Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Panniers & Rack Bags or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers

Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers

Overall rating:
4.682 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
22 out of 22(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
26 Questions | 45 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Review 1 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Donna71
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Brighton

PostedJune 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Just love it looks great on my bike ,but is so easy to transfer to my husband bike if he needs to use it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
topman55
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Useful and well made product (with rattle).

PostedApril 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, very adaptable
Cons: rattles a bit on the rack.
A really well made and smart product. The bag itself has only limited capacity, but the drop down fabric panniers are excellent, giving much more space for shopping etc.
Much more useful than the Topeak MTX DX bag and only a few pounds dearer.
Fits well on the Topeak Super Tourist DX F/Disk Rack, and the bottoms of the fabric panniers can loop onto the rack to keep them away from the wheels.
It does however rattle on the rack, especially when empty.
If you are a bit picky, then this can be really annoying.
I have looped a short bungy cord around the base of the bag, which does cure the rattle, However it would have been nice if there was a 'cushion' built into the bag fixing by the manufacturers, to cure the rattle.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beinghuman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Does exactly what I hoped

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Great for the daily commute, but probably a bit small for touring. In Daily use, it's big enough for lights, sandwiches, wallet, shirt, etc. Then stop off at the supermarket on the way home, release the panniers and fill up with shopping. Being up on the rack instead of down by the wheels means it stays much cleaner and drier than my old panniers. Really should come with the raincover as standard though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jackie4
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Brighton

Great bag- very versatile

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, versatile
Cons: Expensive
I bought this bag as I wanted the versitility of being able to transport a few items and be able to expand it by unzipping the paniers when required. Has proved to be very useful and easily unclips and can be carried with the strap provided.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ParaAndy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Has everything you would need in a Trunk Bag

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent product and price, easy to slide on and off, plenty of room in panniers which can be folded away if not needed.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greyseal
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Good product

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Only intended to buy a rack but when I saw this bought this as well. Really useful as you have the option to use only the bag or side panniers for day trips much more flexible than full panniers. Well made and looks as if it will last.
Also Evans priced matched this after purchase so really appreciate their price Promise.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

very good adaptable bag

PostedApril 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, versatile
Cons: colud be a little longer
Ideal all round bag, the quick release makes it ideal to interchange from bike to bike and the rollout panniers changes it from a day bag to a commuter king.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jen88
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Nottingham

practical bag

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
The bag is very useful for commuting to work and shopping. Lots of room and extremely easy to remove from the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PappaP1967
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good, strong pannier system

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Sides open up to unfold panniers
Good storage with a postive mount.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Midgie
Country:Switzerland
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great and practical for commuters

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I have been using these panniers for my commute to work. I can fit my computer and documents in one compartment and my clothes in the other. When arriving at work they are easy to take off the rack to carry with you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mclyutic39
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

nice bag

PostedJune 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Nice bag, however fits best for certain models of the back racks. Unfortunately description on site is very poor. I would recommend to buy it from a shop.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tobiash
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Opinions are mixed!

PostedMay 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: difficult to load on to bike when full
I bought this for commuting and for a short cycling holiday that I have coming up and opted for the V-Type to use on a 19 inch frame (medium) MTB.
Set up and fitting are both easy.
I've been using the rack for around two weeks and no problems so far.
I looked at the both MTX Trunk Bag EXP (16.6 litres) and MTX Trunk Bag DXP (22.6 litres).
The panniers on both bags seem to be the same size with the only noticeable difference being that the DXP has an expandable lid and a water bottle holder but I couldn’t justify the extra money.
The panniers easily take a change of clothes for work, trousers, shoes, shirt and wash kit, along with a heavy telephone directory size text book and bike pump. I’m pretty sure it could take a few more shirts and trousers with some careful. The top box takes the packed lunch, phone and wallet. However, the bag is not that easy to clip on to the rack when fully loaded.
I was hoping it would accommodate a sleeping bag and mat but I don’t see it. Although I have seen a claim that someone managed a tent and sleeping bag. I’ll have to strap mine to the top.
I think the plus points are: -
Set up and fitting are both easy.
Easy transfer of rack between bikes.
Good for commuting.
I like the concept but I am not too sure about the reality. A fixed rack with individual panniers maybe a better bet. They would probably be easier to load on to the bike.
I’m hoping to fit the rack on to a cyclo cross or hybred bike that I'm hoping to buy in due course.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FrancoisM
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very slick - Very practical

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought this to lug stuff to the office and back and also to act as a picnic basket on the occasional bike-powered outing. My back is starting to act up from carrying the universe in my backpack and so I thought a nice trunk bag would be the solution - and it is. I bought this along with the MTX beam rack and the MTX dual side frames. I have seen it used without the dual side frames, but I don't believe that's the way to go. I also got the MTX beamrack defender to keep the grime off and the whole lot fits together like - well - something made by Topeak. The sides of the bag fold out into a set of panniers big enough to hold a huge lever arch file on each side. I've ridden it in the rain this morning and it's not 100% water proof. Especially the panniers are a bit on the thin side. So I'll be getting the rain cover next - although it doesn't work with the panniers down - I think. The whole package cost a lot of money, but for the joy of clipping it on and off the rack, flopping the panniers out or not and clamping it onto any of the 4 bikes in the household, I'd recommend it to anyone. with the side frames mounted and the panniers attached to it, it sits still and doesn't make me feel like it's trying to kill me. Which is good, I think.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
stevie44
from UK
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant.

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I really like these panniers; dead easy to get on and off and capacious enough to carry just about anything I need to take to work.
I havent tested them in the rain yet and the zips don't look very waterproof - but we'll see. Hence cannot give 5 stars at this stage
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AFishNeedsABike
from up north, UK
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Practical, versatile commuting luggage

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Unattractive
Whether you need to carry a few tools, a waterproof and some lunch, or a laptop and a few days' worth of clothes, this bag can accomodate it. It's not phased by a bit of bad weather or falling into a muddy puddle. It's lightweight, well-made and easy to attach and detach from a Topeak MTX rack. It looks, let's face it, the opposite of cool. But if you're shopping for a rack bag you can probably handle that ;)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dshef
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Superb

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Couldn't be happier with my purchase. Been using for over a month now and wonder how I managed to put off buying one of these for so long. I can get a change of clothes (including shoes), spare inner tube and tools plus a lunch box in. Easy to put on/take off the Topeak rack (another purchase, but essential if you are buying this item).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
norm
from Midlands
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very useful

PostedJune 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, functional
east to put on/take off the pannier rack - need to buy this as well
holds all that you need for a day out with space for any extras in the extendable side panniers
can be easily carried around after locking bike (and loosing the weight of the bike lock) with the shoulder strap
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GR8FUNGUY
from Basingstoke
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great purchase!

PostedMarch 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this Trunk bag to carry my work gear instead of using a rucksack/backpack, now wish I'd bought sooner, also useful for small shopping trips.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BlackVelvet
from Bristol
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

I Wish I'd Bought This Sooner!!

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, no more sweaty back, no more back pain, commuting has become more pleasurable
Cons: Expensive
This is a great bag!
I've been suffering from neck & back problems for years now and this bag has given me so much relief as I no longer need to squeeze all my stuff into a backpack and I no longer have a sweaty back!!
Besides its good looks, this bag is well made and has ample storage capacity which will suit any commuter or the light tourer.
The expanding panniers is a really nice touch as it provides extra storage capacity when required. I managed to fit my size 10 Doc Martin boots, a kindle and towel in one side of the panniers and two pairs of trousers and 5 shirts in the other side with my lunch and other bits in the main compartment! You can't fault that at all!
I must also mention that the bag I received is not the one pictured and there is no provision for a water bottle on the rear of this bag but this however wasn't really a problem for me as I have bottle cages on my bike anyway.
This is another great product from Topeak and I can't recommend it enough, well done Topeak and well done Evans for such an excellent service!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag EXP with Side Panniers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hughbert
from suffolk
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Top notch design

PostedSeptember 28, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
This trunk bag with side panniers is a 1st rate piece of kit, beautifully designed and worth every penny of its quite steep price. Compact when necessary, but capacious when opened out it is truly portable and clips off effortlessly when you need to remove it from the bike.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>