Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Kryptonite Stronghold Anchor

Kryptonite Stronghold Anchor

Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite Stronghold Anchor
Review 1 for Kryptonite Stronghold Anchor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JR80
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Really heavy duty anchor that I don't think bygone would try to remove. Hammering in ball bearings into the Allen key heads makes it a permanent feature. So make sure you're not going to want to move it in a hurry!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite Stronghold Anchor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Drewzo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it's meant to

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, solid build, complete kit
I can't really comment on the actual end goal of this product, that my bikes aren't stolen, however it appears as solid a bit of kit as you could want and I imagine it would cause would be thieves a real problem.
I have wall mounted it which is a bit more tricky than the floor mounting, which is clearly the main focus of the design. The kit comes with suitable drill bits and mounting plugs. The extra step of hammering in ball bearings to make the hex sockets tamper-proof is quite tricky when wall mounted as they keep wanting to fall out before you can knock them in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite Stronghold Anchor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
catfish440
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Tough as old boots and worth every penny!

PostedApril 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great, feels indestructable
Cons: diy skills needed
I've never had a bike stolen but my shed has been broken into several times, I genuinely believe the thieves have taken one look at the Kryptonite Stronghold Anchor and chains and simply accepted defeat and moved on to easier targets!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite Stronghold Anchor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blacksheep
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

PostedApril 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, tamperproof
Having just had three cycles stolen from my shed, I thought before replacing them I had better improve security. Although expensive, the Stronghold anchor will give me peace of mind when locking up expensive bikes. So in future, even if thieves get through the shed door, unless they have oxyacetylene cutting gear to get through the case hardened chain which is unlikely, the bikes are not going anywhere.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite Stronghold Anchor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Devonboy
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Peace of Mind

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, solid security
Cons: care needed in fixing
With a Sold Secure Gold Rating, this is amongst the best products available for deterring those who feel your property should be theirs. Clearly I hope I will never have to actually rate the security of the unit.
Regarding installation however I do have a few comments.
Firstly it is important for all the 3 bolt holes to be vertical. Failure to do this means that the retaining bolts will be very difficult to pass through the base plate and catch in the bolt shield and screw down. This is not made clear in the fitting instructions.
If you are drilling into concrete (which you should be) this is far from easy with just the two drills provided. A large diameter drill such as the 5/16'' provided is probably too large a diameter for drilling straight off in concrete using the electric hand drills that most of us would probably use.
I found the easiest way was to start with a very small diameter masonary drill and gradually increase the size of the hole with increasing diameter of drills up to the 5/8'' inch required to allow the bolt shield to be inserted into the concrete. I used 5 different sizes in the end. This not only made drilling easier but ensured the hole could be kept vertical.
Secondly, the collar on the bolt shield which is supposed to catch the bolt for tightening does not always work (other reviewers have also commented on this aspect).
In effect this means that the T-plate base assembly may end up with less than the three bolts holding it down.
Probably not a major issue, two bolts are probably OK, but to make sure all bolts were doing their job I added some epoxy resin into each of the three holes before screwing the bolts through the base assembly.
Good job I'm not moving house as the anchor is now part of the structure !
I have knocked a star off because of the fixing issues, however take your time in fixing the base plate and you will be rewarded.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite Stronghold Anchor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jesse
from Leamington Spa
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Very Solid Anchor

PostedJune 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, solid and secure
This is a very good ground anchor. It comes with all the necessary bits and bobs.
One problem I had with it was that when installing one of the main plugs that go into your drilled hole, the washer at the end of it, which you are supposed to tighten the bolt into, just wouldn't catch. As these things are not designed to come back out, that was one of the three main bolts wasted.
I am pretty sure this was not due to user error, the other two went in fine, but as it stands, my anchor is secured with only 2 bolts.
Maybe it is testament to its strength that it still seems extremely secure!
Make sure you price match it too, as bargains can be had!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite Stronghold Anchor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
urbanaspect
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the trick

PostedJune 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Happy with this product and well worth the investment. Having had four bikes stolen in my lifetime I'm determined to make it much harder next time.
Comes with 2 drill bits, one to drill a pilot hole. Follow the instructions carefully when fitting, I just ploughed on and had to redo because I didn't align it properly - you need to loosely fix in situ when drilling pilot hole 2, fix retaining bolt (again loosely so you can remove) so two bolts are in before drilling the third pilot and subsequent main hole.
I use a Kryptonite D lock, cable and magnum shackle lock in conjunction with this anchor.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite Stronghold Anchor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Raymond26
from Exeter
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Kryptonite Stronghold Anchor

PostedApril 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Excellent product. Also bought the Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit 1.5metre chain so am fairly sure my bike wont be going anywhere!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite Stronghold Anchor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lofty678
from Yorkshire
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Impressive security

PostedApril 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Once its secured to the ground, this is an impressive anchor. I am using it in my garage, secured to the concrete floor. The only way I can see it being defeated is by ripping it out with the concrete floor. Obviously its only as good as the chain used to secure the bike to the anchor.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite Stronghold Anchor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
poshjohn
from fuerteventura canary islands
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Easy to install

PostedJanuary 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cannot really say whether it works well until someone tries to steal the bikes but it is easy to fit, looks unobtrusive and gives the impression of being secure so will deter casual thieves. Just don't try to carry it in hand luggage as I did because it sets off all sorts of alarms and concerns.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite Stronghold Anchor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bikenickedagain
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Stronger than most locks

PostedMay 18, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
The one I bought came with its own drill bits too. Fantastically strong - just make sure you attach your bike with something that's up to the job. They won't break the shackle without tearing half the wall apart!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite Stronghold Anchor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cynical
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
  • Staff

PostedDecember 13, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I have this bolted to the floor of my garage, you can't be to careful!
With it sleek design, confidently heavy bottom mount and folding u-bar, it makes it a welcome addition to the security of my bike.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.