Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano A520 SPD Touring Pedals

Shimano A520 SPD Touring Pedals

Overall rating:
4.51 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 49 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
48 out of 49(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 55 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano A520 SPD Touring Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano A520 SPD Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tmant
from Eastleigh
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great buy

PostedMarch 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, easy to use
For my first venture into cleated pedals, I bought these for my road bike, opting for the 'recessed' cleat system. These A520's are well engineered whilst being fairly light and strong. The cleat retainers are easily adjustable and clip in and out of the included metal cleats really easily. They are much more enjoyable and easier to use than the strapped pedals I have replaced and would highly recommend them. (my son has road cleats but I think these are superior)
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano A520 SPD Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Char1ie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Not bad, just not great. As my first step in to road riding I thought I'd stick with my mtb shoes and use these. They let me use my mtb cleats and are light enough, finding it a bit strange only having sing sided entry as opposed to my usual pedals. Also the bearing as a little slow so they aren't the easiest to engage as the pedal doesn't always reposition itself, this seems to be getting easier though as time goes on.
So not bad, reliable , light enough and work properly just nothing spectacular.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano A520 SPD Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Morrishey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedApril 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Having had plain SPD pedals for years, I was looking for something with a bit more support for the foot as I was getting some pain where the cleat presses against my foot (must've been catching a nerve or something!).
These seem to have got rid of the problem, without having to add a particularly bulky size or weight.
Not so suitable if you want to use the flip-side for a regular pair of non-cleat shoes as it's got a convex surface, but for cleat wearers - very good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano A520 SPD Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Matty75
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Neat road-style SPD pedals

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I got these to go on my new road bike, so I can keep my touring SPD shoes. A little bit sticky in the bearings, but that's because they're well packed with grease. Very easy to use, despite being single sided (they usually hang with the cleat to the rear so you just roll forward into them). Heaps of cornering clearance - my shoes will ground out first. They look great on a road bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano A520 SPD Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paul19
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Pedals

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Excellent value pedal for SPD shoes which looks perfectly at home on my road bike and means I can use one pair of shoes for both road/off road. Well made, smooth to use, stylish and a bargain for £25.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano A520 SPD Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dj1205
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Great pedals but do not automatically turn cleat side up,good foot support.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano A520 SPD Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AndyD77
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Decent SPD pedal

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I chose this pedal over the race style SPD pedal as I wanted to use an mtb style shoe with my road bike.
The pedal itself enables me to put enough power through the pedal without the un-planned un-clipping i experienced with double sided mtb pedals.
Pleased on the whole so far, but I'm looking forward to using them for some long rides in the summer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano A520 SPD Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pdc2506
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Solid platform when clipped in, but not for me

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: single sided cleat
I originally bought a pair of these pedals when I started riding clipless back in May last year.
The reason I bought them was because I thought they'd offer a solid platform and in that that sense; they do. However, I initially run into two problems :
1) I had trouble clipping myself into and out of the pedals because the tension spring was set too high for me.
As a result; I fell over a few times when coming to a stop because I couldn't get my foot out in time. A friend loosened the tension on my pedals and those moments thankfully came to an end.
2) The inconvenience of finding the pedal up the wrong way up on occasions from a standing start; which made me wonder if double sided pedals would have been a better option for me.
A few months later, I rode a bike with a pair of M520 pedals on it and I realised straight away that I preferred the convenience of having a doubled sided pedal; where I could clip in very quickly, without having to think about which way the pedal was up.
Despite my preference for riding with doubled sided pedals on my road bikes, like the M520 and XT980; I think the A520 pedals are well made and would be a good choice for a lot of cyclists; particularly for those who prefer a more solid platform.
Like others have mentioned; I would recommend loosening the tension on the pedals too whilst you are getting used to them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano A520 SPD Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Leclair
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lightweight SPD Pedals

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: only one-sided
Having already bought MTB style shoes with only two hole fixing before deciding to try cleats we had relatively few choices of compatible.pedals. On my previous hybrid bike I had a pair of M535 pedals which were good but heavy. Moving to a road bike I chose these A520 and am very happy with them. They are light but have a solid platform to support your foot without being too large. SPD cleats being small are easier to walk on when off the bike and being metal last longer than plastic.. Drawbacks? - The pedals are only one-sided and sometimes don't always hang down. My wife has also put a set on her bike as her first experience of cleats and has adapted to them very quickly and is very happy with them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano A520 SPD Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gatsy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
This is my first purchase of this kind of pedal. Good sturdy pedal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano A520 SPD Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
freelander1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Good pedals and value for money

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Very happy with these pedals, minimal hot foot and low weight. One minor issue is they don't always turn themselves the right way up which can be an issue when you need to accelerate from astanding start.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano A520 SPD Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MushroomMan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good entry level SPD pedal

PostedJune 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: slightly heavy
I'm completely new to SPD pedals and this product was easy to set up and use. The are good quality but perhaps on the heavy side for a racing bike. I got them for a road bike which I usually use for a 16 mile round trip commute to work and wanted something comfortable. They are big enough to pedal with them upsidedown when your take off for a junction allowing you to get time to flip them and click the shoe in place if necessary. I'd recommend this product to someone who is new to spd pedals with treking/commuting/ touring use.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano A520 SPD Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
domster410
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Great Pedals

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
These pedals were easy to fit with the aid of a spanner and some elbow grease. For the novice they are easy to use as the wide flat base gives you some security should you fail to clip in straight away. The tension is easy to adjust and aswith many shimano products they are well made and should last you some time.
Great product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano A520 SPD Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cpcassell
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chalk Farm

sturdy peddles which work well in various cycling

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
a great all-rounder - fine day to day and yet still good for longer rides
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano A520 SPD Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OneofFive
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Clean simple design

PostedMay 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
First experience of clip-less pedals, being used to toeclips & straps. Very pleased with these, appreciate not having to reach down to release toe strap when stopping! SPD cleat being recessed into shoe sole enables relatively normal walking for short distances in cycling shoes. Built quality is good and design is clean & simple with easy adjustment of tension.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano A520 SPD Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
silvershredder
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Mixed feelings!

PostedMay 21, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: single sided clip in
Chose these to go on my new road bike, but wish I had gone for the double sided option. True you do not clip in and out that often, so looking down to get the correct side is not such an issue, but I cannot see the advantage in not having a clip both sides as the other side is not flat so cannot be used with ordinary shoes. Will probably stick with these though as they work well when clipped in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano A520 SPD Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
slow1uk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

EASY TO FIT, NICE PEDAL

PostedApril 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have tried many pedals for my road bike and couldn't get on with them, until my two mates got these and said how easy to get your feet out the pedals, so I gave them a shot and they are perfect don't even have to look down now after 3 days so that makes it great too as i can watch the road rather than my feet. If you are in the market for a good easy pedal then this is the one. I have it set at the bottom which makes my feet come out easy but still secure while I am moving.... great pedals going to get a second set for my other road bike now that I am sure they are the ones for me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano A520 SPD Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dutchess
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good pedals

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: spring a bit stiff
Good pedals.
Easy to get used too and look great.
I have made the springs as light as possible but are still quit stiff.
Hope this will get better when using it more often.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano A520 SPD Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Baxter321
from Cambridge
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value, robust for entry level

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Bought to replace my M520 SPD pedals, which only lasted one summer of commuting ~1000 miles.
These pedals definitely feel more durable and not much more expensive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano A520 SPD Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
davies84
from Essex
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Good solid pedals

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I bought these as my first cleated pedals, opting for the spd as I like to be able to walk around whilst wearing my cycling shoes. I got these cheap from evans using their price promise as I had found them cheaper elsewhere but wanted evans service. I have been using these pedals for the last 6 months and clocked up aroung 1000 miles with them. they have be problem free since the first day and after getting used to being clipped in I hardly even notice them now. the only issue stopping them getting 5 stars is that they do not stay upright when you unclip which can be problematic at times getting away from traffic lights ect, but at this price I cant complain. Avery solid pedal for the price.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>