Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Abus Combination Lock 1150

Abus Combination Lock 1150

Overall rating:
3.609 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
19 out of 23(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Review 1 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
petelanc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Basic, emergency lock

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
A basic, emergency lock that's a bit more solid than the pound-store ones. It's a bit big for a pocket, but fine in a seat pack or wrapped around the seat tube.
Won't stop anyone out to steal a bike, but will stop an opportunist.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Skinnes
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Good value & does its job well

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
It's obviously not as secure as heavier locks, but it's well made, works well and is light and good value in an appropriate role.
I use several to secure children's bikes or scooters, which highlights the only improvement I'd suggest (it's not really a criticism) is to be able to reset the 3 digit combination to the one you and your family have learnt! But I guess you don't get that for £7.99.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DonO
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good lightweight lock

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Wanted a lightweight lock to secure opportunists at cafe stops. It will never stop a determined thief with time to smash lock but good enough when you are not far from bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rockille
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lightweight temporary protection.

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
This is perfect to stuff in your backpack on long rides, especially when you are separated from your group and you desperately need the loo!
Handy to stop the opportunist thief at the shops/pub too I guess.
Obviously wouldn't stand up to much so you can't leave it out of your sight for long but certainly not easy to break with just your hands (I tried!).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
RichP
from London

Easy cut through by thief

PostedNovember 11, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, easily cut
Use in collaboration with a chunkier wire lock, both easily cut through by thief, offered little protection. Will be getting better metal wire lock and d-lock in the future to meet the demands of London bike thieves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
MelCars
from South London
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works but awful instructions

PostedOctober 2, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: cheap
Cons: Poor quality, no instructions
This is a lightweight lock which will deter not stop a thief. With this price point fair enough.
I found it difficult in the extreme to set a combination. No instructions and even a search online was not fruitful.
In the end I set a code - not the one I wanted - and not even quite sure how I did it.
It seems to function fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dazzor
from East Devon
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Value

PostedAugust 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, compact
I couldn't be happier with this lock, it's strong enough to do the job for a quick stop in a shop (what I bought it for) or to secure my mtb during a quick pie and pint in a pub on a long ride!
While I wouldn't be comfortable securing my mtb outside my flat overnight with this, it's more than adequate for a quick stop and due to its size, will fit easily into the smallest seat-pack. (Although I wrap mine around my seat pole)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
seasidebob
from London
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

cheap and cheerful

PostedAugust 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: can't set your own code
Great value lightweight lock for securing your bike for a few minutes while you nip into a shop but not for leaving it for extended periods. Light to carry and cheap but you can't set your own code number.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bandboysgirl
from Isle of Wight
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Abus Combination Lock 1150

PostedJuly 18, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, well priced
A well made sturdy lock, not at all cumbersome. Curls snugly around the stem of the seat
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ridgeback01

Value lock.

PostedMay 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
This is a good little lock for the price. Ideal to stuff in your pocket and use when stopped at the shops/cafe.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BIGGO
from lake district
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

bike lock

PostedMarch 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Poor quality, Heavy
wanted a cheap bike lock for a trip 2 center parcs and this hits the spot just right!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CtoC

Living in Japan...

PostedMarch 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
this is perfect for tucking into convenience stores etc. mid-ride for some fuel. If you are in a less safe area, or planning on using it for more than short times away from your bike you might want something a little beefier... that is is you are alright with carrying the additional weight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SubEtha
from St. Albans
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Little lock

PostedDecember 1, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
It is surprisingly small and lightweight. Just something to quickly pop into a shop. I use it at the moment to secure my quick release saddle (although for that a thin cable may be better). Obviously it does not replace a heavy lock but is a neat addition and handy at times. Fits snugly around a tube. Looks almost cute as it is so small.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Blackspur
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
  • Staff

Cheap for a reason.

PostedAugust 8, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, compromised severely
Don't be attracted by this lock because of the price, it is cheap because it is not a high standard lock. It only has three tumblers and so is easy to brake, just by spinning the tumblers. It is suitable if your bike is worth under £70 but beyond that I would only use this for securing my seat to the frame. Spend at least £30 on a decent lock, it is worth it.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sporty
from Gwynedd North Wales
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

An approved lock

PostedAugust 1, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great, fits comfortably under the saddle when cycling -s
Having insured my bike through Evans cycles, I needed an approved lock and selected the abus combination lock 1150. This lock is light to travel with, the numbers on the drum are easy to see and the drum rotates with ease. The plastic coated coil of wire is long enough to secure my bike frame to cycle stands and flexible enough to do so with ease. This lock is fit for purpose and serves as a visible deterrent to the opportunist thief. Long may it last!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
troyka
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

does the job!!

PostedJuly 20, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Bought this as a secondary lock for when i'm nipping in and out of shops. I already have an Abus D-Lock and i use this combination lock as extra protection and. Also fits comfortably around 2 bikes which is handy for my g/friend. Only had for a few weeks but so far so good!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Steve1
from West Yorkshire
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Does The Job

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
This lock would not stop a determined thief, but is ideal if your just locking your bike up if your bobbing into a shop or for a cuppa (which is why i bought it) and it works fine and coils round my seatpost so its out of the way.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BicyclePeter
from Cookstown
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Good part of your bike equipment

PostedJune 7, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Lock is small and lightweight, is rather useful for those rides to the shop when quick secure is required. Fits perfect your small backpack and of course numbers code never let you down unlike those locks equipped with key which are easy to be lost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
topcat
from Reading
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Decent little lock

PostedJune 3, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I bought this lock to provide a basic deterrent to opportunistic thieves when stopping at tea shops etc. Its perfect for this (so far!) and easily fits in saddle pack or back pocket. I am sure it would easily be cut with bolt cutters or hacksaw, but that is not the point. I have only had it a few weeks so cannot comment on its longevity over the long term, getting wet and so on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
KleinRider
from Birmingham
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Combination Lock 1150

PostedDecember 11, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Seems to be well made, lightweight. Good for using on runs for short cafe stops when a heavier lock is not suitable.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>