Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Blackburn Helmet Mirror

Blackburn Helmet Mirror

Overall rating:
3.214 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
9 out of 14(64%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Blackburn Helmet Mirror
Review 1 for Blackburn Helmet Mirror
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Swu1222
from Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great. Fits well

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Great. Fits really well. Never leave home without one
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Blackburn Helmet Mirror
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
artH
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

too close to the eye to be useful; too small

PostedJuly 9, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: not fit for perpose
even if the vehicle behind has its lights on, it is difficult to see it in the mirror, as it is too close to the eye, and peripheral to the natural field of vision.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Blackburn Helmet Mirror
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Easy to fit and use.

PostedJune 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, easy to fit
I found it was a stable product that fitted easily and spare sticky pads to move it, if not quite in the right place. My previous mirror was getting old and in need of replacement and I got this for that reason. I would appreciate the arm being a little longer, like my old one, as I find it a bit too close, but no real problem.
Mirrors are vital on a recumbent so it a necessary accessory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Blackburn Helmet Mirror
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
WiggieB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Wasnt for me.

PostedApril 17, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive, Uncomfortable
Didn’t have a great experience of this sadly, I felt it sits at a point so close to your face that I (and it may be just me) had to almost close one eye to focus on it, which felt counterproductive. In the end I went for a bar mounted mirror.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Blackburn Helmet Mirror
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
colonelvernall
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

buy one - you won't be sorry

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, gets lots of comments from other cyclists
takes a little getting used-to but I hardly ever cycle without it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Blackburn Helmet Mirror
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
deb80

product is reasonable

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
feels a little bit flimsy and the mirror comes off the bracket a bit too easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Blackburn Helmet Mirror
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Patrick264
from Easy rider now commuter max speed 23 mph. flat rd
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Too tricky

PostedDecember 12, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: doesn't quite cut the mustard
I Had a Blackburn handlebar strap on -mirror - great for quick checks to assess traffic, thought I,d supplement it with this for quick glances but very tricky to look focus and gauge distance ,plus field of view is limited in such a small mirror. Decided not to use it for this reason . Blackburn themselves make many other more useful mirrors . Otherwise quality packaging components all good quality . Maybe there is a way to get better use but I can't figure it. A demo video might help. Hope this helps
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Blackburn Helmet Mirror
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
romulolexssa
from brighton
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good quality product, but not very functional

PostedAugust 20, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Blackburn Helmet Mirror
good quality product, but not very functional
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Blackburn Helmet Mirror
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bebe
from Mostly West Wales plus touring
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Fully satisfied my requirement

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, neat
My first use of a helmet mirror. When it arrived I was surprised at how tiny it was. Once positioned correctly it only takes a sideglance to check out the road behind. When touring on busy A roads I feel I need a rear view mirroor for safety. In replacing a handlebar mirror it has eliminated at least one contraption on the bike itself.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Blackburn Helmet Mirror
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous

PostedAugust 11, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, improves safety
Cons: difficult to adjust initially
Couldn't get on with the mirror at all to start with as could not find the correct position on the helmet to see behind. When I got a helmet with a visor and attached it to the peak the position was perfect. It then kept falling off so had to superglue it on. It then wobbled a lot so added some insulation tape to the arm to reduce this.
I now do not feel safe riding without it. It is great for general road riding to see how close cars are and invaluable whilst touring to stop an aching neck due to constantly turning around in traffic. I even use for time trialing where it is very useful to see if your minute man is catching up on you!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Blackburn Helmet Mirror
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
denzil
from south wales
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

what is that creeping up on me ?

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, Good value, Good quality
works well. good value. could be a little bit bigger. a rectangular mirrer would be better,otherwise, very pleased with my purchase
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Blackburn Helmet Mirror
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Botts
from Leeds
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Blackburn Helmet Mirror

PostedJune 2, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive, difficult to use
Great idea in principle however very difficult to get a smooth surface on the helmet in the correct position to attach to!
Mirror needs to be slightly larger and more easy to adjust, it felt like the first sample product heading in the right direction!!
Keep improving please.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Blackburn Helmet Mirror
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ShiningRaven
from Munich, Germany
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

extremely useful for safety

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
It is the first helmet mirror that I have used, and I find it extremely useful in traffic to stay aware of the situation around me. In particular on major roads with a lot of car traffic I find it useful to see if overtaking motorists keep enough space and to be able to react to traffic coming up from behind.
I wear glasses and I find that I have to position the adhesive foot of the mirror very carefully on my helmet in order to keep the mirror in my field of view through the glasses, but it works fine for me.
The adjustment of the joints is sometimes a bit hard, and I replaced the adhesive strips that came with the mirror with different, stronger ones, since they gave way after a while. It can be somewhat difficult to find a spot on the helmet where the curvature is flat enough so that the adhesive sticks safely. The optical quality of the mirror is very good.
Overall, I am very satisfied and do not want to miss a mirror any more. I feel much less vulnerable being aware of what is coming up from behind on the road!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Blackburn Helmet Mirror
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
cheewachai
from India
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Cant ride without it.

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: hard to adjust
I got this after i started roadbiking. Having done mostly Offroading ... riding in indian traffic is unnerving. I got this mirror to keep tabs on the traffic behind and ride accordingly. Only complaint i have is that it is hard to adjust because of 3 seperate pivot points. Flexible hose kind of mounting would have been much easier to adjust.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.