Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for White Lightning Epic Lube 4 OZ

White Lightning Epic Lube 4 OZ

Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 18(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for White Lightning Epic Lube 4 OZ
Review 1 for White Lightning Epic Lube 4 OZ
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bikinon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Best on the Market

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
IMO this is the best chain lube on the market, I have used it for about 5 years and cover 5,000 to 10,000 miles per year in all conditions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for White Lightning Epic Lube 4 OZ
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Kiwijian117
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Okey....just don't rely on it in the wet.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive, too light
Really good quality but too light! Pours very fast so be careful and only use in dry conditions! Washed off on my way to work in the rain, so need to give it a good clean and re-lube with my heavier stuff once home!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for White Lightning Epic Lube 4 OZ
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scrapster
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Notting Hill

Excellent stuff

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, clean
Cons: very free flowing
Great lube. I use it all year round.
OK; it needs much more application during wet weather (in fact probably after every wet ride) but this is a small price to pay for a quality clean lubricant.
If you are happy to spend time keeping your bike up to scratch I highly recommend it. If, however you would prefer something you can apply infrequently, this is possibly not for you.
As some others have said, it flows very freely, so be cautious on application. If you are careful you should easily be able to last 2-3 months during the winter for just £6.99; (I ride 25miles from SE to NW London every day, and an average of between 50-100miles each weekend). A bargain in my opinion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for White Lightning Epic Lube 4 OZ
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mtbjim
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Pretty Good

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
So far this has been a good purchase. I started with a completely clean and degreased chain and applied it liberally on the chain. It actually cleaned the chain and removed some muck I hadn't previously removed. After the first ride I simply wiped the chain with a rag and it came up really clean. I then put a little more on the chain before my next run. It seems to attract less dirt and is easier to clean than the dry lube I used before. I'm not sure how it would fare on a really wet outing but so far I'm happy with it. Only 4 stars because you do need to add a lot to start with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for White Lightning Epic Lube 4 OZ
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ma77
from Bristol
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

My favorite all round chain lube.

PostedAugust 17, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is a good balance between cleanliness and efficiency. I use this on my family's bicycles which don't see much rain or harsh conditions.
I use it sometimes but it is quite light so I tend to go for something stickier for all weather riding.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for White Lightning Epic Lube 4 OZ
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bc1980
from Oxfordshire
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product

PostedJuly 13, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: needs frequent reapplication
This lube works well with regards to keeping a smooth running drivetrain, but it needs to be reapplied regularly, every 100miles or so. It is a very thin mixture of solvent and wax so it runs out of the bottle freely and can drip quite easily on the floor, but it penetrates the chain links well as a result.
Although white lightning place this product in between dry and wet lubes it is more of a dry lube. I tend to use it as either as a top-up, or if I've just cleaned my drivetrain, I use it in addition to a thicker lube as it penetrates better.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for White Lightning Epic Lube 4 OZ
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chunkyjapeye
from plymouth
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

does it all if you keep applying

PostedMay 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
this is a nice clean thin lube to use wiping the excess easily and in my opinion perfect as when i use a thicker lube i tend to lube and forget for too long where as you have to be a little more attentive but that is a good thing surely.does not clog easily keeping maintainance cleaner too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for White Lightning Epic Lube 4 OZ
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Arrainn
from Isle of Arran. Scotland
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
It was bought:Online

Best all purpose lube

PostedApril 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: easy to use
I've been using Epic ride now for several years, since it came on the market to replace the previous "epic".
It is an all conditions lube, put it on let it dry and ride.
In dry conditions it lasts several days.
After a very wet ride it is best to reapply.
Since using this and the original epic , i have not used a chain cleaner.
I just wipe the chain with a rag when it need it.
This lube tends to get dirtier than the original epic , but the dirt just wipes off.
I use it all year round on the west coast of Scotland,rain snow salt spray, it keeps me moving and chains last as long as any other lube.
I've been trying lubes for more than 40 yrs.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for White Lightning Epic Lube 4 OZ
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
forester
from cyclocross training, randonee
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

light and runny

PostedMarch 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: runny
Wife not pleased as this oil is very watery and drips everywhere
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for White Lightning Epic Lube 4 OZ
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
commuter123
from East Sussex
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Life in the old dog

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, great performance, a good all round lube
Most of my cycling these days is a week day commute. Saying that this is a 25 mile a day round trip and I can only wish it was on the flat. I was looking for a lube to care for my aging bike (10 years and still going) to help subdue its groans and creaks, it had been commented that my bike was talking to people as I went passed. Now I had tried several dry lubes in the past which had failed to deliver more than a short reprieve. Not so with Epic Ride, there was an immediate end to the chatter and it seems a smoother ride overall with. Full marks for this all round lube.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for White Lightning Epic Lube 4 OZ
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SubEtha
from St. Albans
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good light lube

PostedDecember 1, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This is a light lube so that it gets washed off easily in rain. But in the summer this should be o.k. as long as the lube gets refreshed after each wet ride. In the winter I use it together with a teflon thick lube. Then I dont have to use a lot of the thick lube which attracts dirt but have always a fresh lubricated chain.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for White Lightning Epic Lube 4 OZ
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GlowingPotion
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

I'm sure this is good but....

PostedAugust 25, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: must degrease properly first
I did not have the time or inclination to completely degrease my chain prior to applying this Lube, hence my results with it were perhaps not as good as they could have been. My chain stayed clean, but I found the chain noise much more noticeable than with a wet lube. I expect proper chain preparation would have solved this. The solvent stinks too, so only use this stuff in a well ventilated area.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for White Lightning Epic Lube 4 OZ
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Twitch
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

reliable

PostedJuly 17, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Tried quite a few. This seems to work best. I use it all year round.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for White Lightning Epic Lube 4 OZ
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pammyk
from Leicester
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female

Great product

PostedJune 13, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I`m a novice when it comes to looking after bikes, but after reading reviews of this product I thought I`d give it a go.
Great product. The more I use it the cleaner it seems to make the chain and it definately seems to be running more smoothly.
Will be buying the bigger bottles in bulk!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for White Lightning Epic Lube 4 OZ
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dawg
from Dereham
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Very good lube

PostedJune 5, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I would definately recommend this lube, this is very light and has consistency of water whereas I normally used a heavy, thicker lube, but using this lube my transmission was much quieter and smoother during a muddy ride than with any of the previous heavier lubes. Looks like it'll last quite well too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for White Lightning Epic Lube 4 OZ
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
boogaloostu
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good performance from a low cost lube

PostedMarch 23, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
does exactly what it says it does. performs well in both wet & dry conditions. last long between applications. if youre looking for an all purpose lube then this is the one for you.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for White Lightning Epic Lube 4 OZ
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tango06
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

good lube

PostedFebruary 24, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
good lube cleans lubricates very well defently worth the money
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for White Lightning Epic Lube 4 OZ
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
zerolight

Excellent Cleaner

PostedDecember 11, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Definitely worth the money, cleans and lubs very well.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.