Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals

Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals

Overall rating:
4.513 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(345 reviews) 344
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 345 reviews
5 Stars
190
4 Stars
144
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
341 out of 345Would you recommend this product to a friend?99%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
35 Questions | 153 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Introduction to clip-less peddles

Posted02 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a great set of pedals easy to fit to your bike, and come complete with cleats, the pedals are easily adjusted so you can maximize/minimize lateral movement, before I used them for the first time I sat on my stationary bike and just clipped in and out about 10 times each side just to get use to the feel of releasing myself from the pedals. On the road they feel great, all the security of clips but none of the bulk and discomfort.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works well

Posted17 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Pedals work well. I prefer these to the SPD mountain bike pedals as they give you a more pedal to attach to. Used to have the cheaper version of these pedals - have to admit I can't really tell the difference.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Great value for money

Posted06 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
A great starter pedal for making the transition to SPD pedals...
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert

good value

Posted03 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Does everything you need and better than MTB style SPDs if you don't need to walk in them. Very similar in performance to my old and more expensive Look pedals, but possibly a bit lighter.
If only replacement cleats were equally well priced...
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Manchester
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

R540 SPD SL Pedals

Posted17 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I looked around for a pair of SPD pedals for my retro road bike. I have had the bike for 25 years and was looking for some SPD Pedals to take me into the 21st Century.
Once the pedals arrived, with prompt speedy delivery, I set about attaching them to my bike, removing the old pedals was done and the new SPDs were a breeze to fit. The cleats which came with the pedals fitted, I was ready to roll (after a little practice clicking out -on turbo!) I set out with my sons. They expected me to fall off at some point but the pedals were great, easy to clip in and out as we navigated the route.
I would highly recommend these as a very good entry level SPD pedal to anyone taking the plunge
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:Victoria

Posted22 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good intro level pedal. Recommend buying for aforesaid purpose/use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:York

Easy to fit, easy to use. Entirely happy!

Posted18 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Purchased these from Evans York after great advice. Entirely happy with the look and feel of these pedals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Functional

Posted01 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
These pedals were easy to fit and set up. Great for entry level.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Great pedal for beginners!

Posted28 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality
This was value for money. I price matched it with one from Halfords and Evans gladly equalled the price.
The pedal itself was easy to put on. I went on a 600km ride the following day for a weeks cycle from Paris to Amsterdam. It was easy to clip in and out.
There was a bit of wear and tear on the black paint by the end of the cycle but it looked used afterwards. Survived the wear and tear of a beginner!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Superb entry level product for my price bracket

Posted16 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Excellent pedals, easy to use straight from the box and with the in-store purchase matching the on-line sale price, they were extremely good value for money.
The supplied cleats fitted neatly to my shoes and I was off very quickly as a 'clip in' novice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Looks good but can be a pain!

Posted09 June 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Bought these (came with cleats) off the back of reviews....Looks good and when clipped in feels good...clipping out is easy too, twist foot away from frame etc.....however....I have a big gripe if you are the commuter, FAR too many times (setting off from lights on a hill) have i tried to engage the pedal...thinking I was about to snap in only for my foot to skip forwards off the pedal because it had "hung" backwards. Cue squeaky bum time nearly falling off into oncoming traffic...get used to pedalling with one foot if you go for these!!!!! I have now gone for the Speedplay "lollipop" type and love those but much more £££!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Great pedals

Posted13 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Good light pedals for the price and easy to get to grips with for my son
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Great value for money.

Posted06 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Great value for money, works well with my Shimano shoes, no complaints.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

pleased with the item

Posted29 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Had clip in before and these are Totley different and found them easy to set up as I have hip problem. Found the cleats easy to adjust on the shoes to make cycling much more fun for me thank you shimano
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Starter cleat pedals

Posted29 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
great all rounder and first cleat pedal set up. Having ridden SPD's on mountain bikes for years found these a doddle to set up and use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

basic pedal

Posted23 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
Perfect for winter bike, only twice the cost of a pair of cleats! And you get a pair of cleats with the pedals...someone's making a lot from cleats!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidstone

Great Value

Posted17 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Truely a bomb proof bit of kit for the money, would high recommend for those who want VFM.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Perfect for a beginner

Posted25 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
I am only just starting out in cycling but these have been very easy to use and get used to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Holborn

Simple to use no nonsense pedals

Posted01 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Got roped into buying clip-in pedals and shoes by my keeno cycling buddies and I'm not disappointed. Great value pedals, don't see the need to spend more, easy clip in and out motion (only fell over twice on my first ride, more down to slow reaction times than anything else).
You get used to the pedals and shoes very quickly and they really do make a difference, especially on those mammoth hill climbs!
Really happy with my purchase and I hope to make use of them for some time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Do the job

Posted21 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Comfortable to ride with. Sometimes not the easiest to clip into (seem to be upside down a lot of the time), but that might just be me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>