Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tools or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Park Chain Wear Indicator

Park Chain Wear Indicator

Overall rating:
4.679 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 53 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
52 out of 53(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Park Chain Wear Indicator
Review 1 for Park Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sweetfhall
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sensible Purchase - Saves money in the long term

Posted12 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
If I'd known about these tools earlier I could have saved myself a lot of cash!
Great for gauging when your chain has worn allowing you time to replace your chain before it starts to cause damage to your sprockets.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Park Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Clarkiecat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

I checked my chain it was stretched.

Posted17 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Will use this regularly. Need to start changing the chain more regularly. It works. what more can I say?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Park Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
citybabe
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Can't Go Wrong!

Posted02 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
It's a good tool. Very quick and easy to see if your chain is worn.
A useful tool to have
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Park Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
avk225
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Simply the best.

Posted21 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Does what it says on the tin and easily. Would not hesitate to buy again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Park Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bebo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great tool

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Will do the job ggrateful tool easy to use and cheap
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Park Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Christy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple to use

Posted29 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Simple to use and a good item to add to your cycle tools. The writing is rather small on the indicator for me as I'm blind as a bat without reading glasses.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Park Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Compton
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Useful tool

Posted15 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I should have bought this years ago. Simple yes/no gauge. Can check wear in seconds.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Park Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Does exactly what it says

Posted02 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Allows you to keep track of chain wear before it becomes a problem and causes damage. A little expensive but unless you loose it you won't ever need to replace it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Park Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yoggo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality, separate instructions would help

Posted09 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
As usual from Park this is a good quality product. My only gripe is that the instructions would be better if they were separate rather than included in the packaging.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Park Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CaptCarbon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Essential Tool

Posted20 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Simple tool but essential to check chain wear and avoid costly component replacement later.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Park Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FURY
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good

Posted27 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
performed as described. Tested on my chain and it told me I needed a new one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Park Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
simon59
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Does exactly what you want

Posted12 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cheap, simple product. Easy to use. Does exactly what you want, tells you when your chain is worn out. Better than wearing out the chain rings etc by using a worn out chain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Park Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steph91
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great little tool

Posted12 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Put it on the old chain showed slotted easily into 0.5 and would just about fit in to the 0.75 in places.
Changed the chain and tool would not fit in to the 0.5 slot anymore meaning the new chain was not worn.
easy to use and a pretty clear indicator on when to change the chain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Park Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TKEH
Country:New Zealand
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted01 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Works well. What more can I say? Oh I have to say more. Well park make very good tools. Enough said
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Park Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Plumbo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

I recommend

Posted28 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Excellent product a must for the keen cyclist. Small lightweight and easy to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Park Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Oska
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Must have item

Posted27 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Perfect item to check whether your chain has worn out. Dont be a fool this tool can save you thousands for only a few dollars spent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Park Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GMcEwing
Country:Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Park Chain Wear Indicator CC 3.2

Posted14 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
The tool is a "Go - No Go" gauge showing 50% and 75% wear. I have found that the chain stretch may not be precisely uniform through the whole (length of the) chain. Apply some tension to the chain when measuring. Measure several locations in the chain.
The tool provides a reasonable second opinion where the bike shop's tool seems indicate higher than expected chain wear.
Knowing the state of chain wear allows me to replace the chain at an appropriate and (usually) convenient time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Park Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sizbut
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simplicity and No Pain

Posted14 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is an excellent and simple device which can be reviewed in two ways:
1) Earlier this summer I knew that the chain on my bike was getting seriously worn - I could see the gaps between it and the chainrings in the road shadow on sunny day and the bike was doing random front gear changes at awkward time - especially the painful chaindrop when trying to sprint away from the traffic lights. That's why you need a chain wear gauge to check before things happen.
2) Once convinced you need a wear indicator better than sunlight, this one is hard to beat for simplicity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Park Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigTinker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Chain Wear Indicator

Posted17 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Allowed accurate measurment of chain wear. Easy to use
Prevents unnecessary & eccessive chain & sprocket wear
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Park Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to use.

Posted13 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
With a quick check, you know if chain is ok or not.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>