Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Abus Lock 1950

Abus Lock 1950

Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 15(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Abus Lock 1950
Review 1 for Abus Lock 1950
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Slymoy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Okay as a deterrent

PostedJune 28, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
I use this lock as a deterrent only to lock my bike up in a secure bike area where I work. I wouldn't use this lock if I left it in the high street for any lenght of time though
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Abus Lock 1950
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
iamnm

Nice little lock

PostedAugust 14, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
As mentioned in other reviews, I wouldn't use this as a primary lock, but it's great for occasions where I'm nipping into a shop or something
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Abus Lock 1950
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mohammed
from Dagenham, Essex
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Secondary. Not Primary.

PostedJune 17, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: secondary lock not primary
When I first got into cycling I knew I had to buy some locks so foolishly thought that two of these ones would be enough. 2 months down the line and my sexy Globe Vienna 1 is gone. If you are going to use this lock on its own then you may as well not ride at all. However, I would recommend this as a secondary lock used in conjunction with a more effective lock. For example, for locking the front wheel or the seat.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Abus Lock 1950
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SteveV
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Abus Lock

PostedJune 9, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Light and worth the money paid. Enough protection for low criminal areas/opportunity thieves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Abus Lock 1950
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cyclemonkey
from Newcastle upon Tyne
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great additional lock

PostedApril 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
After loosing my daytime storage for my bike at work had to lock up outside on a busy uni campus. Used this along with my D-Lock to help secure my QR wheels. It's light, coils into a nice small size (postie managed to get it through the letterbox) and seems reasonably secure for a £7 lock, having two keys also nice touch as I keep one at work and one in my bag.
Can't really complain, although not sure I'd use it as a primary lock.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Abus Lock 1950
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
peruzzi
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

POSITIVE EXPERIENCE

PostedMarch 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Very good ratio price/quality!!! The lock is long enought for two bikes. It is lightweight so you can always wear even you are racer :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Abus Lock 1950
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vegas1

PostedJanuary 19, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Whats to say, click it together and it locks. Put the key in and it opens. Just what I needed it to do!! Seriously good lock for a quick nip into a shop or as in my case for my sons bike at the park.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Abus Lock 1950
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MikeyBrownBear
from Surrey
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it needs to

PostedDecember 23, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cheap and cheerful lock that I use just as additional security as the bike is kept inside my block which is also locked. Wouldn't really trust it if it was locked outside though, but you do get what you pay for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Abus Lock 1950
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gubble
from London

PostedOctober 1, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: not quite secure
it's a good lock... for it's size. It's not mentioned in the description on the site but it's like 6 to 8mm thick which doesn't provide much of security.
Besides that, good quality product.
The bottom line is - don't use it as a main mean of protection.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Abus Lock 1950
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DannyG

Perfect

PostedAugust 31, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Yeah came fast and perfect for what it is, easy to use and store on bike aswell
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Abus Lock 1950
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AwmMars

Versatile and would deter the casual thief

PostedAugust 23, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought this on a limited budget. It is sturdy, in practice it is very versatile, allowing me to lock the bike to many different shape and sizes fixtures, unlike many other similar products. It should deter the casual thief.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Abus Lock 1950
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SebaJ
from Birmingham
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

A good lock :)

PostedAugust 13, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
There is not much to say about this lock, as it is only a lock, but what i can say is that it is well made, easy to use, and does the job. It also looks like it will last a long time, and most importantly, keep my bike safe. Which is all i can expect from any lock, even this cheap.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Abus Lock 1950
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
eh432
from Liverpool
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female

Does the job

PostedAugust 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I doubt anyone would want to steal my bike anyway so its more for my peace of mind than security, but its light, behaves itself and having a key means I don't keep forgetting the code.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Abus Lock 1950
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
themilkyway

excellent purchase

PostedJune 2, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
No hassle ... Good quality bike lock ... quick delivery!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Abus Lock 1950
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Qasim
Age:Under 18
Style:BMX
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Great value.

PostedMay 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This is a great lock for BMX bikes not to sure about mountain bikes. When i bought this i tried it and it was great, especially if you just wanted to stop of at the shops or anything. The only problem is if you put it on really small BMX bikes they sometimes dangle down and get stuck in the peddle. You also get two keys with it which is handy because i lost mine twice luckily I found one of them. LOL.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.