Protector
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
from Burton Latimer
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Well Worth the Money

PostedOctober 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Does exactly what it says on the tin. Very good fit, and having been out in some filthy weather recently it really does keep the rear shock clean. Which will hopefully protect and prolong the life of the shock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Mudflap Shock Protector
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rewsull
from West Yorkshire
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Mudflap shock protector

PostedApril 17, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Vital bit of kit for all FSR Specialized bikes! Stops crud getting at your shock bottom pivot and also prolongs it's life. Very effective. Highly recommend this item reduces frequency of bush/bearing changes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.