Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals

Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals

Dual sided pop up bindings that position the body at 12.5 degrees angle for easy and fast entry. Large cages for added stability. Low maintenance sealed bearing cartridge axle. Cleat tension adjustment for each rider preference.
Overall rating:
4.412 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(80 reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 80 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
36
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
78 out of 80(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AlanPetrie79
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent pedals

Posted02 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
These pedals are fantastic. My first SPD 's and I'm delighted with them. Clipping in & out is a breeze. The platform is nice & big which feels very stable under foot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
kickmehard
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

excellent SPD for trail riding

Posted08 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Can't fault anything about this SPD if you are looking for a trail pedal. Simple, reliable and robust. Respectable price too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mw59
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidstone

First pair of clip on pedals very easy to use.

Posted10 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
used them five times now very easy to use clip in and out very good ,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous

Great for a beginner

Posted09 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I hadn't used cleats before but these peddles mean that I didn't have the added worry of trying to get the peddles the right way, as you can clip in on either side. May need a bit of loosening at first to ensure you can easily clip in and out from the outset. Pleased I went for these!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SB13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Great value

Posted03 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
My first SPD pedals and work great - really pleased and seem pretty robust.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mark33
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Excellent first pedal

Posted15 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
This pedal is my first introduction to spd pedals and I have found that these pedal have made the transition particularly easy by having the platform piece as an option when starting off, be it on an uphill or on a narrow bridal way. It enables you to start pedalling and then once you have momentum and confidence you can then clip in. The functionality feel really good and the default tension perfect. It does need to be said however that pedalling without clip ins does feel odd as the floating clip does protrude somewhat and you can definitely feel it regardless of the thickness of your sole. For the price you can't go wrong.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ron219
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Posted08 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Good value, my first set of clipless pedals very easy to clip in & out of,
Good quality, comfortable for long rides
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Abby31
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Was a hit!

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Husband absolutely loves his new peddles.
Great product great service
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigO
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great item

Posted20 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, good support
great product. swift delivery. great advice when asked about product instore.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
yogionabike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

great first timers

Posted29 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
bought this as my first cleated pedal through a recommendation. As a commuter, rather than mountain biker I opted to buy the full pedal version for short journeys where I wouldn't use my cleated shoes. they're comfortable enough with normal footwear, though you can feel slight pressure from the spring bindings.
It did take a bit of time to set the correct tension in the springs to allow sufficient grip, but not too much that I couldn't unclip myself. Got used to using them and have not fallen off so far, fingers crossed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Psymo87
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Commuter pedal

Posted17 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I wanted to give clips a try but still with the convenience of a pedal because sometimes when I'm just off to work or the shops I don't want to be clomping around in bike shoes. The overall effect of the pedals is great, they have allowed me to get used to cycling with cleats and I can just not bother if I don't want to. They are very reasonably priced and seem to be very robust.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
rjcardi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

adequate but not great

Posted11 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: small
The pedals are a compromise and are therefore not ideal as clip-ins or normal. That said they're a better option than changing pedals constantly. On the whole pleased with the purchase and delivery from Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tandemduo
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Faultless clip pedals at a great price

Posted06 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easy to clip in and out, simple maintenance too. Great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
VelmaTrek
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Brighton

Good for a first clip in pedal

Posted27 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Easy to use once the initial set up was done. Had to go back to the store a few times for helping setting them up with the cleats but excellent customer service from Ed in the Brighton store.
Good enough to use with regular trainers for short trips around town
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DemonDazza
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Ticks both boxes !

Posted11 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: flexible use
Cons: Uncomfortable
I wanted a pedal for my mountain bike that allowed me to use normal shoes when out with the family and SPD's for more serious stuff with friends and these M424's seem to do the job. You do need reasonably firm soled normal shoes as the cleat mechanism is constantly being pushed down by your foot. Overall these pedals seem good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GAC21
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Posted11 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Just a great product that is not to expensive.How they work and look, they are brilliant.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
kogi1321

flats to spd

Posted02 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
bought these to see if I wanted to return to SPDs on my hardtail having ridden with flats for a few years. (use spd on my cross bike but that doesn't get out much).
they do the job i purchased them for and if we get on i may upgrade to a higher grade version.
i like the additional cage it makes the pedaling sensation feel positive and spreads the load across the contact point.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
forester
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Starter clip pedals but heavy

Posted31 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy, might need upgrading
Most new users of clip pedals will find these useful with the large platform reassuring as feet scrabble for the cleat clip-in.Off-roaders might stay with them permanently. However, if you ride regularly and are mainly on the road you will soon want smaller lighter pedals. My three bikes all have different shimano spd pedals and the smallest double-sided pedals are best for me. With these you could let a friend ride your steed who hasn't got spd shoes, so horses for courses. Quality excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
S6tuy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First ever clip in pedals

Posted18 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
These pedals drew my attention because they actually look like pedals. Used them while off road and even when it was muddy my shoes managed to clip in no problem.
I also discovered that you don't need to worry about it being slippery as the plastic surround works well without clips.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fentz01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent starter pedal

Posted30 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Never having used SPDs before, this pedal was recommended by the team at the Milton Keynes store.
They are very easy to swap over with what I had previously, the instruction supplied with them are very easy to follow. As to riding on them, they are very comfortable and very easy to use. The cleats (supplied) clip in and out smoothly.
Great all round beginners pedal
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>