Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket

Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket

Overall rating:
4.457 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(70 reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 70 reviews
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
66 out of 70Would you recommend this product to a friend?94%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Review 1 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted06 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This lock really seems reliable, yet it is bit heavier than I expected. Definitely worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Heavy duty and secure

Posted30 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Not had this product long but it's a solid gold standard lock-doesn't feel like my bike will go anywhere locked up wit this. Far too heavy to carry around with (I cycle long distances for pleasure) so not sure if want to use this for committing-but for insurance cover this would be perfect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good lock

Posted27 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Big enough to get around a frame and two wheels. Good security rating for the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Great and intimidating lock.

Posted25 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, really sturdy
Cons: Heavy
I just bought this lock and I'm just gonna say that it's definetly worth the cost. It just feels really strong, sturdy and secure and the U bar is around 5mm thicker than my last D lock! And because it comes with the mount for your bike I can't tell the difference for weight (but then I do ride a moutain bike). And having the three keys and Kryptonite anti-theft programme make this a great lock and a great buy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Heavy but a high-quality lock

Posted14 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This is a decent, tough lock which fills me with confidence that nobody can steal my bike unless they get out the angle grinder.
It's heavy, so I just leave it at work and bought another for home. That said, on the few times I've traveled with it it's not *too* bad for short journeys.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:Chiswick

Great lock

Posted02 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Unattractive
This bike lock is very heavy and in the world of bike locks that's a good thing. Apparently it's resistant to the type of theft where they twist the bike to break the lock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:Cheltenham

Good sturdy lock

Posted04 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Decent lock a bit heavy but nobody has nicked my bike so far!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leicester

Quality lock.

Posted29 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Quality lock, smooth lock mech. It's heavy but that's the price you have to pay.
The frame strap mount isn't the best, I've drilled out the centre of the mount and used one of the existing water bottle mount holes on the frame instead.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

This lock meets the need of having my bike secured

Posted24 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
The lock is robust and gives me comfort that the bike will be secured when locked. It comes with a light on the key to allow you to find the keyhole in the dark. However, the light adds to the bulkiness of my set of keys so don't carry that particular key around with me. Instead I use one of the spare keys that comes without the light. The downside of this product is that the keys themselves are quite long and sharp. This can be uncomfortable when inside my pocket with other keys and the key has been punching holes in my pocket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Overall satisfied

Posted23 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Overall satisfied with the purchase. It is heavy, but it's a high security lock and functions really well so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great lock

Posted13 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This lock is strong and robust comes with 3 keys 1 has a light on it and also bracket to attach to bike good value for a tuff lock
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Only buy kryptonite!

Posted11 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I bought ome of these late 2014, excellent product but had a minor problem with the lock mechanism, I took it back and it was changed without question, I won't buy any other brand of lock again as these are strong durable and come with a bracket that actually holds the lock securely. highly recommend and I've given it 5 stars even thoigh I initially had a faulty one.
Thank you Kryptonite for a great lock and thank you Evans for great customer service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Great item

Posted05 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Great item, fits nicely on the bike when riding, would recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Peace of Mind

Posted30 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, heavyweight, great quality
I had my mountain bike stolen, just after Christmas. I had locked it up, using a thick, but obviously easily cut, cable lock.
For my replacement bike, I didn't want to make it as easy for the bike to be stolen. This lock gives me a lot of peace of mind. It's heavy weight and really well made. The coating makes it soft to the touch, so hopefully a little kinder to your paintwork. It comes with three keys, so great for a spare at home, a spare in work and one in your pocket. The main key, comes with a really useful blue LED light, to make it easier to lock/unlock your bike. You can also register your keys, hopefully making replacement easier.
The lock has quite a well designed bracket, but I couldn't find a place to mount the lock on my bike frame, as the lock would foul pedals or bottle. Other than that, it's a great lock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good lock terrible bracket.

Posted29 December 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Poor quality, Heavy
Lock as other in the price range. Bracket very poor quality. 2mounting brackets felt off when riding on road.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

good strong lock, easy to use

Posted04 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
good strong lock, easy to use, keys work well unlike some others which are stiff, only used for a few weeks though. like all locks at the end of the day its only a deterrent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tin

Posted22 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
From what I can tell this seems to do a decent job, I was going to get the New York but this one is still gold rated so I didn't see any reason for the extra outlay. It does weigh a fair bit though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Rock solid, won't use anything else

Posted18 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Expensive, but worth every penny. Probably the best deterrent out there. A must if purchasing a new bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Superb quality and a sturdy bike protector

Posted17 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, bike bracket, key registration
Cons: Expensive
Easy to fit bike bracket makes carrying this great lock simple. Lock mechanism is easy to operate and has a sliding cover over the key hole. The build quality is to a very high standard and feels extremely robust and made to last the bad winter years.
Yes its expensive but well worth it for the keeping scummy bike thieves from taking your pride and joy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Great lock but.......

Posted15 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Great lock which is near impossible to get into so deters those opportunist thieves but the only negative comment would be that sometimes the lock sticks and the key won't turn. 20 minutes it took me to open the lock on one occasion!
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>