Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals

Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals

Overall rating:
4.511 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(327 reviews) 326
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 327 reviews
5 Stars
180
4 Stars
136
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
324 out of 327(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
35 Questions | 151 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vidall
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Introduction to clip-less peddles

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a great set of pedals easy to fit to your bike, and come complete with cleats, the pedals are easily adjusted so you can maximize/minimize lateral movement, before I used them for the first time I sat on my stationary bike and just clipped in and out about 10 times each side just to get use to the feel of releasing myself from the pedals. On the road they feel great, all the security of clips but none of the bulk and discomfort.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DC36
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works well

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Pedals work well. I prefer these to the SPD mountain bike pedals as they give you a more pedal to attach to. Used to have the cheaper version of these pedals - have to admit I can't really tell the difference.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jimbob84
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Great value for money

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
A great starter pedal for making the transition to SPD pedals...
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
xcwhippet
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert

good value

PostedMay 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Does everything you need and better than MTB style SPDs if you don't need to walk in them. Very similar in performance to my old and more expensive Look pedals, but possibly a bit lighter.
If only replacement cleats were equally well priced...
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shimano600
from Manchester
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

R540 SPD SL Pedals

PostedMarch 17, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I looked around for a pair of SPD pedals for my retro road bike. I have had the bike for 25 years and was looking for some SPD Pedals to take me into the 21st Century.
Once the pedals arrived, with prompt speedy delivery, I set about attaching them to my bike, removing the old pedals was done and the new SPDs were a breeze to fit. The cleats which came with the pedals fitted, I was ready to roll (after a little practice clicking out -on turbo!) I set out with my sons. They expected me to fall off at some point but the pedals were great, easy to clip in and out as we navigated the route.
I would highly recommend these as a very good entry level SPD pedal to anyone taking the plunge
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JonD08

Excellent entry level pedal

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This is a great entry level/basic road pedal. For those starting out with clipless pedals this is a good choice to learn the craft! I have these pedals on my winter steel bike as well as my summer carbon bike and they never let me down.
One tip keep your cleats in good condition or replace regularly to get the most out of these pedals, and I assume other clipless pedals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
RG123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Not the easiest to clip in and out

PostedAugust 14, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: good to start with
Cons: Poor quality
Not the easiest to clip in and out, tends to spin ALOT. However good for a beginner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kel77
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Love these pedals

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Easy to clip in and out of. Great value for money :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mrmaginty
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chalk Farm

Great road pedals

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
A great road pedal I paired them with Specialized Sport road shoe
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yozzer1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
First time I ever used these pedals and they seem fine
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Simmo44
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Good entry level pedal

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Bought these as my 1st set of clip in pedals, good value for money, easy to fit. A good starter clip in pedal, very pleased with the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
andrelr2001
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Value for Money

PostedJune 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Does what is written on the tin. Easy to install and the manual is easy to understand. Happy choice
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrKebab
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

1st Clips

PostedJune 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
1st attempt at using clips, so I went for the entry level ones. So far no problems
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coolerrex
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Love them

PostedMay 31, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Thought I was going to struggle with them after a friend hated them, I used MB peddles on my commute bike being double-sided there very easy to clipped In, but I like these slightly tricker to clip in, bot once in the platform is so much better highly recommended, won't go from standard peddles to these though, try SPD's first.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Langster2011
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well made

PostedMay 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Great pedals, took a while to get used to only being single sided but they feel firm and reliable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HannahCora
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

good value

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Those pedals are really good value for what they are.They look good, and feel good as well and all that for a decent price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SurreyChick
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Woking

Good started clip

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, easy to use
A nice starter spd, fairly easy to get the hang of and have ridden over 100km without falling off yet - easy to release
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GavTee

Do the job!

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
These were my first cleat pedals so I have nothing to compare to, but they seem to do the job just fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cole3110
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Exactly what I was looking for

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I am new to clip in pedals so although I have nothing to compare these to they are exactly what I was looking for. They are very easy to clip in and get off when coming up to a junction. They have not fell off when I didn't want them too and I found them very easy to fit with no hassle. Overall, perfect for what I was looking for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
krysten
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

great product

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
great product,looks nice,easy to use for first timers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>