Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Abus Combination Lock 1150

Abus Combination Lock 1150

Overall rating:
3.568 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
31 out of 37Would you recommend this product to a friend?84%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Review 1 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
It was bought:York

easy to use

Posted16 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
3 numbers pre-set and easy to see and operate. light and flexible with decent thickness to deter casual thief hopefully. good length and wraps round seat post easily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

abus lock

Posted28 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
My daughter wanted this lock, wasn't my choice if I'm honest but bought it. The quality of the lock is good and will be a deterrent. Its small enough to get in a saddle bag and its cheap. My daughter has my old diamond back traverse which is probably worth as much as the lock so not very nickable, I would not put this lock on an expensive bike but that's just my opinion. Overall good lock for price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Lightweight back up lock

Posted12 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Too thin to be very secure, but great for going on a long ride, when you don't want weight, but may stop for a cuppa with half an eye on bike etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Not the most robust lock but OK for a quick fix

Posted17 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Cons: no good for high risk areas
This is a simple three digit combo lock. It is not particularly robust but is ideal for stuffing to a pocket of your jersey if you just want a means to secure your bike for a few minutes in a low risk setting. Note that the combo is fixed and cannot be altered by the user.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It was bought:Online

It's a lock for namesake only

Posted23 September 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
I would not trust this lock, looks as if I can bite through it, looks nothing more than a little wire! Security rating so low, not worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Easy to use good quality

Posted25 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good quality for level 1 lock I mainly use it to lock the bike in the building cellar.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Good as a second lock

Posted27 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
I bought this lock as an addition to my Kryptonite D Lock for times when I leave my bike locked in public. Ideal for locking your front wheel to a post while your D lock secures everything else. I am sure a determined thief could cut through it with the right tool but as inexpensive deterrent it is ideal. Easy to use and I have never forgotten the key!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

About what you would expect

Posted04 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Cons: ineffective
On the plus side it's light and easily stored wrapped around the bike frame for solo rides.
The obvious negative is that it will NOT stop anyone who is equipped for stealing bikes. Good for a last resort when you need to dash into a shop and leave the bike outside, and that's all. Even then it's only a mild deterrent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Simple and easy to use

Posted15 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Simple and easy to use combination lock.
Perfect for locking up the kids bikes at school.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Absolute rubbish

Posted06 March 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
I have just bought one of these locks at the chill factor store. Got home tried to set combination and the whole barrel fell apart. What a complete waste of time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cheap and cheerful

Posted16 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
I've started commuting to work with my mountain bike so wanted something to add a bit of extra visual security. I don't doubt that it would be very easy to cut through, but as a small lock used in conjunction with a stronger lock through the frame its adequate to secure the front wheel. It's also useful if you're nipping into a shop quickly to stop those opportunistic thieves! One other thing that I was looking for was a combination lock as it eliminates the need to remember a key.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

simple lock for a quick stop

Posted17 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: flimsy, unsecure
Wouldn't dare leave my bike long with this but is perfect for carrying on long rides where you might need a quick toilet/coffee/red bull stop and need to leave your bike out of sight for two minutes. Light and easy wrapped round seat post. Can't change the combination lock number I think so try pick one with a number you'll remember.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Fine for coffee stops

Posted09 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
A relatively cheap lock suitable for coffee stops etc. Would not recommend for use in high risk areas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Good little lock

Posted20 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Well it's not going to stop someone with bolt croppers! But it will help stop an opportunist running off with your bike...I would only use this for a quick trip out to the corner shop, it's well made, small and lightweight. Not a bad little lock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Basic, emergency lock

Posted26 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
A basic, emergency lock that's a bit more solid than the pound-store ones. It's a bit big for a pocket, but fine in a seat pack or wrapped around the seat tube.
Won't stop anyone out to steal a bike, but will stop an opportunist.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Good value & does its job well

Posted05 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
It's obviously not as secure as heavier locks, but it's well made, works well and is light and good value in an appropriate role.
I use several to secure children's bikes or scooters, which highlights the only improvement I'd suggest (it's not really a criticism) is to be able to reset the 3 digit combination to the one you and your family have learnt! But I guess you don't get that for £7.99.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good lightweight lock

Posted17 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Wanted a lightweight lock to secure opportunists at cafe stops. It will never stop a determined thief with time to smash lock but good enough when you are not far from bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lightweight temporary protection.

Posted11 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
This is perfect to stuff in your backpack on long rides, especially when you are separated from your group and you desperately need the loo!
Handy to stop the opportunist thief at the shops/pub too I guess.
Obviously wouldn't stand up to much so you can't leave it out of your sight for long but certainly not easy to break with just your hands (I tried!).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
from London

Easy cut through by thief

Posted11 November 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, easily cut
Use in collaboration with a chunkier wire lock, both easily cut through by thief, offered little protection. Will be getting better metal wire lock and d-lock in the future to meet the demands of London bike thieves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Abus Combination Lock 1150
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
from South London
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works but awful instructions

Posted02 October 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: cheap
Cons: Poor quality, no instructions
This is a lightweight lock which will deter not stop a thief. With this price point fair enough.
I found it difficult in the extreme to set a combination. No instructions and even a search online was not fruitful.
In the end I set a code - not the one I wanted - and not even quite sure how I did it.
It seems to function fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>