Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock

Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock

Sold Secure Rating: Silver
Overall rating:
4.258 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(132 reviews) 131
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 132 reviews
5 Stars
62
4 Stars
54
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
4
1 Star
4
123 out of 132Would you recommend this product to a friend?93%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Review 1 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ed19
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock

Posted08 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
Its very easy to use at all times, yes it is heavy but it made of the highest quality possible to prevent theft.
I would strongly recommend to have one as Kryptonite provides warranty of £800 in case someone breaks this lock.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JACKtheHAT
from York
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

SOLID

Posted28 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Living in a cycle city where the local authority advertise that there are a minimum of 5 thefts of cycles a day and having suffered 2 thefts myself its vital to secure your cycle with a strong lock. This is just that, its compact enough to go in the daily commute rucksack and yet solid enough to secure your cycle. Yes its heavy but surely thats the idea of having something thats solid. Good price.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Apples19
from Surrey
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great buy

Posted22 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I already have one of these locks and needed another to leave on the bike racks at the gym to save me lugging one around as they are a bit too heavy for commuting each day.
Fits nicely through the bike frame and wheel to lock to the bike racks. 2 keys - always a good thing.
If you want a secure lock at a good price, this is for you.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jtm2000
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Lock

Posted25 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Well manufactured, good solid lock and when used in conjunction with the Kryptoflex cable, makes a really good deterrent for any would be thief.
I do like the fact that the "U" is plastic coated so as to prevent rub damage on the bike frame.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RoelofK
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

Good lock

Posted24 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Good lock. Locks the bike up safely and is in line with what my insurance require.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Abu1238
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Strong, Sturdy, reliable

Posted21 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Not the lightest but it does it's job well, it's strong and not very easy to break. The one niggle I have with it is one part gets locked in whilst the other part of the D-Lock is curved - I would have preferred dual locking but that's just personal preference. The clip it comes with is excellent, designed to fit almost any frame
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dee81
It was bought:Spitalfields

Posted04 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Perfect size for my bike and love the handy bracket to save me carrying it about in my bag!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
FOZ4555
It was bought:Chiswick

Good product but fiddly to connect to bike

Posted20 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy, fiddly to attach
The lock itself is great and I like that you can attach it to the bike frame. However, it is not as easy to attach to the frame as some other similar locks I have used.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stxcama
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Nottingham

Solid, reliable, popular.

Posted13 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I've noticed this lock on multiple bikes. Sturdy and simple. No gimmicks or bells and whistles, which is a good thing. It is quite heavy, which you expect from a d lock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nianko
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Solid easy to use U-lock

Posted10 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy, fixtures
Good value for money - silver grade (for insurance purposes). No straigthforward to fix on bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kanabar12
It was bought:Glasgow

Good solid Lock

Posted25 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good, reliable - small enough to carry around in a bad. Easy to use. Appears to be safe. No problems so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Finn12
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Reading

Can't lock/unlock reliably

Posted18 April 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: strong once locked, cheap
Cons: Poor quality, poor design
Initially pleased with the 3 locks bought last year. However, problems developed:
First, as the rain started, tried to fix holders to frames but wouldn't fit any of the three bikes so got inside of bags wet - sorted by buying new bags.
Second, the key function got more and more difficult to use, and as a consequence have missed trains, and been late to work or for my daughter, late to class.
We have got so fed up with them, we bought 3 new locks. They were just not worth the hassle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jangles
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Great value for a silver rated lock

Posted20 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Simple to attach to the bike and silver rated, which is great. Definitely worth the money. I've spent upwards of £100 on locks in the past, none of which stopped my bikes being stolen, so I'm sticking with the £30 locks from now on!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Davertheraver

Solid lock but potentially maddening

Posted22 November 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
There are good and bad things about this lock. The good things are that it's solid and seems it will take some breaking into, and it comes with a spare key and holder. The bad things are unfortunately numerous- I had some infuriating moments being unable to unlock my bike several times. Following the instructions to "insert key fully to bottom of cylinder before turning key" didn't work. This lock requires a 'knack' of inserting the key, then withdrawing about 1-2mm before turning. This took me a couple of weeks to figure out after much consternation! Also the lock holder comes loose fairly regularly but this is a minor annoyance, and is very heavy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ylw03
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Strong, beefy & secure.

Posted20 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Easy to use. I doubt this is 100% theft-proof but will certainly be a good deterrent.
You will get better security combining this u-lock lock with a chain lock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kevin30
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Good sturdy portable lock

Posted05 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Great lock for carrying around on you or on your bike, has a cover over the actual mechanism so should help keep it rust free. 2 keys provided which is standard.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Markiefrankie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Durable and easy to use

Posted27 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
This is a great lock - very durable and easy to fix to the bike and use as a lock. The only thing that would improve it would for it to be a combi-lock in my opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AntonF
Country:Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good solid lock

Posted24 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Have been using this product for a few weeks now.
The lock itself is good and solid.
Resonably lightweight and easy to open/close.
The only drawback so far is the lock-holder that is attached to the frame. It has a tendency to release when riding over small bumps in the road.
The lock falls of the bike and one needs to stop and re-attach it.
Not very convinient during city rush hour traffic.
But the lock is good.
Anton in Sweden
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
VikHU

Seems like a decent lock

Posted14 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
The lock comes with a holder that's relatively easy to install. The lock fits snug in it but it does rattle a bit when going over bumps. The keys look fairly secure, Fortunately I did not have anyone having a go at stealing the bike so cannot comment on how effective it is.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
man123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock

Posted11 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great quality lock, mounting bracket wont last forever, spares would be useful though top quality lock with Kryptonite warranty.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>