Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Topeak Alien 2 Tool

Topeak Alien 2 Tool

Overall rating:
4.632 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
19 out of 19(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak Alien 2 Tool
Review 1 for Topeak Alien 2 Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
elrjay
Country:Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tool, compact with so many features

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Best to get the tool into use as soon as it arrives. So many features you need familiarity before emergency use rather than when you need it. Tool splits into two sections and you need to split these in order to use all the features.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak Alien 2 Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
morph64
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Fantastic little multi-tool

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Bought this on the back of an excellent review of the product on the BikeRadar site. Fits snugly into the TopPeak seat pack that I've got on the bike. Have not had to use the tool as yet but looks sturdy and has everything you might want for those quick repairs. Excellent service from Evans once again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak Alien 2 Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dejavu76
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

Neat tool

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: spanner selection
A great tool that has helped solve a number of problems with a variety of bikes. Shame the spanner selection doesn't stretch to larger bolt sizes used on kids bikes :(
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak Alien 2 Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NightBomber
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Must have

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great features
I've got the Alien which I've had for 15 years so when
I got my new bike I decided to got another one so I've
got the some on both bikes . It's a must have
"Swiss Army Knife of bike tools" it's got me out of
trouble many a time
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak Alien 2 Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trikie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Design & Function combined.

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
I had been thinking of a tool kit for a forthcoming Brompton bike. The maker own kit was considered, but then I spotted this bit of kit. More tools for less money is easy, but quality often suffers. Not in this case. Very well thought out, with all the essentials, all usable. When the tool slackens at the pivots the tool to tighten it is to hand, on the other part. Not a workshop tool, but a vital roadside compendium.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak Alien 2 Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ocean67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Great tool

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Needed to replace my old "cooltool" that had served well and this fits the bill, every gadget i need ... plus an all important bottle opener :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak Alien 2 Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
patentspending
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well made with plenty of useful tools

PostedApril 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Has all the necessary tools on board and I like the ability to separate the sections for ease of use. If I had a comment it would be the weight which although not bad for the number of tools is a little on the heavy side.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak Alien 2 Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mikio
Country:United Kingdom

Pretty sweet lots of toys to play with

PostedApril 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: lots of tools
Fairly complete tool set and well made. Make sure you work out how to click the thing together to get extra leverage when using the wrenches as it is impossible without as it is so compact! Worth a look
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak Alien 2 Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fernfamily256
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Great tool

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a really great all round tool for bike maintenance. Loved it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak Alien 2 Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
kucapaca
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
looks nice, well made, so far i did not have a chance to use it, but it seems it have everything what biker need
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak Alien 2 Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Frarn
from Belgium
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This product has its place in your bag

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A great quality to respond to your need
It could be more lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Topeak Alien 2 Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
timsbike
from United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Almost everything you need

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, huge range of tools, well built
Cons: Heavy
I work as a BikeAbility trainer & needed a tool to fix minor things on kid's bikes. The Topeak Alien 2 Tool has a very full range of tools, including spanners, so I have nearly everything I need. All that's missing is a pair of needlenose pliers. The chain tool is great. I will take this cycle touring. It is a bit heavy, but worth it for the quality build & variety of tools.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Topeak Alien 2 Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
blott
from Switzerland
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

great multi-tool

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I was promtped to buy the Topeak Alien 2 by a friend who sang its praises when he needed to repair his chain while out on his MTB.
Thankfully i haven't needed to use it yet in earnest while out on the trails. But I feel confident it will do everything i'll need it to do, if (when) that time arises.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Topeak Alien 2 Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kaiza
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

AN OVERALL SATISFACTORY TRANSACTION

PostedDecember 7, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The Topeak Alien 2 Tool is a perfect buy. Its very handy and easy to store anywhere you want. Delivery wa prompt and Evans Cycle also lived up to their 'We won't be beaten on price!' slogan as I got a refund for finding the item cheaper elsewhere. On the whole, I'm extremely satisfied with my purchase and would happily recommend Evans Cycles and the Topeak Alien 2 Tool to prospective buyers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Topeak Alien 2 Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eddie20
from Northumberland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Top tool

PostedSeptember 27, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I am really pleased with this multi tool. I chose this one because it splits in half. So if I do need to repair a brken chain at the road side I am confident I can complete the repair. I would not use this as a workshop tool. I bought it aa I am now covering 50+ miles in one go so I need to be prepared for a breakdown.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Topeak Alien 2 Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
krzychi
from Edinburgh
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Handy tool

PostedSeptember 20, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Very handy tool that will replace several others in my workshop
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Topeak Alien 2 Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mick1234

Good Tool

PostedSeptember 9, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Lots of extras, good quality and easy to use. Nice Design.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Topeak Alien 2 Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bippo
from Peak District
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Very comprehensive multi-tool

PostedJuly 15, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I purchased this multi-tool to help cover all bases whilst out mountain biking. I was so satisfied with the quality of Topeak products that I have now purchased a considerably smaller (Mini 6) multi-tool kit for my commuting.
The first thing you'll notice with this product is the quality. As with all Topeak products I've found it to be very well constructed. For the number of tools you are provided with it is also quite a light item. Sure, it isn't the lightest or smallest available but that's not why you're buying it.
I discarded the pouch it came with as I carry this around in a saddlebag or backpack so it was adding unnecessary bulk. I can see it being useful for some people though as it has a clip on the back for belts etc. I still haven't used all of the tools on this, but out of the ones I have used I've found them to work very well. The only one I wasn't able to use was the pedal wrench. It just didn't have enough leverage on it.
Overall, this is a very comprehensive multi-tool and well worth the money. It's an innovative bit of kit and almost certain to get you back on your bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Topeak Alien 2 Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hingy
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

How did you ever do without it?

PostedMay 24, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
The title says it all.... this alien 2 tool is still in my opinion the best out of the entire range, and the innovation awards which it was in the past accredited with speak for themselves. Every tool in one small compact, well designed and very robust package... it even give you the ability to break and rejoin a chain if necessary. Highly recommended!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.