Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Topeak RX Quick Release Beam Rack

Topeak RX Quick Release Beam Rack

Overall rating:
4.182 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 11(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak RX Quick Release Beam Rack
Review 1 for Topeak RX Quick Release Beam Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
forester
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Heavy and Topeak specific

PostedJune 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, topeak bag specific
On the face of it this should solve saddlebag problems but it does add a fair bit of weight and care is needed to select the right bag to go with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak RX Quick Release Beam Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
yvette
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is ideal for a road bike. Im very pleased with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak RX Quick Release Beam Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mikeg1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Neat and perfect fit for my bike

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent product. Easy to fit and really rigid. Great support for the Topeak bag with drop down panniers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak RX Quick Release Beam Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Monrena

Nice but small

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: small
Thow this product I can safely say looks like a good bit of kit.. with the sidebars That I got to match it.. this pannier rack once delivered was far smaller than anticipated, to the point that it is sadly not suitable to my needs,
This is good for those who want to carry a coat and a few drinks, But as I regularly carry larger items along the lines of laptops, a bag of potatoes (weekly shop) and other such items.. I needed a pannier rack that was somewhat.. larger.. both length and depth of the side bars
Overall clearly a solid product.. But the site needs to be clearer of its overall dimensions
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak RX Quick Release Beam Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Starman1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Just right to take the weight of your back and put it on the bike!
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak RX Quick Release Beam Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nibbs26
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very light - good value

PostedJune 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This is a great solution for road bikes without eyelets for full panniers.
Nice quality and almost half the weight of the heavy duty version!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak RX Quick Release Beam Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
brainfeeder
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Very useful but fairly overpriced

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Unattractive
If you want to carry a decent amount of stuff on a road bike without pannier mounts then you have basically no other option that to get a rack like this. It works fine and it carries a decent load, it's just kind of weird that it's as expensive as it is. It's also kind of ugly!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak RX Quick Release Beam Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rhino49
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Choose the right one for the job

PostedMay 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I ordered this together with a topeak rx exp trunk rack bag with pannier to use on my new bike. Fitting is easy and the items are very obviously of excellent quality and construction with several pads to enable fitting to differing seat stem radii. However DO NOT forget that you will use the drop down panniers and should therefore have the side supports as well (which I have since had delivered) to stop the pannier touching the wheel in motion. The bag turned out to be rather smaller than I needed so I have gifted the items to my wife for her trail bike and ordered a large EXP rack and trunk bag to carry more weight and volume - my mistake but happy now to have us both outfitted with top quality items.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak RX Quick Release Beam Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kate51
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

excellent product , minor niggle with bolts

PostedMarch 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
The rack arrived promptly and in perfect condition. It was easy to fit and exactly what I had hoped for. I had a small problem getting the bolts to turn in the threads on the rack, and had to apply a certain amount of force to get them in. Once done they turned smoothly and everything fitted well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak RX Quick Release Beam Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sheeple
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not Bad at all!

PostedJanuary 31, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: too small!!!
Well what can I say its actually a good product but a bit too small. Def suited to smaller bikes. I had to refund it & get a MTX V version which I strongly recomend to all bike users especially with the MTX Trunk Bag with Side Panniers. My only bad comment is that its easy to steal of your bike. Although the lever system is secure in motion you need to detach it when locking up. However clever thiefs carry tools so it wouldn't make any difference if it was lever operated or bolt secured!!
It would be nice if there were rain covers provided but you'll have to buy those seperate, I'm getting the ones which cover the Side Panniers in Yellow!!!! Not the horible grey!!!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak RX Quick Release Beam Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
ElManticore
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Wouldn't buy this if I didn't have to

PostedJune 21, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Poor quality, Heavy, insecure
Only reason I got this model is because no traditional rack fits onto my bizarrely made mountain bike, so I had to get this one that attaches to the seatpost.
The 9kg weight limit claim seems a bit far-fetched, to be honest. It wobbles a LOT with a five to six kilogram bag, even when I secure the rack to the seatpost very tightly. I also have no idea what the rubber strings are for, but they don't seem to serve any useful purpose.
I suppose this rack was intended for use with Topeak's (inadequate) range of rackbags. If you have one with their slide-in system then you'll probably like it. However, for daily commute with a big backpack you really should get a rack that attaches to your bike frame, unless your frame is weird like mine.
On the plus side, it comes with a rear reflector and several light mount adaptors to mount a rear light.
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.