Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Brake Pads or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks

Aztec Road System Brake Blocks

Overall rating:
4.043 / 5
4
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
19 out of 23(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Review 1 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
semaj72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

great brakes

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
interchangeable pads means less expense when these eventually wear down & grind my rims. very helpful chap in the holborn shop - cheers pal :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PATOLOCO

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Excellent brakes, good quality, good grip ready to ride
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shamrock
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Good value, good grip and fairly long lasting

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Have gone through several sets of these through winter and summer and have found them to be generally good. Have replaced the pads only once, keeping the original cradle, but found next time I tried to replace that the screw heads used to secure and release the rubber pads had been shorne by my allen key and wouldn't release, so had to buy full set again. That might be down to using an old multi-tool though. Good buy, good value and relatively long lasting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nosliwtrauts
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Aztec brake blocks

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Bought these to replace my existing Shimano blocks (the original ones supplied with my bike). Great quality and feel to them, excellent product and good value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
VeloWil
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Great stopping power and saves loads of hassle

PostedJune 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Good quality brake blocks that stop you quickly. Much easier to change the inserts in these than replace the whole brake block. Cheaper to replace inserts than buy new brake blocks. What's not to like?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
santino
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Great upgrade

PostedMay 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A top upgrade from the pad that came with my front caliper, good grip for alloy rim.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chauffeur51
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Life savers

PostedMay 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I had these blocks fitted just prior to competing in the Etape Caledonia, they were literally smoking and the smell of burning rubber on the very fast downhill sections was extremely reassuring.. Great product that did exactly what was required.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Habbers
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Step up to cartridge and get great stopping power!

PostedApril 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Moving up from brake blocks, the initial layout to move to cartridge brakes is a little more expensive, but the overall cost will be reduced when it comes to replacements.
Good stopping power and also noticed a reduction in the noise on the wheel rims ... good all round.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
covertmojo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Hoping for convenience

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: convenience
Wearing away the pads on my Secteur, and when I went to replace them, the chap in the store suggested this cartridge system, as its easier next time round - the compound is softer than FWE so may perform better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mitch86
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Good substitute for Campy

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Used two sets of these to fix my Girlfriends Campagnolo Veloce brake blocks. Been working well for her. Hasn't worn too quick
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrOblong
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Significant improvement

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, good performance
These blocks offered a significant improvement on the ones that came on my Jamis Ventura Comp. They are also cartridge-based which makes changing the actual blocks themselves quicker and easier.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
S1234
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Worked well in various weather conditions

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Put new blocks on for a cycling holiday. Used in hot weather and torrential rain. They performed well and do not seem to have worn excessively. Would buy again.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
roughrider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Solid build (does not mean clunky), well finished, effective, easy to fit - and not bad looking as far as brake blocks go. Certainly notice the difference in braking over the originals - but then they had worn down a fair bit so no surprise.
Will get another set for the front now
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tehtarik
Country:Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job.

PostedJune 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to adjust.
These blocks look good (read up-market), are easy to adjust and work well. Very pleased with them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Liamd

Wet weather

PostedJune 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
I just done 8 miles (not that many mile) in drissaly weather with light rain and they didn't have any problems and they stop the bike right way it's still early days but they are really good compared to my stock ones which where really noisy and warring my rim down and didnt really stop me to well but these work great. I will leave a comment on these when I have tried them in reall rain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
chmpnz
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

decent in dry weather

PostedAugust 18, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: downright frightening in the rain
Bought these as a pad and shoe bundle and have been running them for a couple of hundred miles. From experience they bite solidly in dry conditions and have shown minimal wear (in spite plenty of hills and the stop-start nature of commutes).
However- a couple of instances of heavy rain has really shaken me. The pads seem easily overwhelmed by water on the rims and cease to function altogether- and I have had to resort to the comparatively more effective cleat-to-tarmac method to halt myself on the flat.
Be prepared for the wet weather stopping distance on the flat to be frightfully long even with fresh cables and newly adjusted brakes. **not advised to be used for descending in the wet.
Summary: good performance, easy to adjust and good value- provided the bike you've put them on is limited to fair weather usage.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sphrawns
from Australia
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid pair of brake pads

PostedJune 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Better than the shimano ones that came with my bike. Would recommend to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
NodderMan
from London

DO NOT USE IN WET

PostedJune 16, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: good in the dry
Cons: useless in the wet
A basic review but more of a warning.
In the dry these are fine and work very well, but if you dare to use these in the rain or anything where by there might be some moisture in the air - BEWARE!
It would be quicker to write a letter to Gravity and asking it to slow you down.
Thank god the stock ones on the back had some life left or I'd still be going unable to write this review.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Allschoen
from Norfolk
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Fit for purpose

PostedJune 3, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
No instructions but it seemed to be easy enough. However it was only after IO ould not line up the blocks with the rims that I realised that there was a swivel in the screw that allowed lateral movement! Once realised the brakes are great!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bristolrider
from Bristol
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good performance

PostedJanuary 31, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great, Good value
A lot better than the shimanos they replaced wet or dry, you get more feeling of what is happening.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>