Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals

Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals

Overall rating:
4.516 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(339 reviews) 338
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 339 reviews
5 Stars
188
4 Stars
140
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
336 out of 339Would you recommend this product to a friend?99%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
35 Questions | 153 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vidall
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Introduction to clip-less peddles

Posted02 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a great set of pedals easy to fit to your bike, and come complete with cleats, the pedals are easily adjusted so you can maximize/minimize lateral movement, before I used them for the first time I sat on my stationary bike and just clipped in and out about 10 times each side just to get use to the feel of releasing myself from the pedals. On the road they feel great, all the security of clips but none of the bulk and discomfort.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DC36
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works well

Posted17 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Pedals work well. I prefer these to the SPD mountain bike pedals as they give you a more pedal to attach to. Used to have the cheaper version of these pedals - have to admit I can't really tell the difference.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jimbob84
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Great value for money

Posted06 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
A great starter pedal for making the transition to SPD pedals...
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
xcwhippet
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert

good value

Posted03 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Does everything you need and better than MTB style SPDs if you don't need to walk in them. Very similar in performance to my old and more expensive Look pedals, but possibly a bit lighter.
If only replacement cleats were equally well priced...
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shimano600
from Manchester
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

R540 SPD SL Pedals

Posted17 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I looked around for a pair of SPD pedals for my retro road bike. I have had the bike for 25 years and was looking for some SPD Pedals to take me into the 21st Century.
Once the pedals arrived, with prompt speedy delivery, I set about attaching them to my bike, removing the old pedals was done and the new SPDs were a breeze to fit. The cleats which came with the pedals fitted, I was ready to roll (after a little practice clicking out -on turbo!) I set out with my sons. They expected me to fall off at some point but the pedals were great, easy to clip in and out as we navigated the route.
I would highly recommend these as a very good entry level SPD pedal to anyone taking the plunge
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
inthemountains
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Great pedals

Posted13 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Good light pedals for the price and easy to get to grips with for my son
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dougster
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Great value for money.

Posted06 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Great value for money, works well with my Shimano shoes, no complaints.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

pleased with the item

Posted29 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Had clip in before and these are Totley different and found them easy to set up as I have hip problem. Found the cleats easy to adjust on the shoes to make cycling much more fun for me thank you shimano
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nicked999
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Starter cleat pedals

Posted29 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
great all rounder and first cleat pedal set up. Having ridden SPD's on mountain bikes for years found these a doddle to set up and use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nhoy1234
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

basic pedal

Posted23 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
Perfect for winter bike, only twice the cost of a pair of cleats! And you get a pair of cleats with the pedals...someone's making a lot from cleats!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fosse45
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidstone

Great Value

Posted17 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Truely a bomb proof bit of kit for the money, would high recommend for those who want VFM.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
matt01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Perfect for a beginner

Posted25 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
I am only just starting out in cycling but these have been very easy to use and get used to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hsmith27
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Holborn

Simple to use no nonsense pedals

Posted01 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Got roped into buying clip-in pedals and shoes by my keeno cycling buddies and I'm not disappointed. Great value pedals, don't see the need to spend more, easy clip in and out motion (only fell over twice on my first ride, more down to slow reaction times than anything else).
You get used to the pedals and shoes very quickly and they really do make a difference, especially on those mammoth hill climbs!
Really happy with my purchase and I hope to make use of them for some time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
prh01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Do the job

Posted21 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Comfortable to ride with. Sometimes not the easiest to clip into (seem to be upside down a lot of the time), but that might just be me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1Craig
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Brilliant

Posted05 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Fantastic. Sturdy lightweight stylish pedals that keep you clipped in and are also very easy to get out of when required.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
alwhit
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great pedals

Posted30 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Just the best pedals for the money, plus price match
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ray2410
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Posted15 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought these pedals at the same time as Specialized cycling shoes . Easy to clip into and twist out of, only took five minutes to get used to
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JonD08

Excellent entry level pedal

Posted09 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This is a great entry level/basic road pedal. For those starting out with clipless pedals this is a good choice to learn the craft! I have these pedals on my winter steel bike as well as my summer carbon bike and they never let me down.
One tip keep your cleats in good condition or replace regularly to get the most out of these pedals, and I assume other clipless pedals.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
RG123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Not the easiest to clip in and out

Posted14 August 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: good to start with
Cons: Poor quality
Not the easiest to clip in and out, tends to spin ALOT. However good for a beginner.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kel77
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Love these pedals

Posted10 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Easy to clip in and out of. Great value for money :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>