Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals

Shimano M520 SPD Pedals

Sharing many of the features with pedals costing twice as much, the M520 is an entry level pedal suitable for XC and a host of other uses. Lightweight, durable and smooth, with sealed bearings and an open, mud shedding design for reliability in performance in all conditions.
Overall rating:
4.69 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(549 reviews) 547
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 549 reviews
5 Stars
384
4 Stars
160
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
544 out of 549Would you recommend this product to a friend?99%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
50 Questions | 249 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GraBraz
Country:United Kingdom

Good value, fairly lightweight SPD Pedals

Posted27 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I needed a pair of good value, good quality, fairly lightweight SPD pedals quickly and the Shimano M520's certainly fitted the bill!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ManchesterMAMIL

Good for first timers

Posted24 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
First experience of cleats. These pedals have got me off to a great start - haven't fallen off once yet :-)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
rosietherider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Posted03 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good value, sturdy and work perfectly. An excellent set of first clipless pedals
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RhysW
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable, Good Value

Posted19 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
After riding with a set of touring pedals these double sided pedals take some getting used to but are light weight, no fuss. Fitting them took just a couple of minutes the white colour although in retrospect is perhaps impractical looks good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
io420
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great entry level SPD pedals

Posted06 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I got these as a replacement for the cheap and nasty standard pedals on my road bike that I've been putting up with. They work great, look great in white, and after using them with Specialized BG Sport road shoes I can't say it's not been a delight.
Definitely recommend this if you've got a rather tight budget.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
10CC
from Manchester
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First SPD

Posted12 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
As my first venture into SPD pedals I have to say I would never go back! Although I don't have anything to compare them against I have to say these pedals are great particularly with the current price (£19.99)
The adjustable tension makes getting used to clipping in and out much easier and after just a few months I have already started to tighten them up. Only one fall so far, but that was me forgetting my feet were attached rather than being unable to un-clip.
All in all a great product, especially for the first time user such as myself. I would definately recommend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
atcyclist
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect for beginning commuters

Posted11 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I bought these entry-level pedals as my first addition to my entry-level road bike for commuting. The double-sided cleat system means i don't have to worry about which side of the pedal I need to clip into, and the tension adjustments can be very slight to suit your preference. They are certainly not the lightest pedals, but are definitely reliable. I wouldn't look much further for your first set of clipless pedals!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CubeRider
from North Lancs
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great First SPD's

Posted02 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought these as my first SPD's to try after years of flat pedals. All I can say is simply brilliant. They give a great feel of security when riding in the hills and equally on the road. A bit strange to get used to after flat pedals but worth the effort. They have a look and feel of quality that some others a lot more expensive don't seem to give.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
26dani
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted05 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
hi, simple to use even the most novice can use them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wooter
It was bought:Spitalfields

Does what it says on the tin

Posted04 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Easy to clip into on both sides, seems just as good as fancier versions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pigeon62
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Great Value Pedals

Posted01 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
A great pair of pedals at a great price. How they do it I don't know!
I am a newbie to road cycling and found these to be of excellent value.m, both in terms of price and look.
They gave the sane functionality as their more expensive counterparts but would certainly suit any beginner or intermediate perhaps
Very pleased with my purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Batgirl
It was bought:Chalk Farm

Good pedals

Posted17 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
They're nice and light, when I clip my cleats in and push they go round and round - what more can you ask of pedals?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very minimalist and easy operation,

Posted15 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
great price value
works a treat, de-tensor on cleat spring makes de-cleating an ease
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
latusaki
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Great value, works fine

Posted13 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This is the second pair of these pedals I own, and I am not sure what more I could get from more expensive ones. By adjusting the tension they become very easy to clip in- clip out, and they allow a small float on the foot which I like.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pedals
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Great mtb pedal

Posted30 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Had my old mtb stolen with these on. Very happy with the old pair so replaced them like for like. Simple, reliable SPD that look great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Drlounger
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Entry level SPD, do what they're supposed to.

Posted20 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, you can walk in spd shoes
Cons: a little ponderous to find the click-in point, very limited float
These are great entry level pedals either for road or mountain biking. Feeling the entry click point is a little ponderous - Ok once used to them.
Very little maintenance, strong reliable.
Very little float - so might not be great if you've got dodgy knees.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Willbur
It was bought:London Bridge

Good commuting pedal

Posted17 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Bought these to replace a ten year old set that had worn out. Double sided makes it good for commuting. Ten years of commuting for me equals about 40,000 miles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lumpsinlycra
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Works perfectly. Why spend more?

Posted15 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
These pedals work perfectly. I've only ever used SPD-SL before, so expected some learning curve to use these. But they are natural and intuitive to use, and I had no problems adjusting. Having double-sided pedals is great, as they naturally orient themselves perfectly for clipping in, without the "spin" that you have to perform on some pedals to get them lined up.
You can spend more money and shave a few grams off, but there's really no point. These do the job just fine, and there's little to be gained by going up the price curve.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Apoch
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Basic clipless pedal at a good price

Posted09 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I got these to put on my road bike for when I cycle into work. It was to replace my Speedplays as I needed to get something easier to walk in the final 100M. Cheap and durable. Doesthe job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rachael54321
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Love these!

Posted04 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
First ever cleats so can't compare but really easy to fit and smooth transition. Wish I'd clipped in months ago!! Thank you Leeds store staff for sound advice :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 28 next>>