Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock

Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock

Sold Secure Rating: Silver
Overall rating:
4.299 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(117 reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 117 reviews
5 Stars
57
4 Stars
47
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
110 out of 117(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Review 1 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ed19
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock

PostedJune 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
Its very easy to use at all times, yes it is heavy but it made of the highest quality possible to prevent theft.
I would strongly recommend to have one as Kryptonite provides warranty of £800 in case someone breaks this lock.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JACKtheHAT
from York
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

SOLID

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Living in a cycle city where the local authority advertise that there are a minimum of 5 thefts of cycles a day and having suffered 2 thefts myself its vital to secure your cycle with a strong lock. This is just that, its compact enough to go in the daily commute rucksack and yet solid enough to secure your cycle. Yes its heavy but surely thats the idea of having something thats solid. Good price.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Apples19
from Surrey
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great buy

PostedMarch 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I already have one of these locks and needed another to leave on the bike racks at the gym to save me lugging one around as they are a bit too heavy for commuting each day.
Fits nicely through the bike frame and wheel to lock to the bike racks. 2 keys - always a good thing.
If you want a secure lock at a good price, this is for you.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
VikHU

Seems like a decent lock

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
The lock comes with a holder that's relatively easy to install. The lock fits snug in it but it does rattle a bit when going over bumps. The keys look fairly secure, Fortunately I did not have anyone having a go at stealing the bike so cannot comment on how effective it is.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
man123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great quality lock, mounting bracket wont last forever, spares would be useful though top quality lock with Kryptonite warranty.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cakePowered
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, feels secure
Cons: Heavy
No denying that this is a solid bit of kit. If you're like me and overly paranoid (or live in a city) then this will certainly go some way to easing your fears.
Two points worth mentioning:
– It seems huge when you get it, but it's actually about right for my 21" frame hybrid. Meaning you can get it through the back wheel, frame, and around something fixed without too much slack.
– It also seems very heavy when you get it. This is because it is, and in some ways it's reassuring.
Lastly, although I was dubious about the frame mounting bracket holder thing (it lets you attach the lock to the frame for transit) and although it uses disappointingly cheap plastic, it does work. It seems sturdy enough, and it beats carrying the thing on your back.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Evgo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Great product,feel safe to lock my bike anywhere,fair price,but heavy .
I am pleased though,cause it serves the right purpose
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
btcjoyce
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

This lock works well.

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Ok, so it's not the lightest lock in the world but it does what it says on the tin. Really good build quality and feels like it will keep my bike secure.
Really easy to use; much easier and quicker than cable locks.
The mount fitting is pretty good, rattles a little but that might be my installation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Dvdwylie
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Lock badly designed

PostedAugust 29, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, not fit for purpose
The key is impossible to get into the key-hole. I have had the lock for two weeks or so and have only been able to use it once in that time due to the barrel not accepting the key. This results in me spending several minutes trying to get the key to fit into the key-hole each time I want to lock my bike up. I've had to take a chance leaving just my back wheel locked to the frame which defeats the purpose of buying this lock which was to secure my front wheel... I have two other Kryptonite locks that are excellent and easy to use but this lock is definitely sub-standard. I will be returning it to Evans to exchange for something better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Owls11
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44

Good Product, Good Price

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good substantial lock at a reasonable price. Recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Martin681
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Great lock for the money

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
Great lock for the money and the plastic coating means your bike won't get scratched through wear and tear, it is pretty heavy and a bit of a pain to carry around but why buy an expensive bike and use a rubbish lock, I also bought a bike shield to prevent scuffing
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Mealers
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Quality lock but mounting bracket broke

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
So far my bike hasn't been stolen when using this lock, so that is the ultimate sign of success!
However, the screw that is included with the mounting bracket broke when I tried to fit it to my bike frame. I will be visiting Evans to hopefully get this replaced.
The lock is heavy but this hopefully means it is strong enough to prevent a theft.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jules11
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Chelmsford

Good sturdy lock

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Does exactly what i expect it to do, quality item.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mcreasey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

a great lock

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I leave my bike at Victoria station London now knowing it will be safe
enjoying a good nights sleep
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Zii3
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Seems reliable

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: hard to unlock
A bit hard to unlock but seems to be a good product in general.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tich103
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Performs well for most uses

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I have owned and used Kryptonite locks for a number of years and have always found them to be reliable.
The new style mounting system was initially difficult to attach bt gives a huge range of mounting options without compromising the finish of your bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PDJ24
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Good solid product at a competative price

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Unattractive
Solid product at a fair price. Great that it includes bike theft insurance as part of the product.
Instructions for use and attaching to bike are comprehensive and easy to follow.
Great that it has rubber buffers attached to the metal parts to prevent the metal rattling around and causing irritation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Liffy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Bristol

Does what it's supposed to

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easy to use, used as an extra lock for my bike . No complaints
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Maja88
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Canary Wharf

I feel very safe using this lock

PostedJune 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Uncomfortable
It comes with a good policy of cover. I have no fear leaving my bike locked anywhere with this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gionian
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Solid and as light as it gets

PostedApril 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, not so heavy
I think this lock ticks all options since it is a good size (you do not have to carry additional cables or chains) and it is as secure as it will get for its weight.
Definitely a good lock...I even use it at home for my french doors!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>