Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Bells & Horns or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Buddy Megahorn

Buddy Megahorn

Overall rating:
3.812 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
12 out of 16(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Buddy Megahorn
Review 1 for Buddy Megahorn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
suntrip62
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great and loud horn

Posted28 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, loud
The Buddy Megahorn is a great when commuting in urban areas, having to make yourself visible among cars and buses not always noticing vulnerable cyclists. The horn is loud enough and easy to attach.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Buddy Megahorn
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
larfa3
Country:Sweden
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Beware of damaging your hearing

Posted05 March 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Seriously loud and could damage your hearing not a product to be sold without explicit warning
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Buddy Megahorn
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
StewartP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Loud...VERY LOUD!

Posted28 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
definitely worth buying. Bought a few of these over the years. well worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Buddy Megahorn
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
gunni44
Country:Iceland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Oversize

Posted24 December 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Unattractive
This horn nakes loud noise but my Buddy is to big and looks ridiculous on my bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Buddy Megahorn
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Steffi
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Worth the price

Posted13 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I ordered the buddy megahorn for my husband's bike. The sound is loud and clear. Now he can be heard when he is out riding :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Buddy Megahorn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Skyskier
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality reliable high performance product

Posted14 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, very effective
Cons: can't provide one so far
These days pedestrians on shared routes talk on mobile phones, listen to iPods and wander back and forth across the pathway. This is hazardous both for the pedestrian and the cyclist.
A bell usually is ineffective until you are close by. This product produces a loud shrill sound like a referee's whistle.
The product is quick to install and remove for safe keeping, requiring no tools, just the elastic rubber straps attached to it. It will adapt well to a variety of handlebar positions, and the button to operate it can be similarly attached within 6-8 inches away.
It is rain protected and generally seems to be a great product at a very reasonable price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Buddy Megahorn
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Peb13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

I like this product

Posted02 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, loud enough
Cons: mounting not robust
Many reviews say this is not loud enough. I've used one in town traffic for years. Having just had my bike stolen, I'm buying a new one.
I've had this measured at 90dB. It's a shrill sounding noise and can be heard in a car by the driver. Believe me, I've had many chances to prove this over the years and this will be the fourth Megahorn I've bought.
Pedestrians do hear it, but sometimes don't know what it is. The drawbacks I've found are as mentioned elsewhere on the site. The mounting rubber isn't as strong as it could be and I always replace this. If left in the rain or damp for extended periods, the speaker does fail. I do however, take my bike camping and if you keep it dry by covering it, it doesn't fail.
All in all for the price, I've been very impressed by this product and the operating button can be placed right next to your handle bar grip so there isn't a problem having to let go of your brakes as suggested on another site I'vejust read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Buddy Megahorn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sponge
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Better than a bell for being heard on busy streets

Posted31 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This was a gift for my grandson who loves it as it gets him heard above traffic noise. Easy to fit and the operation is simple, which is a requirement on busy roads. A bell has its uses on pavement but on roads something more substantial is required.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Buddy Megahorn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Churchers
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Gender:Male

Posted29 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easy fitting
its not just bikes that need a horn, Mobility Scooters too need to let people know they are there and the Buddy Megahorn does just the job easy to fit and easy to use.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Buddy Megahorn
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

Very good horn - one drawback.

Posted11 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
On the plus side, this horn works well on busy roads where a tinkling bell is useless in the cacophony of traffic etc. I concur with earlier reviewers; it gives a clear warning of one's approach on an otherwise silent machine and will stop errant pedestrians in their tracks. I would never use it in the vicinity of small children or animals - it does, and should, alarm. The horn's Achilles' heel is definitely the rubber strap which, I'm afraid, just isn't up to the task and will soon perish/crack and allow the horn to fall the length of the trigger wire. Be prepared to improvise with elastic bands, adhesive tape and wire! I would happily pay more to have a leather strap.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Buddy Megahorn
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JeddahCyclist
Country:Saudi Arabia
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not so loudly

Posted09 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Nice horn, moderate noise not bad for me at least :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Buddy Megahorn
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Rkm89
from UK
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Loud noise but fixing problems

Posted29 January 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, fixing poor
Certainly loud enough to make pedestrians think twice before strolling right in front of you, but not sure whether it can be heard over heavy traffic.
My main problem with this was the rubber strap fixing, which was OK for a while but eventually perished. I had to resort to experimenting with elastic bands, none of which really held it in place properly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Buddy Megahorn
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
seasidebob
from London
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Loud but not deafening

Posted01 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Takes up a bit more room than I'd thought (although I had established the size!) on the bars of my Brompton; it would probably fit better on a conventional bike. It's loud but not quite as loud as I'd expected (I was expecting something like a car alarm siren) though it does seem to attract more attention than a bell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Buddy Megahorn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gruntar
from Canberra Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice 'n' Loud

Posted02 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, noise factor
Great product, made a few adjustments so it would attach securely to my road bike but excellent product for thye price. people will never complain about not hearing me coming from now on.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Buddy Megahorn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Luigi
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent

Posted24 February 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive
If you want a cycle horn louder than the London traffic, this is it!! Deafening!!!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Buddy Megahorn
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
petethegreek
from birmingham
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

mega failure

Posted10 December 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: quite loud
Cons: Unattractive, people still ignored me
i bought one of these online. fitted it to my bike and on the first ride the strap broke so the horn fell off only saved by the seperate switch. having got a replacement from the birmingham store i again fitted it to the bike this time the strap for the switch broke. a complaint to evans led to vouchers being sent in the post and i retained the item. a bit of elastic sorted the switch out although i never found a comfortable postion for it on the handle bars and when wearing gloves it was very difficult to operate. the horn has subsequently packed up all together as i got a couple of soakings a week or so ago and i think water got in
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.