Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Abus 1850 Coil Cable Extendalock

Abus 1850 Coil Cable Extendalock

Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Abus 1850 Coil Cable Extendalock
Review 1 for Abus 1850 Coil Cable Extendalock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brakecable
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

really useful extension

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Bought this as a replacement for my much lamented vintage extension cable that fell by the wayside. Just long enough to link both wheels to U-lock, but still neat enough to carry around.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Abus 1850 Coil Cable Extendalock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BarneyG
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Very pleased item came on time great condition works perfectly would recommend to others
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Abus 1850 Coil Cable Extendalock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
WelshJon
Country:Denmark
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedApril 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
I use the cable to secure both weels to my D lock. The one negative is the wire coils itself so you can never get the full reach. Hopefully the self coiling will fade in time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Abus 1850 Coil Cable Extendalock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
recyclist
It was bought:Online

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Use with an Abus Mini which has the same colour scheme. A bit too stiff until you soften a bit. Works well to cover 2 of the the saddle, front wheel, and rear wheel A bit short to cover all three at the same time, which is not impossible with my 52cm frame. Coily design has pros&cons. Convenient to carry around but a bit messy to get in an out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Abus 1850 Coil Cable Extendalock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mike2540
from Guildford
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
A decent cable, It goes round the front wheel and locks to the D-Lock. Simple as that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Abus 1850 Coil Cable Extendalock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sammyoflondon
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Seat Saved!

PostedJune 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I decided to order the Abus 1850 as I got tired of constantly removing my seat post and saddle which is afixed via a quick release lever. So far it has done the job with my seat being there after being unattended for usually around 6 hours. I simply hooked through the saddle and then through my D-lock and I am quite happy with it. You could also use this to secure your wheels to your D-Lock as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Abus 1850 Coil Cable Extendalock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ceej18
from London, Somerset, Warwickshire
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect for the job

PostedApril 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: could be brighter and more obvious
Living in London, you have to lock your locks to something so that they dont get nicked! This extension lock is great, it stretches so far, I can use it between the back wheel, looping over the crossbar, through the front wheel and around a fixed point at the front of the bike, loads of room to secure the bike.
The lock is great as it coils back into shape and it can fit into a bottle net on my rucksack without issue!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Abus 1850 Coil Cable Extendalock
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
ollieclark
from Leeds
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

A bit thin

PostedNovember 3, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: not very sturdy
I ordered this to keep my front wheel locked to my D lock so I wasn't looking for anything really secure but this is rather thin and flimsy. I guess for what I'm using it for it will probably be OK - not many people will break a lock just to steal a front wheel but I wouldn't recommend it as your primary lock.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Abus 1850 Coil Cable Extendalock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
scarboroughfair
from Scarborough
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Size isn't everything!

PostedSeptember 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I bought this as an extension for an Abus foldable lock and it does the job perfectly. The only thing I would say is that cable is coiled very tightly, which not only makes it difficult to manage but also makes it seem shorter than it actually is, which isn't all that long to begin with. If you've got a small frame bike, a little Brompton or something, this is just about ideal though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Abus 1850 Coil Cable Extendalock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BecOx
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Not the most thick or strong looking cable but isn't the main lock. Does the job of securing wheels to D-lock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Abus 1850 Coil Cable Extendalock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
orangepenguin
from Cambridge
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Nice quality Item

PostedApril 11, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Does exactly what it says on the tin, Coils back up time after time,
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.