Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Brake Pads or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks

Aztec Road System Brake Blocks

Overall rating:
4.129 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
27 out of 31Would you recommend this product to a friend?87%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Review 1 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GlennyM
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

They stop you!

Posted26 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I bought these because my brakes weren't great and I vas going to Ventuoux (steep hill). These worked fine though I could have done with the extra grippy inserts in the event (it rained). I like the fact you can change the rubbers without chucking out the whole block.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
It was bought:Online

Great stopping

Posted08 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: wear
Easy to install and has great stopping power. I commute to work and do not keep my bike a clean as I should. The rim gets gritty in the winter and I think this has contributed to the accelerated wear. They are wearing faster than the stock blocks that came with the bike, but the originals had very little stopping power.
Overall very pleased, just need to keep the rims clean.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rennrader
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre
  • Staff

Posted18 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
terrific value, worked as well as the shimano ones I replaced, I also prefer the metallic grey finish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tim93
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Great product

Posted31 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Not expensive, easy fix. Can easily change just the inserts, don't have to buy the whole thing again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Furze
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid brake blue blocks, easy to fit

Posted18 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Fitted these a couple of weeks ago and have been out on the wet gritty roads a few times since. New blocks grip well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
prh01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Good price, effective braking

Posted05 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Price is reasonably economical (and replacement inserts will work out cheaper than replacing the whole pad/shoe over time). Braking seems to be efficient in damp conditions (haven't tried them in very wet weather yet).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Squizza90
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular

Posted04 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good brake pads. Stand up to the wet weather well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jockey

great

Posted25 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
they are working wonders so far! good in the rain too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
semaj72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

great brakes

Posted18 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
interchangeable pads means less expense when these eventually wear down & grind my rims. very helpful chap in the holborn shop - cheers pal :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PATOLOCO

Posted09 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Excellent brakes, good quality, good grip ready to ride
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shamrock
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Good value, good grip and fairly long lasting

Posted10 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Have gone through several sets of these through winter and summer and have found them to be generally good. Have replaced the pads only once, keeping the original cradle, but found next time I tried to replace that the screw heads used to secure and release the rubber pads had been shorne by my allen key and wouldn't release, so had to buy full set again. That might be down to using an old multi-tool though. Good buy, good value and relatively long lasting.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nosliwtrauts
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Aztec brake blocks

Posted07 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Bought these to replace my existing Shimano blocks (the original ones supplied with my bike). Great quality and feel to them, excellent product and good value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
VeloWil
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Great stopping power and saves loads of hassle

Posted16 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Good quality brake blocks that stop you quickly. Much easier to change the inserts in these than replace the whole brake block. Cheaper to replace inserts than buy new brake blocks. What's not to like?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
santino
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Great upgrade

Posted30 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A top upgrade from the pad that came with my front caliper, good grip for alloy rim.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chauffeur51
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Life savers

Posted27 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I had these blocks fitted just prior to competing in the Etape Caledonia, they were literally smoking and the smell of burning rubber on the very fast downhill sections was extremely reassuring.. Great product that did exactly what was required.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Habbers
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Step up to cartridge and get great stopping power!

Posted24 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Moving up from brake blocks, the initial layout to move to cartridge brakes is a little more expensive, but the overall cost will be reduced when it comes to replacements.
Good stopping power and also noticed a reduction in the noise on the wheel rims ... good all round.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
covertmojo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Hoping for convenience

Posted19 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: convenience
Wearing away the pads on my Secteur, and when I went to replace them, the chap in the store suggested this cartridge system, as its easier next time round - the compound is softer than FWE so may perform better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mitch86
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Good substitute for Campy

Posted12 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Used two sets of these to fix my Girlfriends Campagnolo Veloce brake blocks. Been working well for her. Hasn't worn too quick
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrOblong
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Significant improvement

Posted24 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, good performance
These blocks offered a significant improvement on the ones that came on my Jamis Ventura Comp. They are also cartridge-based which makes changing the actual blocks themselves quicker and easier.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Aztec Road System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
S1234
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Worked well in various weather conditions

Posted15 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Put new blocks on for a cycling holiday. Used in hot weather and torrential rain. They performed well and do not seem to have worn excessively. Would buy again.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>