Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals

Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals

Overall rating:
4.506 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(356 reviews) 355
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 356 reviews
5 Stars
194
4 Stars
150
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
352 out of 356Would you recommend this product to a friend?99%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
35 Questions | 154 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Introduction to clip-less peddles

Posted02 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a great set of pedals easy to fit to your bike, and come complete with cleats, the pedals are easily adjusted so you can maximize/minimize lateral movement, before I used them for the first time I sat on my stationary bike and just clipped in and out about 10 times each side just to get use to the feel of releasing myself from the pedals. On the road they feel great, all the security of clips but none of the bulk and discomfort.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works well

Posted17 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Pedals work well. I prefer these to the SPD mountain bike pedals as they give you a more pedal to attach to. Used to have the cheaper version of these pedals - have to admit I can't really tell the difference.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Great value for money

Posted06 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
A great starter pedal for making the transition to SPD pedals...
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert

good value

Posted03 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Does everything you need and better than MTB style SPDs if you don't need to walk in them. Very similar in performance to my old and more expensive Look pedals, but possibly a bit lighter.
If only replacement cleats were equally well priced...
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Manchester
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

R540 SPD SL Pedals

Posted17 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I looked around for a pair of SPD pedals for my retro road bike. I have had the bike for 25 years and was looking for some SPD Pedals to take me into the 21st Century.
Once the pedals arrived, with prompt speedy delivery, I set about attaching them to my bike, removing the old pedals was done and the new SPDs were a breeze to fit. The cleats which came with the pedals fitted, I was ready to roll (after a little practice clicking out -on turbo!) I set out with my sons. They expected me to fall off at some point but the pedals were great, easy to clip in and out as we navigated the route.
I would highly recommend these as a very good entry level SPD pedal to anyone taking the plunge
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Solid pedal for commuting or touring

Posted12 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Bought this pedal for a long tour from the UK to Spain, came in a cheaper package deal with cleats. Very easy to mount, and easy to ride with. They've lasted more than 3,000 miles so far and still going, would recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Great product!

Posted11 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
I purchased the Shimano R540 SPD SL road pedals four weeks ago. A quality product and great value for money. Don't seem to be particularly heavy either.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidenhead

Easy to set up and easy to use

Posted10 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
The pedals came recommended by the store and prove to be good value. They were easy to fit as long as you understand that they have a left and right thread. They are easy to use I.e. the pedal hangs conveniently so the shoe quickly locks in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chester

Standard

Posted20 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Purchased for winter bike, price matched by Evans - happy customer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Decent pedal

Posted11 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: nose down attitude
These are my first clip on pedals and do their job well.
The only gripe I have is the part where you clip in is made of plastic and this gives the pedal a tendancy to dangle nose down, this makes it awkward to clip in at times.
Hence the three stars.
Can't argue the price though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cambridge

Great first cleats

Posted13 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Easy to fit once old pedals removed (shop offered to do this gratis - nice one Evans!) Then on with new shoes and away - work well, comfortable in use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Macclesfield

Well designed

Posted12 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, adjustable
Bought these with my first road bike. Was a little apprehensive of using clip-in pedals for the first time but this was soon relieved. The pedals are adjustable so you can change how much effort is required to unclip, I have found them straight forward to get out of quickly considering I am a novice with this kind of pedal. They are designed to hang in a position where they are easy to get into, admittedly this took me a little time to nail but it's quite clever how they're always in the right place for you, plus they look good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Good value

Posted10 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These are my first road pedals so can only compare with mtb spd's. These are lighter, feel solid and spin well. They come with cleats so they are good value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:London Bridge

Posted29 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Good pedals that work well. I got the white version though and they do mark quickly so get a darker colour if that's something that would bother you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid pedal

Posted10 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Looks great, solid
I use them on my fixed gear bike and they pull really well. Easy to get in to and light enough to not be pain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

a great pedal, nice and simple, great price.

Posted31 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I've only ever had this model/brand of pedal this being my 2nd set to match the colour of my new bike.
they are easy to use and a great price to match. why pay more?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:Victoria

Posted22 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good intro level pedal. Recommend buying for aforesaid purpose/use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:York

Easy to fit, easy to use. Entirely happy!

Posted18 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Purchased these from Evans York after great advice. Entirely happy with the look and feel of these pedals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Functional

Posted01 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
These pedals were easy to fit and set up. Great for entry level.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Great pedal for beginners!

Posted28 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality
This was value for money. I price matched it with one from Halfords and Evans gladly equalled the price.
The pedal itself was easy to put on. I went on a 600km ride the following day for a weeks cycle from Paris to Amsterdam. It was easy to clip in and out.
There was a bit of wear and tear on the black paint by the end of the cycle but it looked used afterwards. Survived the wear and tear of a beginner!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>