Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Rims or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm

Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm

Overall rating:
4.643 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
28 out of 28(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Review 1 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ckboon
from Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best Rim tape

Posted02 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Hi,
This rim tape is way better than those plastic ones. This totally covered my Campy Scirocco wheels which are 18mm wide and doesn't move around because it's sticky.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PlymAdey
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

does what it needs to do well

Posted02 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Good functional rim tape. Bought to use on a turbo wheel setup.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MisterO
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit seems good quality

Posted27 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I brought this on the advice of one of the mechanics at Evans, Liverpool Street. This rim tape is apparently the brand they use in the workshop.
This rim tape was easy to fit, even for someone who is a relative novice at bike maintenance like me. One roll will fit one 700c wheel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chas31
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best rim tape available

Posted05 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This rim tape is the best quality and best value for money. No need to look any further.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rendar
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

easy to apply good quality tape

Posted01 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
this is good tape, used on my 20" rims,
easy to apply and seems to bond securely
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gate46
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

does the job

Posted24 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Pleases with this tape. Fitted well. Has a hole for the valve. Better than what come with the wheel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigCityCyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality

Posted04 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, durable
Have used Velox for years and it's still great quality rim tape, reliable, durable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
silverjaw

strong

Posted30 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
this tape is great - strong, easy to apply, plenty long enough for 700 rim. it is certainly not race weight, it looks quite robust. i'll see how it goes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

the best rim tape

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
the most durable tape available.
easy to apply, doesn't come off. very strong and resists high pressure over the spoke holes for many years
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
kona85
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Good hard wearing rim tape

Posted16 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
A good cheap but hard wearing rim tape with good adhesive and good protection of inner tube from spoke niple, i would recomend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bigbob195
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good

Posted08 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
good
easy to to use
looks nice
protects spoke ends/tubes
slightly sticky so stays in place
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AFAIK
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice quality rim tape

Posted07 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
First time I've applied rim tape and it was very easy to install on my rims. It's long enough to go round a 700c road rim and has good adhesive. I opt'd for tape rather than the bands so that I could be sure I wouldn't have problems getting it over the edge of the rim and still get a good fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TeamGB

Posted03 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Does what is says on the tin. Old school, but very reliable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous

Posted16 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
The price is cheap, the quality is no problem, enough performance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CK59
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Possibly the best rim tape ever?

Posted04 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Maybe, but then I've only ever tried 2 brands. For those wondering what width of tape to get for their Mavic Open Pro rims, I can confirm that the 16mm fits very nicely thank you. And looks good. Until you put a tyre on it and never see the tape again. But you know it's there, looking all lovely in its understated Gallic way...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent rim tape

Posted20 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
I was having problems with burst tubes and determined that it was the original rim tape allowing the inner tube to bulge into the spoke recess.
Changing to the Velox tapes solved the problems and I am now able to run my tyres at 100 to 120 psi, without any problem. Recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Slymoy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality rim tape

Posted28 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Good quality and easy to fit what more could you ask for?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PhilYerBoots
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Tape your rim with confidence.. ;-)

Posted01 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is so much better than the cheap rubber band that had disintegrated on my rear rim causing me 3 punctures and wasting tubes before I realised emerging rough spoke nipples were the culprit...
It's a thick self-adhesive cotton material and like Andrex is soft, strong, very long and gentle on your rims and tubes..buy some you won't regret it..!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jwilson
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Decent product

Posted25 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: hard to fit
I purchased one of these for my mountain bike. Although the product is described as adhesive, I didn't find it particularly easy to install or sticky!
Once installed I've had no problems with the product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NigmaRyder
from UK
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The best rim tape.

Posted03 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, durable, easy to fit
These are much more trustable and durable than the plastic/rubber type. They don't split over time.
They are best fitted to new wheels or well cleened rims but will work even if they wont stick well to the rim.
Make sure you get the ones wide enough for your rims. 16mm works well with most 700C wheels and narrow 26" wheels like Mavic Crossride or X517 rims.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>