Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock

Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock

Overall rating:
2.972 / 5
3
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
4
1 Star
11
19 out of 36(53%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Review 1 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gunwitch
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Another outstanding Lock by Kryptonite

Posted28 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Bought this a replacement for a damaged cheapo cable lock. Decided to stick with Kryptonite as i already own a d-lock by them.
Plenty of length to get through the frame and both wheels, a nice chunky lock housing and robust cable incased in a bendy plastic outer.
The frame fitting is a bit bulky and finding a place "out the way" on a full sus bike proved interesting. However, i bung this in a bag instead of putting it on the bike.
Comes with the usual Key Code that allows you to register your keys on the Kryponite website and get spares should you lose the originals. However, if you lose both while your bike is locked up, you're pretty screwed unless you carry a huge pair of bolt croppers.
Price was nice aswell for a lock of this standard
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
reddy27
Country:Finland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Some issues...

Posted05 September 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: lock issues
I bought this lock for my 11 year old daughter. The problem is that the given keys are really hard to remove from the lock. Kids these days have no nerves for that kind of yanking. ;-)
Otherwise the lock looks and feels like it should.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
dmag
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Key snapped

Posted05 September 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive
The actual lock fixture and lock are very strong, however the key has the properties of butter and snapped in the lock after the second use. Had to leave the bike where it was while i went to retrieve the spare and some pliers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
MyBikeIsGone

Bike stolen

Posted19 August 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, unsecure, doesn't stop thiefs
This lock is not secure enough, my bike was stolen during the day. Completely useless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hagen13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted12 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Good quality budget lock, feels strong & is easily fitted to the bike using the supplied mounting bracket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Com3
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Very strong

Posted17 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Just what I needed to secure my bike to a bike rack.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Petergem
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

An entirely satisfactory Key Cable Lock

Posted12 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I feel confident that I can now leave my brand new electric bike in public places without fear of it being stolen.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
OW25

Secondary Lock Only

Posted30 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
This lock should not be used as your primary lock - only as a secondary lock. My bike was stolen the first time I used it as I did not compliment it with a more heavy duty 'D' lock.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ches

Light but maybe too light

Posted06 October 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
This may not be an effective deterrent as it is very light and does not feel strong enough. I initially wanted a lock that was compact and unobtrusive. For the same price you could get a D lock which feels more solid. I returned mine and got exactly that. The better piece of mind is worth the switch. I also just attach the D lock flat on the back rack fastened with a bungee cord instead of using the mount provided. Works well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crawfy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

Good value for money

Posted09 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I had just purchaced my new bicycle from Evans Woking and needed a lock. After a discussion with the assistant, I went for the Kriptonite. Fitting kit was very easy and works well, just look out for the recoil when takeing it off the bike as you can chip the paintwork on your pride and joy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Cracking

Posted04 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
No one can steel my bike now because its locked to a post in the street. Lubbly Jubbly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rob1006
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Good with limitations

Posted28 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Bought this purely to wrap around two bikes and provide a 'nuisance value' to anybody trying to steal one of them in the dark.
Does that job pretty well I feel, not really one for securing your bike outside whilst you pop into the shops but for under £30 you couldnt really expect that.
in all for wrapping around two bikes a couple of times it works well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
lb899
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Useless

Posted11 December 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Heavy
Completely rusted/seized up within two weeks of purchase rendering it completely useless. Impossible to turn the key.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Megamoha

Easy to use, but easy to steal

Posted03 May 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Cons: easily stealable
What I liked about this lock was that it enabled me to carry a goood length cable in a compact neat assembly.Will deter the casual theif and is certainly better than nothing.
The trouble was that this was no deterant to the dedicated bike thief who managed to steal the bike and cable in a very short time.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
carty1976
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Don't buy

Posted24 April 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Left bike with this lock to a secure solid iron gate. Within a hour the bike was gone. The thiefs cut through the lock like slicing cheese with a hot knife. Originally chose this as the length of cable was perfect to secure to various objects. Have since bought the Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock. Already feel its better.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ditch
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good basic lock

Posted23 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Cable lock, bought to replace previous one (in which my key snapped)
Not sure how well it'd deter a determined thief, but works for normal use. Comes with a holder that affixes to bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MikeyBrownBear
from Surrey
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sturdy lock, tricky to fit

Posted02 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
As said above, it is a sturdy lock that does the job as it is long enough to easily fit round the rear wheel through the forks and to the railings.
The bracket is tricky to fit but not impossible by any means.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Slice73
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male

Back to being a pedestrian

Posted06 June 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, easy to cut through
A few days ago I left my bike for under an hour, needless to day the bike was gone and so was the lock. I wish I had read these reviews first. And for the ones that gave it 5 stars......lets just hope they don't have the mis-fortune that a few of us have had.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Mikeje
from London
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Looks good but doesn't live up to its looks

Posted12 May 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: not strong enough for the modern thief
My bike lasted just minutes outside On Your Bike in London bridge.
And a nice gentleman came up to me and told me that he had seen someone with a bolt cutter slice through the cable and drive off. "Like cutting a piece of string" was his comment. Left me an old bike in its place.
By all means buy yourself one of these to secure wheels and frame together but buy something else really beefy to secure the frame to something fixed.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
papapaul
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular

Lock mountable to frame

Posted03 May 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: probably not the very safest
Have been using this lock for a few weeks now and my bike's still here, so I suppose it is safe enough. My bike is brand new and shiny, but I have always stored it in a relatively secure place. I use the lock to attach my frame and front wheel to the bike rack.
The lock doesn't feel like its the top of the bill. In a crowded city or with an expensive racing bike I would use another lock. However, it is light, it mounts to the bike frame and it is easy to take out. In the end for me it just helps making it just that bit more difficult to steal my bike.
The most difficult thing was to install the bracket. I went to the Evans store to have one of the guys there do it for me because it needed really much force and I didn't want to break it myself. Now it's installed and I use it every day with the greatest convenience.
An alternative might be a small steel shackle lock together with a cable, but then you need a place to store the cable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>