Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm

Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm

Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
21 out of 21(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Review 1 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ckboon
from Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best Rim tape

PostedOctober 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Hi,
This rim tape is way better than those plastic ones. This totally covered my Campy Scirocco wheels which are 18mm wide and doesn't move around because it's sticky.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

the best rim tape

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
the most durable tape available.
easy to apply, doesn't come off. very strong and resists high pressure over the spoke holes for many years
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
kona85
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Good hard wearing rim tape

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
A good cheap but hard wearing rim tape with good adhesive and good protection of inner tube from spoke niple, i would recomend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bigbob195
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
good
easy to to use
looks nice
protects spoke ends/tubes
slightly sticky so stays in place
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AFAIK
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice quality rim tape

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
First time I've applied rim tape and it was very easy to install on my rims. It's long enough to go round a 700c road rim and has good adhesive. I opt'd for tape rather than the bands so that I could be sure I wouldn't have problems getting it over the edge of the rim and still get a good fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TeamGB

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Does what is says on the tin. Old school, but very reliable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
The price is cheap, the quality is no problem, enough performance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CK59
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Possibly the best rim tape ever?

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Maybe, but then I've only ever tried 2 brands. For those wondering what width of tape to get for their Mavic Open Pro rims, I can confirm that the 16mm fits very nicely thank you. And looks good. Until you put a tyre on it and never see the tape again. But you know it's there, looking all lovely in its understated Gallic way...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent rim tape

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
I was having problems with burst tubes and determined that it was the original rim tape allowing the inner tube to bulge into the spoke recess.
Changing to the Velox tapes solved the problems and I am now able to run my tyres at 100 to 120 psi, without any problem. Recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Slymoy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality rim tape

PostedJune 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Good quality and easy to fit what more could you ask for?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PhilYerBoots
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Tape your rim with confidence.. ;-)

PostedJune 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is so much better than the cheap rubber band that had disintegrated on my rear rim causing me 3 punctures and wasting tubes before I realised emerging rough spoke nipples were the culprit...
It's a thick self-adhesive cotton material and like Andrex is soft, strong, very long and gentle on your rims and tubes..buy some you won't regret it..!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jwilson
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Decent product

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: hard to fit
I purchased one of these for my mountain bike. Although the product is described as adhesive, I didn't find it particularly easy to install or sticky!
Once installed I've had no problems with the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NigmaRyder
from UK
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The best rim tape.

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, durable, easy to fit
These are much more trustable and durable than the plastic/rubber type. They don't split over time.
They are best fitted to new wheels or well cleened rims but will work even if they wont stick well to the rim.
Make sure you get the ones wide enough for your rims. 16mm works well with most 700C wheels and narrow 26" wheels like Mavic Crossride or X517 rims.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ceegee
from Kent
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Perfect solution to an annoying problem. Cheap, simple to fit and well suited for the purpose.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
anon121
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect

PostedJanuary 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This is perfect for making sure you don't get punctures and it is also very sticky so it wont move around the rim! Worked great on my deep v rim!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CRAGGY
from croydon
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

OLD AND GOOD

PostedNovember 10, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
vintage rim tape,and does the job,and looks the business
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JohnR

Good value

PostedOctober 22, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
It does what it says on the can. Hard to say much more about rim tape. Good value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sneezing7
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Cheap and Cheerful!

PostedSeptember 23, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
In all my years of riding I have never used another brand of tape. This does exactly what it needs to do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
barnybug

Does what it says on the tape

PostedAugust 23, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Has solved the puncturing problem on spoke holes once and for all. Easy to fit and adhesive gives the assurance it won't shift and let the inner tube get sliced!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Velox 51 Rim Tape 16mm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pean
from Uppsala, Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedAugust 18, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I like textile rim tapes, but it takes a little bit longer and builds a little higher than regular rubber ones. Important to get the right width as it builds a little higher, especially round the valve where it overlaps.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>