Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket

Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket

Overall rating:
4.447 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
36 out of 38(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Review 1 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cyclingmadison
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This lock really seems reliable, yet it is bit heavier than I expected. Definitely worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Foodhoover
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good lock well coated to avoid scratching your fra

PostedApril 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Decent lock but the frame mount is difficult to fit and ungainly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shaycycles
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Sold Secure Gold, protects paint, heavy

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is a good lock and protective covering is good for protecting your frame when locking the bike. I got a decent deal at Evans and didn't see any real benefit in going for the more expensive offerings.
Sold Secure Gold suggests it will be fairly effective but I don't really want to find out. In public plases I use two U-locks and a cable through the saddle to prevent that getting removed.
The colour makes the lock very obvious and should help to deter the less professional thieves and send them looking for an easier target.
The provision of three keys is good and one of them is equipped with a built in LED which is handy for unlocking in dark corners (even in a well lit parking area the keyhole when properly locked is often in shadow)
The only drawbacks to any strong lock are the weight and size to carry. I tend to find the lock too big to carry on my frame with a bracket as it gets in the way of bottles etc. However I use this on a bike that normally has panniers and always has a rack to which I can easily attach the lock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SWLondoncyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This seemed like the most competitively priced Gold sold secure lock at Evans. It is heavy, but then all good D Locks are. The bracket is pretty versatile and can fit to tubes that aren't round in a number of positions. I went for the shorter D Lock as the longer one wouldn't fit inside the triangle of my road bike's frame. I do get a lot of rattle as it bounces about hanging from the frame of my road bike but I guess that's to be expected with the state of London's roads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
ASISLIFE
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Good but not Great

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
Good price for this lock and probably no worse that many out there but a few things that, for me, are a drawback.
Due to small main triangle and a bottle cage I need to mount the lock on seat stays, the attachment mechanism is slightly bulky making clearance of leda//shoes slightly tricky.
Secondly I've had this about 10 days now and already the lock is starting to seize a bit. Also very sticky pulling it out of the housing. Admittedly a) I haven't given it any WD40 or similar and b) weather has been foul...but still not been very long
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MikeyCJ
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

Good secure lock, but large & slightly tricky fit

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
As you'd expect from Kypronite this is an excellent quality and secure lock. It isn't cheap but i think you get what you pay for.
This is the long version which is really useful for use out and about as it fits around poles and posts easily.
The extra length does though mean it doesn't fit inside the frame of most bikes (like my Trek Hybrid). It does fit neatly on a slight angle though so no major issue.
All in all a good lock and one i recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MJW2013
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:West End

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Does the job for securing my bike in central London.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
joeob
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Safe & Sound

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This lock was a little heavier than I expected, but is fine if you're carrying it with you into work or town.
Nice to have more than 1 key, and the light on the main key is neat.
I use this lock with an extention cable to secure front\back wheels and saddle - works a treat.
Having looked online - what's also great is the online support offered by Kryptonite - new keys\register keys\etc
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mal2612
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

first class product

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, versatile
This is a great product for the money . The spline ( or lug ) on the D-lock can be rotated 360 degrees and locked into whatever position is required with a grub screw . The bracket can be tightened onto the frame at whatever angle you want , i.e. it doen't have to be either in line with or at 90 degrees to the frame . The face of the bracket can also be rotated 360 degrees so the combination of these three factors means that you can mount this in exactly the right way to suit your bicycle . Well done , Kryptonite !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
olarge1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Great Lock

PostedMay 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Great lock, easy to use with a simple bracket for mounting onto the bike with. Bright lock section is obvious to mark out the security level of lock to deter thieves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ymalkov
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

All you need for a secure bike

PostedMay 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Second time around I've bought this lock and only because my previous bike was stolen by sawing through a lamp post (!) as they couldn't handle the lock itself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
filisiti0107

Padlock review

PostedApril 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Great product! Heavy but safe. I think it would have been better I could unlock the product before taking it out from the stand on the bike
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nina12
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Notting Hill

Great product

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
My only complaint is that sometimes the key is a bit sticky and it take a few times to unlock it, but part of this could be that it is brand new. I have only had it for 3 weeks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Edinsek
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Great Product

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality
This is one of those two in one packages in the market.You can register this lock on the brand website and you get a year insurance in form of anti theft offer.Very good product, not very heavy.Happy with it totally.Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
timko
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Highly useful product in a bike theft capital.

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: storage bracket
i have recently purchased Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket.
After my third bike had been stolen from a bike theft capital; Cambridge, I decided my new bike would have the best security possible.
I think that this purchase is an important part of that package, which also includes a smaller Kryptonite Evolution lock, bike registration and individualised locked wheel nut.
The lock has a very high security rating, fits round larger poles etc and stands out as a no nonsense lock. It is easy to use in cold weather.
The only disadvantage is the securing bracket which keeps the lock in place on the bike when the lock is not securing the bike.
The design of this element - complex to install, fiddley to maintain, lets down what is an extremely satisfying purchase. The smaller Kryptonite Evolution lock i use on the same bike had a simpler storage bracket. With the larger lock, i have improvised a way to attach it to my bike; just locking it to the bike itself and securing it with Velcro to stop it jumping when the bike is being used.
I would in spite of this question, recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
koll
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

heavy duty

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
would I recommend this? oh yes I would. This lock is heavy duty and perfect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Suz123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Very solid and good quality, looks good was quite impressed with it and it arrived on time as well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
thewednesday
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality Heavy Duty Lock

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
The lock is excellent quality.
The downsides I found are the size and weight:
The size is too big to fit in my frame (Specialized Sirrus Sport - size M). I thought it would just squeeze in but I didn't factor in the additional room for the holding bracket.
This makes the 2kg weight quite significant and uncomfortable on your back when transporting in a rucksack. I have taken to leaving it at work to avoid this, but it is a hassle I could do without.
Despite these problems, it's overall quality ranks at 4/5 for me. I would have bought the smaller version if it had Sold Secure Gold rating like this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Brrr
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Good lock, make sure it fits

PostedJune 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Good lock but it doesn't attach anywhere on my Trek 7.1 FX 17 inch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
simon84
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Secure, a must have

PostedJune 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Really solid lock with a bright yellow band to deter theives (or to let them know its a Kryptonite lock). It is a little heavy to hold, but i don't notice it in my backpack when commuting and of course you have the option of a bracket anyway. If you're really worried about your bike then maybe get a front wheel chain combo, but this does the job for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>