Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals

Shimano M520 SPD Pedals

Sharing many of the features with pedals costing twice as much, the M520 is an entry level pedal suitable for XC and a host of other uses. Lightweight, durable and smooth, with sealed bearings and an open, mud shedding design for reliability in performance in all conditions.
Overall rating:
4.696 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(566 reviews) 564
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 566 reviews
5 Stars
399
4 Stars
162
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
561 out of 566Would you recommend this product to a friend?99%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
50 Questions | 251 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom

Good value, fairly lightweight SPD Pedals

Posted27 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I needed a pair of good value, good quality, fairly lightweight SPD pedals quickly and the Shimano M520's certainly fitted the bill!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for first timers

Posted24 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
First experience of cleats. These pedals have got me off to a great start - haven't fallen off once yet :-)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Posted03 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good value, sturdy and work perfectly. An excellent set of first clipless pedals
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable, Good Value

Posted19 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
After riding with a set of touring pedals these double sided pedals take some getting used to but are light weight, no fuss. Fitting them took just a couple of minutes the white colour although in retrospect is perhaps impractical looks good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great entry level SPD pedals

Posted06 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I got these as a replacement for the cheap and nasty standard pedals on my road bike that I've been putting up with. They work great, look great in white, and after using them with Specialized BG Sport road shoes I can't say it's not been a delight.
Definitely recommend this if you've got a rather tight budget.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Manchester
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First SPD

Posted12 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
As my first venture into SPD pedals I have to say I would never go back! Although I don't have anything to compare them against I have to say these pedals are great particularly with the current price (£19.99)
The adjustable tension makes getting used to clipping in and out much easier and after just a few months I have already started to tighten them up. Only one fall so far, but that was me forgetting my feet were attached rather than being unable to un-clip.
All in all a great product, especially for the first time user such as myself. I would definately recommend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect for beginning commuters

Posted11 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I bought these entry-level pedals as my first addition to my entry-level road bike for commuting. The double-sided cleat system means i don't have to worry about which side of the pedal I need to clip into, and the tension adjustments can be very slight to suit your preference. They are certainly not the lightest pedals, but are definitely reliable. I wouldn't look much further for your first set of clipless pedals!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from North Lancs
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great First SPD's

Posted02 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought these as my first SPD's to try after years of flat pedals. All I can say is simply brilliant. They give a great feel of security when riding in the hills and equally on the road. A bit strange to get used to after flat pedals but worth the effort. They have a look and feel of quality that some others a lot more expensive don't seem to give.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Immediate clip in.

Posted11 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
This double sided peddle makes clipping in a breeze. For anyone who has not had peddles that clip in before these have got to be at the top of your shopping list. These peddles are for shoes that have the two bolt system to the bottom of your cycling shoes.
When cycling along if your shoe becomes detached from the peddle, resecuring the shoe is effortless being double sided. The clip in tension system is also very easy to adjust. Great purchase for my winter bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Great for commuting

Posted18 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I have attached this to my commuting bike - my commute is 8.5 miles across London involving a lot of stopping at lights. Now that I've completed a couple of trips the clip in / out is really easy (on my left foot anyway) and feels very secure when pulling up small hills.
No idea whether this would be good for long distance road-bike work (I road pedals on my road bike).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Fitted to my Road bike.

Posted12 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I have fitted these to my road bike to save buying two pairs of shoes.
A great improvement over the plastic ones it came with. Easy to use and look good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Greece
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very pleased with the pedals but...

Posted07 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Very good value for money, I used them since 2008 for MTB. Recently ordered a new pair for road cycling. The problem is that pedals came enclosed not in a proper Shimano Box but in a plain thermo-sealed nylon bag with just a barcode on it. In the bag there was nothing but the pedals: No cleats, no fixing screws, no instructions...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Great pedals

Posted28 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Excellent pedals that do everything you want and don't cost much. I've used a set on my commuting bike for years. I actually only wanted a set of cleats, but a member of staff in my local Evans recommend getting the pedals as they don't cost much more and come with cleats. Always handy having a spare set so useful tip.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Canada
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Great pedals

Posted23 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
I love the double sides. My previous ones were single sided, and annoying to clip on. 100% recommend these!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Very good basic pedal

Posted06 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Very good, excellent value. Good to be lighter, but then they would cost more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chester

Evans done it again

Posted16 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Great product great pice as they priced matched it fantastic value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Sweden
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

If you're not chasing grams - choose this pedal

Posted09 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
As a daily lycracommuter I prioritise funcionality and price in my gear - don't have time to wash every day and in the wintertime salted roads goes hard on the bike. After comparing these pedals to more expensive Shimanos, have both XT:s ant Ritcheys, it seemes to me as the SPD, and the coil spring, part of the pedal is almost of the same goods as on the XT, and the axis is also adjustable as on the XT. Very good value for money - can by at least two for the price of one pair of XT:s or Ritcheys.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Chiswick

First set of clip pedal for my road bike

Posted28 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Wanted a low cost entry set of pedals for my first road bike - these fitted the bill perfecty.
Very helpful staff.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Nice. Easy to use pedal.

Posted25 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This pedal is easy to fit, and is good for a first timer clipping into a mountain bike. Would definitely recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidstone

good for its value

Posted13 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
i have installed this pedals on 3 of my bikes, never have problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 29 next>>