Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket

Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket

Overall rating:
4.442 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(77 reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 77 reviews
5 Stars
44
4 Stars
27
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
4
1 Star
0
72 out of 77Would you recommend this product to a friend?94%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Review 1 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted06 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This lock really seems reliable, yet it is bit heavier than I expected. Definitely worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

so far, so good :)

Posted30 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
the product is quite heavy, but there's always a compromise between weight and performance...
I've used it for 2 weeks now, and so far my bike is still intact! A great feature which I did not know about is the insurance included with the lock: Kryptonite will refund up to £1000 if you can proof that the thieves broke the lock. But remember to register within the first 2 weeks of purchasing the lock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Its Solid

Posted24 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Theifs would have to really bend their back before breaking it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Neat product

Posted12 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality
Still have the bike so it must be good!
Gives you some reassurance, fixes to the bike really well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Kingston

Good lock

Posted27 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Just what I needed. As I have a step through frame the bracket for the bike could not be fitted, so I have to keep the lock in my pannier.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Great lock

Posted15 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Very happy with this product has kept my bike safe and secure in many different places.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Sturdy lock, fiddly mount

Posted15 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Nice lock, slightly heavy but that comes with the security rating.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
It was bought:Brighton

1month in and having problems with opening it

Posted13 October 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Heavy, Uncomfortable, the metal attachment part scratches the paint work
Bought this lock with my new bike. I used to have an older version which I used for over 3 years. The first I noticed was the weight which I thought is in line with the security rating but obviously can be used to work out too. One month in I already have problems to open it. The shop said it is because where we live what is obviously not completely true as I had another one from the same brand and did not have peoblems with it till the end. The metal bit what gets attached to the holder what you can fasten to your frame is a good idea if you have a bike what accommodates it. Mine doesnt so its just ruining my paintwork. It is sharp and uncoated unlike the rest of the lock which is covered to be more gentle on the frame. Due to all this I would not recommend this product. It is very safe however could be executed much better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Heavy duty and secure

Posted30 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Not had this product long but it's a solid gold standard lock-doesn't feel like my bike will go anywhere locked up wit this. Far too heavy to carry around with (I cycle long distances for pleasure) so not sure if want to use this for committing-but for insurance cover this would be perfect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good lock

Posted27 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Big enough to get around a frame and two wheels. Good security rating for the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Great and intimidating lock.

Posted25 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, really sturdy
Cons: Heavy
I just bought this lock and I'm just gonna say that it's definetly worth the cost. It just feels really strong, sturdy and secure and the U bar is around 5mm thicker than my last D lock! And because it comes with the mount for your bike I can't tell the difference for weight (but then I do ride a moutain bike). And having the three keys and Kryptonite anti-theft programme make this a great lock and a great buy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Heavy but a high-quality lock

Posted14 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This is a decent, tough lock which fills me with confidence that nobody can steal my bike unless they get out the angle grinder.
It's heavy, so I just leave it at work and bought another for home. That said, on the few times I've traveled with it it's not *too* bad for short journeys.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:Chiswick

Great lock

Posted02 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Unattractive
This bike lock is very heavy and in the world of bike locks that's a good thing. Apparently it's resistant to the type of theft where they twist the bike to break the lock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:Cheltenham

Good sturdy lock

Posted04 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Decent lock a bit heavy but nobody has nicked my bike so far!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leicester

Quality lock.

Posted29 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Quality lock, smooth lock mech. It's heavy but that's the price you have to pay.
The frame strap mount isn't the best, I've drilled out the centre of the mount and used one of the existing water bottle mount holes on the frame instead.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

This lock meets the need of having my bike secured

Posted24 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
The lock is robust and gives me comfort that the bike will be secured when locked. It comes with a light on the key to allow you to find the keyhole in the dark. However, the light adds to the bulkiness of my set of keys so don't carry that particular key around with me. Instead I use one of the spare keys that comes without the light. The downside of this product is that the keys themselves are quite long and sharp. This can be uncomfortable when inside my pocket with other keys and the key has been punching holes in my pocket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Overall satisfied

Posted23 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Overall satisfied with the purchase. It is heavy, but it's a high security lock and functions really well so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great lock

Posted13 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This lock is strong and robust comes with 3 keys 1 has a light on it and also bracket to attach to bike good value for a tuff lock
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Only buy kryptonite!

Posted11 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I bought ome of these late 2014, excellent product but had a minor problem with the lock mechanism, I took it back and it was changed without question, I won't buy any other brand of lock again as these are strong durable and come with a bracket that actually holds the lock securely. highly recommend and I've given it 5 stars even thoigh I initially had a faulty one.
Thank you Kryptonite for a great lock and thank you Evans for great customer service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Great item

Posted05 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Great item, fits nicely on the bike when riding, would recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>