Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals

Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals

Overall rating:
4.517 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(317 reviews) 316
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 317 reviews
5 Stars
175
4 Stars
132
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
316 out of 317(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
34 Questions | 149 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vidall
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Introduction to clip-less peddles

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a great set of pedals easy to fit to your bike, and come complete with cleats, the pedals are easily adjusted so you can maximize/minimize lateral movement, before I used them for the first time I sat on my stationary bike and just clipped in and out about 10 times each side just to get use to the feel of releasing myself from the pedals. On the road they feel great, all the security of clips but none of the bulk and discomfort.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DC36
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works well

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Pedals work well. I prefer these to the SPD mountain bike pedals as they give you a more pedal to attach to. Used to have the cheaper version of these pedals - have to admit I can't really tell the difference.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jimbob84
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Great value for money

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
A great starter pedal for making the transition to SPD pedals...
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
xcwhippet
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert

good value

PostedMay 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Does everything you need and better than MTB style SPDs if you don't need to walk in them. Very similar in performance to my old and more expensive Look pedals, but possibly a bit lighter.
If only replacement cleats were equally well priced...
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shimano600
from Manchester
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

R540 SPD SL Pedals

PostedMarch 17, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I looked around for a pair of SPD pedals for my retro road bike. I have had the bike for 25 years and was looking for some SPD Pedals to take me into the 21st Century.
Once the pedals arrived, with prompt speedy delivery, I set about attaching them to my bike, removing the old pedals was done and the new SPDs were a breeze to fit. The cleats which came with the pedals fitted, I was ready to roll (after a little practice clicking out -on turbo!) I set out with my sons. They expected me to fall off at some point but the pedals were great, easy to clip in and out as we navigated the route.
I would highly recommend these as a very good entry level SPD pedal to anyone taking the plunge
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HannahCora
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

good value

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Those pedals are really good value for what they are.They look good, and feel good as well and all that for a decent price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SurreyChick
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Woking

Good started clip

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, easy to use
A nice starter spd, fairly easy to get the hang of and have ridden over 100km without falling off yet - easy to release
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GavTee

Do the job!

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
These were my first cleat pedals so I have nothing to compare to, but they seem to do the job just fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cole3110
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Exactly what I was looking for

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I am new to clip in pedals so although I have nothing to compare these to they are exactly what I was looking for. They are very easy to clip in and get off when coming up to a junction. They have not fell off when I didn't want them too and I found them very easy to fit with no hassle. Overall, perfect for what I was looking for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
krysten
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

great product

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
great product,looks nice,easy to use for first timers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
astockwelluk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Tricky to get used to

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
If you’re not used to the style of pedals that clip your foot in these take some getting used to. I did the classic slow motion falling off at a set of traffic lights on my first full ride which hurt my pride more than anything else. There didn’t seem to be a lot of adjustments to make them looser (easier to unclip) but I have tinkered a bit and haven't fallen off again yet. I've only ridden 3-4 times with these but already the paint is starting to flake which I've deducted a star for.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
faulks88
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Great pedal

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is the first time I have bought or used this type of system and I am very impressed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AllezElite1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Effective and good value

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
These pedals were a good price and easily fitted. After one ride I adjusted them to facilitate easy release and have got used to them very quickly. There is a good audible click when the shoe is properly engaged and although the shoes mark the pedals, the finish is generally good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tude

Do what I want

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Perfect for what I need, good price! Will look to upgrade eventually
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Newby33
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Easy to use

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
First pair of clip in pedals, came recommended from the experts in the shop, you can slacken off the clip so it makes it easy for you to get your shoe out, so very useful when learning to use clip in pedals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wp13
Country:United Kingdom

Very good for beginners

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I found these pedals to be well priced and extremely manageable. Easy to fit, use and maintain.
I would recommend these pedals to begininers and those that havent used a road pedal and cleat set up before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Twinkletoes58
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Easy to fit

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great product, easy to fit and adjust. Have used them several times and would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Richee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

pedals

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Entry level spd pedals, first clipless pedals I've used, so took a little getting used to, but i'm just getting comfortable with them and really like them, recommended !!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
drewpri
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Good value, great looking peddles

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I couldn't resist to go with these peddles. The colour is just right for my Trek 3.5. They are very comfortable and I definitely recommend them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LifeNovice
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Guildford

Great but would benefit from more cleat bolts

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Nice pedals- easy to use for a novice, and big enough that I can use with regular trainers for a short 2 min ride to the shops etc without needing to kit up in cycling shoes.
Fairly expensive at £45, wouldn't have wanted to pay full price, but ty price match which is great.
Despite tightening the cleat Allen bolts well I lost one 60k into first ride. No spares given and they are surprisingly hard to locate (Evans didn't stock them). I have read been told loctite helps prevent this problem. It seems to be a problem with all pedals though not just these so not a reason to avoid.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>