Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock

Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock

Sold Secure Rating: Silver
Overall rating:
4.293 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(99 reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 99 reviews
5 Stars
46
4 Stars
42
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
93 out of 99(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Review 1 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ed19
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock

PostedJune 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
Its very easy to use at all times, yes it is heavy but it made of the highest quality possible to prevent theft.
I would strongly recommend to have one as Kryptonite provides warranty of £800 in case someone breaks this lock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JACKtheHAT
from York
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

SOLID

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Living in a cycle city where the local authority advertise that there are a minimum of 5 thefts of cycles a day and having suffered 2 thefts myself its vital to secure your cycle with a strong lock. This is just that, its compact enough to go in the daily commute rucksack and yet solid enough to secure your cycle. Yes its heavy but surely thats the idea of having something thats solid. Good price.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Apples19
from Surrey
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great buy

PostedMarch 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I already have one of these locks and needed another to leave on the bike racks at the gym to save me lugging one around as they are a bit too heavy for commuting each day.
Fits nicely through the bike frame and wheel to lock to the bike racks. 2 keys - always a good thing.
If you want a secure lock at a good price, this is for you.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
truckle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

nice and secure

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
A good value secure D lock. fits easily onto bike as well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cyclemania
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:London Bridge

Decent lock

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Also have the Evo4 Kryptonite lock, but it weighs a ton so is difficult to take along with the bike. This lock still gives a good level of protection (silver rating) but is considerably lighter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jon50004

Had one before-good reliable and decent price

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: hard strap to fix on to frame!
Decent lock at a decent price. Only slight annoyance was not been offered to have it fixed on, as the new strap is a bit fiddly to say the least!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Candy14
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:London Bridge

Safety

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
My bike is kept safe with this excellent high quality lock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Newey81
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Birmingham

Sturdy lock!

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Excellent quality product and easy to use.
The only downside is that it is on the heavy side, but you would expect that with any good sturdy lock!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
EricM
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Unable to find suitable location to fix to frame

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
A competativily priced and sturdy lock. Size however prohibits fixing to any point on my bike frame without obstructing other items (eg. drinks holder). So check before you buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mus88
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Simple, cost effective lock!

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought this product recently, the staff actually took their time to fit it on my bicycle on the spot. Also asked if they could raise the saddle on the bike as it was a recent purchase, and they were very helpful with this also.
All in all great purchase, stays on the bicycle when I'm cycling so that I don't have to carry it separately.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Manu72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Does what is says on the tin

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
A couple of cm wider wouldn't do any harm but otherwise it does the job
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Batts
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

convenient to use and strong

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This lock is easy to use, and strong without being too heavy. It gives me confidence that my bike will still be there when I return. It meets the terms of my bike insurance too. It is good value too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kj77
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Really strong

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I think this lock is great value for money and is really strong.
I've got a fold up bike so can't attach it but fits lovely in my rucksack and is not to hevey to carry. This is very secure lock
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
greg1291
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Effective and robuat

PostedJune 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
A simple and effective lock that is built to deter theft. Good mounting bracket too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NickOLas
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Great lock

PostedMay 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
When I first bought this I was worried that it would not be big enough but so far I have been very impressed as it fits most street furnishings and it has a handy little cover that slides over the key hole to stop any dirt getting in and rain causing rust.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tombristol
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Great city lock at a really reasonable price

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This is a great lock for the price and has given me no trouble with my new bike. Robust and fits great on the frame with the bracket and I think actually makes the bike look better.
Of course it's heavy, but that's the quality you pay for with a good D-lock. The only drawback I can see is a very minor one; the mechanism which locks it to the frame-mounted bracked (which you don't need to use if you don't want to) is quite stiff and can be a pain to remove the lock.
Other than this minor quibble, great. I would also buy a chain lock or similar if you have a quick-release front wheel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ruth1000
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Bristol

Great, long-lasting lock

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
What an excellent lock! I have had so many dodgy ones in the past made by inferior brands. I've been using this one for around 2 years and never had any problems- the lock always locks and unlocks with ease, even after being left out in the rain and snow. A great lock at a great price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boggaboo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Sturdy

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Good solid lock, obviously heavy, but hasn't been stolen yet so I'm happy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DrMS
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Waterloo Road

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Trusted brand, sturdy lock. Unfortunately unable to attach it on my bike as my frame is too small, but serves me right for being so small I suppose.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kryptonite Kryptolok Series 2 D-Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GStort
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Seems pretty robust.

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Pleased with this lock for the money and paired with a cable, but bike left in a low risk site.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>