Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket

Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket

Overall rating:
4.446 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 56 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
53 out of 56(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Review 1 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cyclingmadison
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This lock really seems reliable, yet it is bit heavier than I expected. Definitely worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paul06
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

good strong lock, easy to use

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
good strong lock, easy to use, keys work well unlike some others which are stiff, only used for a few weeks though. like all locks at the end of the day its only a deterrent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dutts
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tin

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
From what I can tell this seems to do a decent job, I was going to get the New York but this one is still gold rated so I didn't see any reason for the extra outlay. It does weigh a fair bit though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheAsp
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Rock solid, won't use anything else

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Expensive, but worth every penny. Probably the best deterrent out there. A must if purchasing a new bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spaniard
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Superb quality and a sturdy bike protector

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, bike bracket, key registration
Cons: Expensive
Easy to fit bike bracket makes carrying this great lock simple. Lock mechanism is easy to operate and has a sliding cover over the key hole. The build quality is to a very high standard and feels extremely robust and made to last the bad winter years.
Yes its expensive but well worth it for the keeping scummy bike thieves from taking your pride and joy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Palmer1888
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Great lock but.......

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Great lock which is near impossible to get into so deters those opportunist thieves but the only negative comment would be that sometimes the lock sticks and the key won't turn. 20 minutes it took me to open the lock on one occasion!
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GRawson
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Mighty lock with mighty lock cons.

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy, difficult to mount on bike.
Having recently experienced the down side to cheeper cable locks, I bought this to protect my new bike. It is quite a unit, very heavy, very solid. The U section is a nice size but the orange bar is where the weight is. It feels safe. The workings are not exposed and there is a key hole cover to prevent rusting. You are provided with 3 keys, all substantial too.
The main down side it the frame clamp - it's large (probably needs to be!) and means that the lock won't fit inside my frame on the clamp, it would if the clamp were half it's size. So I have it slightly twisted so that the lock is parallel to the frame. It's not ideal, but it's the best solution. The clamp is strong and more importantly, does not rattle! Good price for a top lock, but comes with a couple of down sides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Matt888
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bike has not been stolen yet!

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
It's hard to review a product that has never knowingly been tested for me by a would-be thief. This bike lock has a gold security rating and the Kryptonite range have had a good reputation for many years, so that is why this lock was purchased. If the bike is still in situ when you return you assume that's because no-one has tried to steal it. It's heavy and not cheap but better than risking the bike with some cheap and lightweight (equals flimsy) lock. It is covered with thick plastic or rubber to protect it from the weather and to protect the bike from knocks and comes with three keys, so should always be possible to unlock even if you're really careless with your keys. Also comes with a bracket to store the lock on the bike frame when the bike is being ridden but not all frames have space and it's just as easy to throw the lock into a rucksack when riding to the shops but leave it at home when going for a proper ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
DenC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Safe but cumbersome

PostedOctober 4, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, not versatile
For a lock safety is paramount, but for cyclist, it also needs to be convenient.
Although it comes with a clever mount transportation bracket, I often find it hard to remove it from the bracket.
Also I found that I can't put the lock around some bike rails or even around the frame and wheels as it's too short.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TwyfordAdamant
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid as a rock.

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
A very substantial security addition, with the added benefit of three keys.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
laidbackrider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good lock

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
A strong, well made, attractive D lock. I have used this as a primary lock for a few years and its done all that was expected of it. Competitively priced too...bit of a bargain for the quality.
The mounting bracket is a waste of time, I store the lock in a pannier or rack bag.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chris18
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very secure

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A great lock that isn't to heavy to carry either,it was carried around on a cycling holiday every day, the keys worked perfectly in the lock, would definitely recommend this lock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
philby2001
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Great lock

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Solid, well made lock, and accepted by my insurance company :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TeebsMB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A good lock

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, insurance standard
Cons: can scratch
It's a good lock, although the mounting bracket isn't coated metal so be careful not to scratch your frame when locking up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fairtradecoco
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

VERY VERY STRONG

PostedJune 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Unattractive
Great derteriont to thefts, really bright and large so they can see it instantly. straps straight on to frame and easy to apply the lock.
Pros
Big, strong, easy to carry and durable
Cons
Heavy, ruins look of bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SuperShik0
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Rathbone Place

Secure and reliable

PostedJune 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Very good lock, a bit heavy but you've got to have a heavy one if you want to feel confortable with leaving your bike somewhere.
Comes with 3 keys including an LED light imbedded in one of the them, frame mount is alright. I recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SSpeed
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Secure and reliable

PostedMay 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
One of the few locks I'm comfortable leaving my bike with in London. Although heavy it has a decent sized 'D' for securing a frame or wheel.
Comes with 3 keys including an LED light imbedded in one of the them for finding the keyhole in the dark.
Frame mount is decent but not great quality, with the weight of the lock it can rattle if not fitted correctly.
Would buy again if needed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
stevepm
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Secure but noisy

PostedMay 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Absolutely no complaints with how secure the lock feels. I have no fear of anyone picking the lock as even with the key it is quite temperamental and takes a couple of attempts. When the lock is clipped into the bracket cycling even over smooth roads leads to a very loud rattle.
It has it's flaws but I'd still recommend it.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wintergreen
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Gold secure at silver price

PostedMay 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Good quality lock, Its quite heavy but I guess that's the price of security.
The staff were knowledgeable and very helpful as I wasn't sure which lock would be best.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Foodhoover
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good lock well coated to avoid scratching your fra

PostedApril 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Decent lock but the frame mount is difficult to fit and ungainly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>