Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Handlebars or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Minoura Swing Grip Extension Bracket 90mm

Minoura Swing Grip Extension Bracket 90mm

Overall rating:
3.583 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
10 out of 12(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Minoura Swing Grip Extension Bracket 90mm
Review 1 for Minoura Swing Grip Extension Bracket 90mm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Captain747
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Very basic but many features

Posted07 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: very difficult to attach to any part of the bike
I originally wanted the Swing grip for extra bar space for lights. After many weeks of trying to put an essential extra on my bike. Now I also use it what its not designed for "An Air-horn"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Minoura Swing Grip Extension Bracket 90mm
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Princellewelyn
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Wouldn't hold on the stem, ended up scratching...

Posted15 November 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Unattractive
I bought this to mount a Hope R4 light above newly fitted bar bag when touring. The idea was to mount the Minoura to my stem (Race Face Cadence) and use the arm to position the light above the handlebar. The mount proved very fiddly to fit and just secured to the stem with a single bolt. On the first test ride, it had worked loose within about 20 minutes. I tightened it up (very tightly this time) but the same thing happened. This time the metal bolt had scratched the stem quite badly.
The extension bracket is also substantially narrower than (even a standard non oversize) handlebar requiring lots of shims to fit your light.
In short, waste of money, sorry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Minoura Swing Grip Extension Bracket 90mm
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
drawd
Country:New Zealand
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted28 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: does the job
Cons: Poor quality, difficult to mount
I'm onto my second one now. The first one worked well until the stainless steel mounting strap that goes round the stem or handlebars broke. On the second one I'm finding it just about impossible to engage the bolt that goes through the mounting strap when attaching it to the stem. Still haven't managed it, will have to get some assistance like going to a bike shop!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Minoura Swing Grip Extension Bracket 90mm
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
SCCyclist
from South Coast
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PRACTICAL

Posted07 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, droops on rough roads
Needed somthing to mount a light over the top of my bar bag for night cycling. Good practical solid solution. Only drawback is that if not really tightened up and checked in each ride, it tends to droop over a long ride especially on rough UK roads. Pity there's not a supporting angle bracket - easy enough to make one and fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Minoura Swing Grip Extension Bracket 90mm
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
inas
from Sydney
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Is this the best way?

Posted13 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
During my rides, I can have 2 front lights, GPS, GoPro camera and radio attached to the handlebars.
The swinggrip is flexible in the way it attaches. A bit of a fiddle to get the screws to line up, but the grip will attach either straight on, or 90 degrees to the base. The mechanism attaches tightly to a wide range. It looks strong.
I'm a bit scared that the attachments are going to slip off the end of the bar if they loosen and I go over rough ground. I really don't want to see the GPS or the lights drop onto the ground. I'd really have liked the ends of the bar to be raised just slightly to prevent this happening.
Also, the bar is easily wide enough to attached three devices, but the attachment just gets in the way enough to stop this happening. Surely a thinner attachement could have have been designed with sufficient strength to allow more space on the bar?
I've satisfied myself now by putting cable ties around the two devices to the central attachment, so there is no way I can lose them. It all looks a bit odd, and attracts attention to the bike I'd rather not have.
At the end of the day I've lost one space on the handlebars and replace it with two spaces. The devices I've ended up having to cable tie anyway. In retrospect, I'd probably have been happier just using cable ties to attach the GPS to the stem, or being otherwise creative.
The device is on my bike now, and working fine. I can't see myself continuing to use it long term, I think I'll find a better solution to my problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Minoura Swing Grip Extension Bracket 90mm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
akldb1
from South Buckinghamshire
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

size issue

Posted12 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: small diameter
Great bar extension but won't work with my terra2 lights as they need at least a 25.4mm diameter bar, these are 22mm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Minoura Swing Grip Extension Bracket 90mm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job!

Posted23 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: can be awkward to fit
Can be fitted to either handlebars or stem, can be a bit awkward to fit but once fitted mine has stayed in place no problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Minoura Swing Grip Extension Bracket 90mm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Burnstar
from Sydney
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Product

Posted06 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: tricky to install
Nice size however was a bit tricky to install on my Stem and I ended up having to cut half the supplied rubber shim off to create some space so I could do the bracket up.
Overall I'm very happy with this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Minoura Swing Grip Extension Bracket 90mm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
David77
from Norwich
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

FANTASTIC PIECE OF KIT

Posted23 December 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I have just made my second purchase of this product to install on my secondbike. With lights and a cycle computer (Cateye Wireless) to accommodate, yet not wishing to block my bar bag, this fits the bill perfectly. Slightly fiddly to install, especially first time, and you will need to study the diagram very carefully, but well made pirece of gear and very light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Minoura Swing Grip Extension Bracket 90mm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
flimbyphil
from workington, cumbria
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

bigger is better

Posted22 October 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
an exellent bit of kit, the swivel mount especailly as you don,t loose bar space to create space. i mounted mine on th stem,put 2 lights on the bar and fixed the battery pack to the stem of the extenssion,i cycle year round doing a 9 mile round trip commute to work so need good lights and a strobe for extra safety and with a bell for those pesky pedestrians and a trip computer!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Minoura Swing Grip Extension Bracket 90mm
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
rigsby
from East Sussex
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female

Useful but not very practical

Posted15 March 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, well designed
Cons: Expensive, difficult to fit
Robust, well designed - made from stainless steel, aluminium and plastic. A pity that it's so fiddly to set up and adjust, particularly the clamp strap. You have to take the whole thing apart to mount the unit or change the setting, depending on which tube it is going to be mounted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Minoura Swing Grip Extension Bracket 90mm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nixienoks
from Oxford
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Functional piece of kit where space is a premium

Posted10 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Cons: tricky installation
This product enabled me to add two more lights to my cyclocross handlebars, which have limited space. The only tricky part of the installation was fixing the main metal clamp without scratching the bike (a thicker rubber protection strip would not go amiss). The clamp is secure and does not add too much weight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.