Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Panniers & Rack Bags or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers

Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers

Overall rating:
4.727 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
33 out of 33Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
29 Questions | 59 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Review 1 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Loads of Room!

Posted24 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Great looking bag with loads of room, particularly in the panniers. Feels, and looks, very robust. Includes a carry handle for ease when taking off the bag. Bought in conjunction with the Topeak Beam Rack (reviewed separately).
Whilst the bag is ok to use in light showers, I would recommend buying the rain cover (product code for this is included with the instructions) for use in heavier or more prolonged downpours .... hint: shop around for the rain cover, they range from £17 to £45!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Super design for those that want flexible carrying

Posted12 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, brilliant design/flexible, handy rear light loop, useful bottle holder/retainer on top
Cons: Expensive, a bit on the heavy side
Tired of lugging around a rucksack, I discovered this trunk through fitting a Topeak rack, which I chose simply because it had more flexible fixings for my old Raleigh bike! So I wasn’t looking at this originally, and initially considered it a bit expensive, but when I weighed up the benefits (and took advantage of a really good price from Evans) I decided I had to get one. It really is very clever. It’s put on, secured and taken off in seconds. The way the additional panniers fold out is brilliant, and this added capacity helps justify the cost. The main compartment isn't massive, but enough for my regular bits and pieces and that's where the extra capacity that's always there through the fold-out panniers comes into its own. Also, I’ve found that reasonably flat items can be put in the pannier ‘compartments’ without fully unfolding them. The one disadvantage (caused partly by the panniers whether they're used or not) for some may be the weight. But it’s made out of quality material, isn't *that* heavy, and way better than the old rucksack!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

5 Star Great product

Posted14 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
it fits so simply and securely to Topeka Rack i have, it adds extra storage for my day trip out and and different comportments to keep everything separate,,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Great commuting & travel bag

Posted28 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I got the topeak system as my rucksack was giving me back problems on long rides.
This back works well as you can fit plenty in the main section (for commuting) and the side panniers gives loads of room for extra stuff on longer trips.
The only downside - it seems quite heavy, but I haven't compared it to other bags.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Great piece of kit!

Posted15 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This is so useful. Has the main compartment which I use for my daily commute to work and can get a surprising amount in there. Both sides open up in to panniers which hold huge amounts. Reasonably light weight and is well made. Can easily get laptops, shoes, jackets, etc in there. I also use them if I need to stop off at the supermarket on my ride home from work.
Highly recommend this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Really great for carrying shopping or for touring

Posted30 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Opens up to provide 2 massive side panniers + the top bag. You have to buy the side frame with it though as otherwise it catches in the wheel. Also need to watch the weight of what you carry as you can fit in far more than the rack is really designed for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant, it works.

Posted18 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, works with rack
Really good system when used with the Topeak rack system. Very easy to slide the bag on and off no fiddling with Velcro and really secure.
The side bags hold loads and the whole thing is well made and seems durable.
Expensive but you get what you pay for - a system that is easy to use, durable and practical, don't use the cheaper bags they are a fiddle.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Excellent

Posted10 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, easy to use
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
This bag is an excellent product. Slides on and off the rack easily, can be carried around when walking. It is quite heavy but very useful. The panniers are easy to use and fold neatly away when not required.
I would definitely recommend this product for leisure cyclists.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value for money

Posted12 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Item was recommended by sales person. It looks stylish, it it very practical and was reasonably priced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very adaptable load carrying

Posted30 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, very flexible storage
For some years my partner has used a trunk bag with drop-down side panniers (from another manufacturer) which is no longer sold. My search for something similar brought me to the Topeak MTX Trunkbag EXP. Firstly, I have to say that it is very well constructed from quality materials. The trunk bag alone can carry plenty but with the side paniers extended the load-carrying ability is really impressive, the Topeak side panniers being considerably larger and more rectangular than those of my partner's trunk bag.
I use the EXP Trunkbag with a Topeak Super Tourist DX Rack and the MTX mounting system works very well and locates positively. The bag and rack complement each other perfectly.
The main compartment of the trunk bag is 30cm L x 15cm W x 15cm H (internal) and is subdividable across its width with an adjustable Velcro-fixed panel, which is useful. The side pockets can be used for storage when the panniers are not extended. The trunk bag lid has internal and external pockets for documents and bits-and-pieces plus a thin criss-cross bungee cord on top which does hold extra items securely. The paniers themselves are almost rectangular but slightly tapered in width and height. Internal width averages 31cm and height is 33-40cm. They have a depth of 5cm but will take items of greater size. Riding errands between French campsites and supermarkets the trunk bag and panniers held quite a lot of shopping and just one pannier easily accommodated three 0.75 L bottles of wine with room to spare. With a bagette tucked under the bungee what more could you wish for?
I use a Topeak TourGuide handlebar bag to carry my DSLR and the divided Trunk Bag on the rear rack allows me to carry extra lenses whilst still leaving room in it for packed lunch, etc. which takes the weight of a daypack off my shoulders.
All-in-all the Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP has been brilliant and I highly recommend it. Lots of pros. no cons.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny

Posted29 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I needed a pannier as I commute to work and find back sacks make my back sweat so I chose this one based on others reviews. It's neat and quite small but enough for a change of clothes, pump, tools and spare tube!!! Fits perfectly on my rack and you can open the sides to put more stuff inside them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Brighton

Posted29 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Just love it looks great on my bike ,but is so easy to transfer to my husband bike if he needs to use it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Useful and well made product (with rattle).

Posted04 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, very adaptable
Cons: rattles a bit on the rack.
A really well made and smart product. The bag itself has only limited capacity, but the drop down fabric panniers are excellent, giving much more space for shopping etc.
Much more useful than the Topeak MTX DX bag and only a few pounds dearer.
Fits well on the Topeak Super Tourist DX F/Disk Rack, and the bottoms of the fabric panniers can loop onto the rack to keep them away from the wheels.
It does however rattle on the rack, especially when empty.
If you are a bit picky, then this can be really annoying.
I have looped a short bungy cord around the base of the bag, which does cure the rattle, However it would have been nice if there was a 'cushion' built into the bag fixing by the manufacturers, to cure the rattle.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Does exactly what I hoped

Posted02 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Great for the daily commute, but probably a bit small for touring. In Daily use, it's big enough for lights, sandwiches, wallet, shirt, etc. Then stop off at the supermarket on the way home, release the panniers and fill up with shopping. Being up on the rack instead of down by the wheels means it stays much cleaner and drier than my old panniers. Really should come with the raincover as standard though.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Brighton

Great bag- very versatile

Posted21 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, versatile
Cons: Expensive
I bought this bag as I wanted the versitility of being able to transport a few items and be able to expand it by unzipping the paniers when required. Has proved to be very useful and easily unclips and can be carried with the strap provided.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Has everything you would need in a Trunk Bag

Posted18 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent product and price, easy to slide on and off, plenty of room in panniers which can be folded away if not needed.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Good product

Posted03 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Only intended to buy a rack but when I saw this bought this as well. Really useful as you have the option to use only the bag or side panniers for day trips much more flexible than full panniers. Well made and looks as if it will last.
Also Evans priced matched this after purchase so really appreciate their price Promise.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

very good adaptable bag

Posted24 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, versatile
Cons: colud be a little longer
Ideal all round bag, the quick release makes it ideal to interchange from bike to bike and the rollout panniers changes it from a day bag to a commuter king.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Nottingham

practical bag

Posted20 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
The bag is very useful for commuting to work and shopping. Lots of room and extremely easy to remove from the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good, strong pannier system

Posted14 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Sides open up to unfold panniers
Good storage with a postive mount.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>