Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket

Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket

Sold Secure Rating: Gold
Overall rating:
4.341 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
41 out of 44(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Review 1 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brighton99

good lock for town / city use

PostedJune 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This lock looks intimidating on top of being "Gold" standard, which is great for any area with theft problems. It's also very handy for locking in awkward places around town - longer "reach" makes it easy where the standard size is a pain. It is big but should fit snugly enough inside a medium or bigger frame. Oh, and no rattling around while riding if the bracket is properly fitted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lashers
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

perfect fit

PostedJune 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I wanted a lock for the bike and these come highly recommended. I needed to find space on the bike for the lock and I was able to fit the bracket to the top of my frame so that it didn't interfere with my water bottles and cages.
The lock is a little on the heavy side, but I think of it more as a pro the a con.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sickpup
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A good Lock but a useless carrying bracket.

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy, bracket useless
The lock is good, its big and heavy with a weather protected lock but if you use a cable with it make sure its has big loops or it won't fit over the ends. The bracket on the other hand is pretty much useless. The band that goes around the frame is just a cheap nylon belt so isn't secure once fitted and slips about and the lock is so big it barely fits in my 20inch frame so don't assume you will be able to carry it without a bag.
In the end you have to make the choice over whether you need a lock this big or you can make do with a smaller one, with a 29er I do need a big lock so I use it and carry it in my bag but someone on a road bike could probably get away with a smaller lock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bianchibates
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, robust
Cons: Expensive
Very robust lock, satisfyingly heavy, so a real deterrent to thieves who would need some fairly industrial kit to break through it. Not cheap but the closest I'm going to get to piece of mind without tying a doberman to my bike. Ideal for additional home security if you have to keep your treasured road bike in a garden shed or garage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mota37

Good lock, but quite expensive

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Unattractive
clearly it's a good lock and it does what it says on the tin, It's also quite light when you consider its security rating. The only problem is the price which is quite high, for my budget anyway.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bigal79

Great piece of kit.

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Thumbs up re security and easy of use. Slightly on heavy side.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
bikelephant

seems good

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Bought this lock the other day. It seems to work. I'll only know it doesn't when my bike disappears, I suppose.
Silly, but the bright orange crossbar bit does make it easy to spot your bike in a row of dozens of bikes.
One thing - persevere with the frame mount. It took me a while to work it out, the instructions are useless and printed very, very small with unviewable illustrations, but once you do get it on, it works fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
marcivic
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Great length, easy to use

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Bought this to lock bike inside my car, managed to attach to the seat latch without problem, the reach was perfect and yet the lock is not ridiculously heavy. Used it with the cable wire to secure the wheels and attached that to another part of the car. So a very robust system.
The lock made things easy, as the key is on the bottom in the center and not the side, which I think made it easier to attach to the U. The locking mechanism is pretty slick.
And I like the orange!
Rated for £1000 if stolen, so that's a bit of extra piece of mind. Comes with three keys, one with a schnazzy led! And a frame attachment device, not that I'll be using that, but you never know so good to have.
A little bit pricey @£55 (not incl cable), but the functionality is good and the insurance compensates.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Skallagrimson
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Very good and safe lock

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
This Lock totally satisfies my expectations. Good fitting on the frame.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheHovisBoy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

The lock and the <£1000 payout are solid.

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
This is a very solid, heavy, dependable lock. I am confident locking my bike with it. I am also confident were the worst to happen that Kryptonite would pay for my new bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous

trustworthy & confident lock

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
i chose to get the larger/longer U lock than the medium or short as it gives you more choice over what you secure your bike to (providing the width is sufficient).
I am happy to leave my bike alone in public with this lock. I did a lot of research after my previous bike was 'easily' stolen (because i used basic locks). This was the best lock i could find without spending £100s, Kryptonite even offer to replace your bike if their locks fail (providing you register with them).
Easy to use, easy to transport, provides peace of mind.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AHornC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:St Paul's

Totally secure

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Excellent, sturdy lock. Good peace of mind when using it. Adds a good amount of weight to my bike when carrying it upstairs!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TonyS
Country:Switzerland
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Heavy but tough and secure

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
I guess the weight goes with wanting the security. Bought to secure the kids new mountain bikes at school after losing two bikes at a nearby supermarket.
My 11 year old son rode to the school to try them out, carrying the heavier chain lock while I carried this one. Not a lock you would take on steep climbs, although it's only a little over 1.5 litres of water which I regulalry have in the backpack bladder. Good for town use and my kids will probably leave it at school during the week, along with the other high security heavy locks we see left on the school bike rack.
Like the fact you can register the keys for replacement if needed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
donjon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Sturdy but heavy

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, sturdy
Cons: Heavy
Seems an excellent product so far; strong and sturdy, works well and has a useful light on the main key to help see where the lock is. It is a bit heavier than I anticipated (ordered online) so in hindsite I may have gone for the smaller version.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tempusfugit09
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Big Dlock

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Heavy
The Dlock has a long Dring to it it will go around the bike and a lamp
post or any other place to fix your bike to.It come with a key that has
a light on it plus 2 other keys. So you get 3 keys with it.
Rember one thing with all locks do not have them so the lock part is on the pavemet, this will make it hard for some one to brake them open.
All ways get a good bike lock is will save you money in the long run,
You will always pay for what you get.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Glenn78
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good solid lock

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, looks durable, like the number of keys you get
Great lock! Some people claim it's too heavy, but I've had no problems with it so far. I feel at ease locking my bike up with this lock. Thanks Evans Cycles! Handy led light on the keys, and great service too.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ceraunian
Country:Switzerland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really secure but heavy

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Overall happy of the product and the delivery. The locker seems really solid and secure. The only drawback is that is a little bit heavy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gnarlylondon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid lock but heavy

PostedJune 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Great lock. Very sturdy and will give a hard time for anyone trying to steal your bike. Also has a Gold certificate which many insurers require you to lock your bike with, especially with bikes over £1k.
Has a rubber surface which adds to the ergo factor and protects from the rain. Keys are a bit fragile as some have mentioned but will only break if you are careless with it when locking/unlocking.
My single gripe is that it is very heavy, but a fair trade off for the peace of mind you get with it and could even act as a possible training aid(?). I can't comment on the included bike bracket, as I don't use it for the sole reason of the lock being so heavy.
I have the long version which is long enough for awkward or large fixings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sirio
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very Sturdy Lock, useless bracklet

PostedMay 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: useless bracket
The Lock is very sturdy and really gives you the feel that it will give an hard time to who ever wants to break it.
With the keys I have never had problem so far (I got the lock a month ago) but I operate it with extra care not to risk to jam them.
The bracket is nearly useless, there is no way you can put on my frame (L size) and be able to attach/detach it so I have to carry in my bag.
Took off one star from the rating for the poor quality of the bracket otherwise the lock is great.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kryptonite Evolution 4 Lock With Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kell86
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Had this lock 6 months now.

PostedApril 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Just thought I would post some quick thoughts for others after owning this lock for about 6 months of daily use..
PRO:
Good reliable lock. I've had no problems with keys snapping personally. I've not oiled this lock once in the time I've had it, left it outdoors, and have had no problems.
Lightweight. This is a light lock. People bemoaning the weight of this lock must have just upgraded from a cable-lock or something. I would class this as a travel lock, and only use it for when I'm nipping into town or something and don't want to carry my work locks.
The shackle size is really handy, fitting through wheels, frame, and post will not be a problem. However, note that this will make the lock easier to break using a jack attack in 3-4 minutes or so. Try to fill the shackle space completely.
If your bike is worth < £200, this is all you really need (with something to protect your front wheel of course).
CONS:
There is a lot of talk and a few videos of people with Evolution locks opening other Evo locks with the same key in the UK. Have a look on YouTube.
Do not buy this lock for the Kryptonite anti-theft guarantee. Even if you do spend the numerous hours jumping through hoops to put this in place, it is highly unlikely they will pay out for your stolen bike. There are far too many clauses for you to ever see a penny.
The carry bracket is of little use. It essentially fastens to your bike using a cable tie design, and the lock will wobble around in its mount while in place.
The metal clip on the shackle that fastens to the carry bracket kept threatening to scratch my paint. I simply removed mine, which was not a problem, but you could also just cover it in tape.
This lock will not stop a thief equipped to steal; even the superior New York series of locks still get cut by thieves, despite using a 3-5mm thicker shackle than the Evolution.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>