Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals

Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals

Overall rating:
4.512 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(332 reviews) 331
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 332 reviews
5 Stars
183
4 Stars
138
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
329 out of 332(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
35 Questions | 152 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vidall
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Introduction to clip-less peddles

Posted02 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a great set of pedals easy to fit to your bike, and come complete with cleats, the pedals are easily adjusted so you can maximize/minimize lateral movement, before I used them for the first time I sat on my stationary bike and just clipped in and out about 10 times each side just to get use to the feel of releasing myself from the pedals. On the road they feel great, all the security of clips but none of the bulk and discomfort.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DC36
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works well

Posted17 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Pedals work well. I prefer these to the SPD mountain bike pedals as they give you a more pedal to attach to. Used to have the cheaper version of these pedals - have to admit I can't really tell the difference.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jimbob84
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Great value for money

Posted06 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
A great starter pedal for making the transition to SPD pedals...
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
xcwhippet
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert

good value

Posted03 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Does everything you need and better than MTB style SPDs if you don't need to walk in them. Very similar in performance to my old and more expensive Look pedals, but possibly a bit lighter.
If only replacement cleats were equally well priced...
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shimano600
from Manchester
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

R540 SPD SL Pedals

Posted17 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I looked around for a pair of SPD pedals for my retro road bike. I have had the bike for 25 years and was looking for some SPD Pedals to take me into the 21st Century.
Once the pedals arrived, with prompt speedy delivery, I set about attaching them to my bike, removing the old pedals was done and the new SPDs were a breeze to fit. The cleats which came with the pedals fitted, I was ready to roll (after a little practice clicking out -on turbo!) I set out with my sons. They expected me to fall off at some point but the pedals were great, easy to clip in and out as we navigated the route.
I would highly recommend these as a very good entry level SPD pedal to anyone taking the plunge
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hsmith27
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Holborn

Simple to use no nonsense pedals

Posted01 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Got roped into buying clip-in pedals and shoes by my keeno cycling buddies and I'm not disappointed. Great value pedals, don't see the need to spend more, easy clip in and out motion (only fell over twice on my first ride, more down to slow reaction times than anything else).
You get used to the pedals and shoes very quickly and they really do make a difference, especially on those mammoth hill climbs!
Really happy with my purchase and I hope to make use of them for some time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
prh01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Do the job

Posted21 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Comfortable to ride with. Sometimes not the easiest to clip into (seem to be upside down a lot of the time), but that might just be me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1Craig
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Brilliant

Posted05 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Fantastic. Sturdy lightweight stylish pedals that keep you clipped in and are also very easy to get out of when required.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
alwhit
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great pedals

Posted30 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Just the best pedals for the money, plus price match
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ray2410
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Posted15 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought these pedals at the same time as Specialized cycling shoes . Easy to clip into and twist out of, only took five minutes to get used to
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JonD08

Excellent entry level pedal

Posted09 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This is a great entry level/basic road pedal. For those starting out with clipless pedals this is a good choice to learn the craft! I have these pedals on my winter steel bike as well as my summer carbon bike and they never let me down.
One tip keep your cleats in good condition or replace regularly to get the most out of these pedals, and I assume other clipless pedals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
RG123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Not the easiest to clip in and out

Posted14 August 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: good to start with
Cons: Poor quality
Not the easiest to clip in and out, tends to spin ALOT. However good for a beginner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kel77
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Love these pedals

Posted10 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Easy to clip in and out of. Great value for money :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mrmaginty
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chalk Farm

Great road pedals

Posted03 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
A great road pedal I paired them with Specialized Sport road shoe
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yozzer1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Posted25 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
First time I ever used these pedals and they seem fine
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Simmo44
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Good entry level pedal

Posted22 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Bought these as my 1st set of clip in pedals, good value for money, easy to fit. A good starter clip in pedal, very pleased with the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
andrelr2001
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Value for Money

Posted29 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Does what is written on the tin. Easy to install and the manual is easy to understand. Happy choice
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrKebab
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

1st Clips

Posted03 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
1st attempt at using clips, so I went for the entry level ones. So far no problems
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coolerrex
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Love them

Posted31 May 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Thought I was going to struggle with them after a friend hated them, I used MB peddles on my commute bike being double-sided there very easy to clipped In, but I like these slightly tricker to clip in, bot once in the platform is so much better highly recommended, won't go from standard peddles to these though, try SPD's first.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Langster2011
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well made

Posted28 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Great pedals, took a while to get used to only being single sided but they feel firm and reliable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>