Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Brake Pads or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano Deore XT/XTR V Brake Replacement Cartridge Insert

Shimano Deore XT/XTR V Brake Replacement Cartridge Insert

Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano Deore XT/XTR V Brake Replacement Cartridge Insert
Review 1 for Shimano Deore XT/XTR V Brake Replacement Cartridge Insert
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roos
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Saves money, easy to fit

PostedApril 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I thought these might be fiddly to fit but in fact they were dead easy - I was well-impressed especially because they were half the price of a complete brake-pad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano Deore XT/XTR V Brake Replacement Cartridge Insert
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MixteRider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Good performance

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Like to buy good quality as they don't wear the rims so much
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano Deore XT/XTR V Brake Replacement Cartridge Insert
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gully
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

tricky to refit

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: tricky to fit
these are fine to once fitted but they are a tight fit in the brake shoe and you need to be careful not to snap them if they are forced. I don't know if there is a special tool but I used pliers to grip the cartridge and tapped the shoe in place with a hammer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano Deore XT/XTR V Brake Replacement Cartridge Insert
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RRichards
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A good manufacturer's own replacement part

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: none
I fitted some cheap, generic brake pads on to my Trek FX 7.6 and suffered from terrible squeal when I braked. I changed them to these manufacturer's own pads to match the brake cartridges and it resolved the problem immediately.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano Deore XT/XTR V Brake Replacement Cartridge Insert
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bikezz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Product!

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easy install, straight to the point. Item was delayed, but they sent me an email to put me at ease. Came the next day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano Deore XT/XTR V Brake Replacement Cartridge Insert
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sam91

Great value !

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
A great value break pad from shimano that does exactly what it says on the tin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano Deore XT/XTR V Brake Replacement Cartridge Insert
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BenS

Use these, not generic products

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
The pin works much better than on some generic ones I had to buy because I was metal on metal.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano Deore XT/XTR V Brake Replacement Cartridge Insert
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:Singapore
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

No doubt about it

PostedMay 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Been using it for many year and also many years to come. No fault about it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano Deore XT/XTR V Brake Replacement Cartridge Insert
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SilverW53
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works very well in dry or wet

PostedMay 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Previous replacement brake linings, whilst providing excellent stopping without locking up, wore very quickly and were often very noisy, like glasspaper rasping . These Shimano provide the same braking power without, as yet(!), the wear factor or the noise leaving the brake rim very clean. Very pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano Deore XT/XTR V Brake Replacement Cartridge Insert
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dirtytreker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

I can stop now!

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good progressive stoppers. If you run a small amount of WD into the groves of the holders there easy to mount.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano Deore XT/XTR V Brake Replacement Cartridge Insert
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Earoles
from Essex
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Replacement made easy.

PostedJune 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
These replacement cartridges are product specific so you have to use them when required.
But is so easy to replace the worn pads, only taking minutes and requiring only 1 Allen-key + pliers. No need to employ a cycle-mechanic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano Deore XT/XTR V Brake Replacement Cartridge Insert
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rafnar
from Greenland
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedJune 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
works very well in a very dry climate, sand and mud. Easy to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.