Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock

Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock

Overall rating:
3.068 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
4
1 Star
13
25 out of 44Would you recommend this product to a friend?57%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Review 1 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ashsmithco
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Great lock for a club run around

Posted06 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
I bought this lock for club rides, just to lock it up at a cafe. It works perfectly, it's easy to wind back up and attach to the bike. Very straight forward
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
neolestat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Stolen!

Posted01 May 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: insecure
Rode to Islington, chained bike to a lampost in front of about 20 people outside smoking. Checked on bike. There. Had a 5 minute conversation with someone else, went out for a cigarette myself and the bike and lock had gone. Not one of the smokers noticed it being stolen so it must've been a really easy unobvious method. Never again... Buying two Gold Rated locks of two different types for the next bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scott60
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Lighter to carry than a D lock

Posted18 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: less secure than a d lock
In the end all security is a compromise. The recommended D lock is fearsomely heavy to carry all the time so I opted for this product instead. It seems pretty solid to me. I think it might take quite a while to hacksaw through it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
FunandPaine
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

It is what is.

Posted25 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Unattractive
Does Says Tin.
Since conceding to buy a lock, I've learned how much I dislike unwinding springy cable every time I want to go into a shop (in London this is). It's a downer on an otherwise happy activity. Heavy twitsty thing it is.
But necessary huh.
The sportier (but not advisable) alternative is to carry a more versatile, heavy metal object in a pocket just in case I end up chasing a thief, having not locked my bike to the ground.
I took my bike into a post office locally, a big one with dirty carpet and no food stuffs - and yes my bike was clean at the time. One of the humans behind the glass told me to get the bike out of the shop. We agreed there were no signs on the door to that effect, but he assured me it was obvious, saying "you wouldn't drive a car in here would you?"!!!
(No. I did not smash through any doors when entering the PO.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jane84
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Bristol

Not too heavy but feels safe

Posted24 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good quality. Makes me feel my bike's secure. Would be difficult to cut.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GSX750f
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Good sturdy lock which.....

Posted27 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Is long enough to secure 2 bikes to the carrier on the car and to various heavy/fixed object when out and about. A good balance of security V weight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pmorrison
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Good sturdy lock at a good price

Posted04 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
This lock feels nice and strong, and is great value. However, the square-end pin that goes into the lock will not always be loose and thus the life span for the lock is not very long.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
2001man

Waste of money

Posted22 December 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
The key to the lock stopped working after using it twice, I had to actually hacksaw it off my bike, I would never recommend this product to anyone
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gunwitch
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Another outstanding Lock by Kryptonite

Posted28 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Bought this a replacement for a damaged cheapo cable lock. Decided to stick with Kryptonite as i already own a d-lock by them.
Plenty of length to get through the frame and both wheels, a nice chunky lock housing and robust cable incased in a bendy plastic outer.
The frame fitting is a bit bulky and finding a place "out the way" on a full sus bike proved interesting. However, i bung this in a bag instead of putting it on the bike.
Comes with the usual Key Code that allows you to register your keys on the Kryponite website and get spares should you lose the originals. However, if you lose both while your bike is locked up, you're pretty screwed unless you carry a huge pair of bolt croppers.
Price was nice aswell for a lock of this standard
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
reddy27
Country:Finland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Some issues...

Posted05 September 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: lock issues
I bought this lock for my 11 year old daughter. The problem is that the given keys are really hard to remove from the lock. Kids these days have no nerves for that kind of yanking. ;-)
Otherwise the lock looks and feels like it should.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
dmag
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Key snapped

Posted05 September 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive
The actual lock fixture and lock are very strong, however the key has the properties of butter and snapped in the lock after the second use. Had to leave the bike where it was while i went to retrieve the spare and some pliers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
MyBikeIsGone

Bike stolen

Posted19 August 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, unsecure, doesn't stop thiefs
This lock is not secure enough, my bike was stolen during the day. Completely useless.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hagen13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted12 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Good quality budget lock, feels strong & is easily fitted to the bike using the supplied mounting bracket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Com3
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Very strong

Posted17 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Just what I needed to secure my bike to a bike rack.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Petergem
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

An entirely satisfactory Key Cable Lock

Posted12 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I feel confident that I can now leave my brand new electric bike in public places without fear of it being stolen.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
OW25

Secondary Lock Only

Posted30 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
This lock should not be used as your primary lock - only as a secondary lock. My bike was stolen the first time I used it as I did not compliment it with a more heavy duty 'D' lock.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ches

Light but maybe too light

Posted06 October 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
This may not be an effective deterrent as it is very light and does not feel strong enough. I initially wanted a lock that was compact and unobtrusive. For the same price you could get a D lock which feels more solid. I returned mine and got exactly that. The better piece of mind is worth the switch. I also just attach the D lock flat on the back rack fastened with a bungee cord instead of using the mount provided. Works well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crawfy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

Good value for money

Posted09 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I had just purchaced my new bicycle from Evans Woking and needed a lock. After a discussion with the assistant, I went for the Kriptonite. Fitting kit was very easy and works well, just look out for the recoil when takeing it off the bike as you can chip the paintwork on your pride and joy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Cracking

Posted04 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
No one can steel my bike now because its locked to a post in the street. Lubbly Jubbly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rob1006
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Good with limitations

Posted28 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Bought this purely to wrap around two bikes and provide a 'nuisance value' to anybody trying to steal one of them in the dark.
Does that job pretty well I feel, not really one for securing your bike outside whilst you pop into the shops but for under £30 you couldnt really expect that.
in all for wrapping around two bikes a couple of times it works well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>