Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket

Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket

Overall rating:
4.458 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(48 reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 48 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
46 out of 48(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Review 1 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cyclingmadison
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This lock really seems reliable, yet it is bit heavier than I expected. Definitely worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TwyfordAdamant
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid as a rock.

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
A very substantial security addition, with the added benefit of three keys.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
laidbackrider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good lock

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
A strong, well made, attractive D lock. I have used this as a primary lock for a few years and its done all that was expected of it. Competitively priced too...bit of a bargain for the quality.
The mounting bracket is a waste of time, I store the lock in a pannier or rack bag.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chris18
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very secure

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A great lock that isn't to heavy to carry either,it was carried around on a cycling holiday every day, the keys worked perfectly in the lock, would definitely recommend this lock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
philby2001
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Great lock

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Solid, well made lock, and accepted by my insurance company :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TeebsMB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A good lock

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, insurance standard
Cons: can scratch
It's a good lock, although the mounting bracket isn't coated metal so be careful not to scratch your frame when locking up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fairtradecoco
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

VERY VERY STRONG

PostedJune 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Unattractive
Great derteriont to thefts, really bright and large so they can see it instantly. straps straight on to frame and easy to apply the lock.
Pros
Big, strong, easy to carry and durable
Cons
Heavy, ruins look of bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SuperShik0
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Rathbone Place

Secure and reliable

PostedJune 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Very good lock, a bit heavy but you've got to have a heavy one if you want to feel confortable with leaving your bike somewhere.
Comes with 3 keys including an LED light imbedded in one of the them, frame mount is alright. I recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SSpeed
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Secure and reliable

PostedMay 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
One of the few locks I'm comfortable leaving my bike with in London. Although heavy it has a decent sized 'D' for securing a frame or wheel.
Comes with 3 keys including an LED light imbedded in one of the them for finding the keyhole in the dark.
Frame mount is decent but not great quality, with the weight of the lock it can rattle if not fitted correctly.
Would buy again if needed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
stevepm
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Secure but noisy

PostedMay 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Absolutely no complaints with how secure the lock feels. I have no fear of anyone picking the lock as even with the key it is quite temperamental and takes a couple of attempts. When the lock is clipped into the bracket cycling even over smooth roads leads to a very loud rattle.
It has it's flaws but I'd still recommend it.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wintergreen
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Gold secure at silver price

PostedMay 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Good quality lock, Its quite heavy but I guess that's the price of security.
The staff were knowledgeable and very helpful as I wasn't sure which lock would be best.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Foodhoover
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good lock well coated to avoid scratching your fra

PostedApril 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Decent lock but the frame mount is difficult to fit and ungainly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shaycycles
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Sold Secure Gold, protects paint, heavy

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is a good lock and protective covering is good for protecting your frame when locking the bike. I got a decent deal at Evans and didn't see any real benefit in going for the more expensive offerings.
Sold Secure Gold suggests it will be fairly effective but I don't really want to find out. In public plases I use two U-locks and a cable through the saddle to prevent that getting removed.
The colour makes the lock very obvious and should help to deter the less professional thieves and send them looking for an easier target.
The provision of three keys is good and one of them is equipped with a built in LED which is handy for unlocking in dark corners (even in a well lit parking area the keyhole when properly locked is often in shadow)
The only drawbacks to any strong lock are the weight and size to carry. I tend to find the lock too big to carry on my frame with a bracket as it gets in the way of bottles etc. However I use this on a bike that normally has panniers and always has a rack to which I can easily attach the lock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SWLondoncyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This seemed like the most competitively priced Gold sold secure lock at Evans. It is heavy, but then all good D Locks are. The bracket is pretty versatile and can fit to tubes that aren't round in a number of positions. I went for the shorter D Lock as the longer one wouldn't fit inside the triangle of my road bike's frame. I do get a lot of rattle as it bounces about hanging from the frame of my road bike but I guess that's to be expected with the state of London's roads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
ASISLIFE
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Good but not Great

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
Good price for this lock and probably no worse that many out there but a few things that, for me, are a drawback.
Due to small main triangle and a bottle cage I need to mount the lock on seat stays, the attachment mechanism is slightly bulky making clearance of leda//shoes slightly tricky.
Secondly I've had this about 10 days now and already the lock is starting to seize a bit. Also very sticky pulling it out of the housing. Admittedly a) I haven't given it any WD40 or similar and b) weather has been foul...but still not been very long
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MikeyCJ
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

Good secure lock, but large & slightly tricky fit

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
As you'd expect from Kypronite this is an excellent quality and secure lock. It isn't cheap but i think you get what you pay for.
This is the long version which is really useful for use out and about as it fits around poles and posts easily.
The extra length does though mean it doesn't fit inside the frame of most bikes (like my Trek Hybrid). It does fit neatly on a slight angle though so no major issue.
All in all a good lock and one i recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MJW2013
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:West End

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Does the job for securing my bike in central London.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
joeob
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Safe & Sound

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This lock was a little heavier than I expected, but is fine if you're carrying it with you into work or town.
Nice to have more than 1 key, and the light on the main key is neat.
I use this lock with an extention cable to secure front\back wheels and saddle - works a treat.
Having looked online - what's also great is the online support offered by Kryptonite - new keys\register keys\etc
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mal2612
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

first class product

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, versatile
This is a great product for the money . The spline ( or lug ) on the D-lock can be rotated 360 degrees and locked into whatever position is required with a grub screw . The bracket can be tightened onto the frame at whatever angle you want , i.e. it doen't have to be either in line with or at 90 degrees to the frame . The face of the bracket can also be rotated 360 degrees so the combination of these three factors means that you can mount this in exactly the right way to suit your bicycle . Well done , Kryptonite !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
olarge1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Great Lock

PostedMay 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Great lock, easy to use with a simple bracket for mounting onto the bike with. Bright lock section is obvious to mark out the security level of lock to deter thieves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>