Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals

Shimano M520 SPD Pedals

Sharing many of the features with pedals costing twice as much, the M520 is an entry level pedal suitable for XC and a host of other uses. Lightweight, durable and smooth, with sealed bearings and an open, mud shedding design for reliability in performance in all conditions.
Overall rating:
4.703 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(495 reviews) 493
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 495 reviews
5 Stars
351
4 Stars
141
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
490 out of 495(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
50 Questions | 242 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GraBraz
Country:United Kingdom

Good value, fairly lightweight SPD Pedals

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I needed a pair of good value, good quality, fairly lightweight SPD pedals quickly and the Shimano M520's certainly fitted the bill!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ManchesterMAMIL

Good for first timers

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
First experience of cleats. These pedals have got me off to a great start - haven't fallen off once yet :-)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
rosietherider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good value, sturdy and work perfectly. An excellent set of first clipless pedals
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RhysW
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable, Good Value

PostedJune 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
After riding with a set of touring pedals these double sided pedals take some getting used to but are light weight, no fuss. Fitting them took just a couple of minutes the white colour although in retrospect is perhaps impractical looks good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
io420
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great entry level SPD pedals

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I got these as a replacement for the cheap and nasty standard pedals on my road bike that I've been putting up with. They work great, look great in white, and after using them with Specialized BG Sport road shoes I can't say it's not been a delight.
Definitely recommend this if you've got a rather tight budget.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
10CC
from Manchester
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First SPD

PostedApril 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
As my first venture into SPD pedals I have to say I would never go back! Although I don't have anything to compare them against I have to say these pedals are great particularly with the current price (£19.99)
The adjustable tension makes getting used to clipping in and out much easier and after just a few months I have already started to tighten them up. Only one fall so far, but that was me forgetting my feet were attached rather than being unable to un-clip.
All in all a great product, especially for the first time user such as myself. I would definately recommend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
atcyclist
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect for beginning commuters

PostedApril 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I bought these entry-level pedals as my first addition to my entry-level road bike for commuting. The double-sided cleat system means i don't have to worry about which side of the pedal I need to clip into, and the tension adjustments can be very slight to suit your preference. They are certainly not the lightest pedals, but are definitely reliable. I wouldn't look much further for your first set of clipless pedals!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CubeRider
from North Lancs
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great First SPD's

PostedMarch 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought these as my first SPD's to try after years of flat pedals. All I can say is simply brilliant. They give a great feel of security when riding in the hills and equally on the road. A bit strange to get used to after flat pedals but worth the effort. They have a look and feel of quality that some others a lot more expensive don't seem to give.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ray007
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Good pedals.

PostedApril 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
As a beginner nothing more to comment on this pedal, the reason giving it a 4 star cos several fall off the bike making me a bit annoying with the pedal -_-. But I'm getting used to it now, and it's indeed easy to clip in/out as long as you clip out before you get off the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lebar
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Great SPDs at a Great Price

PostedApril 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Got these as my first SPD Pedals, they are technically MTB SPD's but I am using them on a road bike with no issues.
The double sided pedal means I can clip in with little hassle, in fact could easily clip in and out without looking down at the pedals after afew clip in/outs.
The action to clip in is easy, with the release a simple twist, The tension required to release can be adjusted (I found the factory setting spot on)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
martin007
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great value for money ideal pedals

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
great standard pedals with value for money. recommended for me by the shop mechanic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Skinnera
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Great pedals

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A great pair of pedals at a really reasonable price. They work brilliantly, but don't forget to tighten the clips on your shoes, otherwise you end up with a show that won't come out without tools!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shackleton
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great budget pedals

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
this pedals arn't the lightest but they are robust and work well. i have just bought a new set to replace a two year old set, the pedals on the old set are fine but the cleats are really worn and keep ripping out of the pedals, and it worked out cheaper to buy the set than just the cleats
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
maltloaf

Great entry level pedals

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
These pedals represent great value. They give you an easy path to develop from clips to cleats. They run very smoothly and give a decent lifespan from a budget item. I did 1100 miles on these over the summer and they still run like new so I had no hesitation in buying and installing the same ones for my new bike. The mechanism gives confidence to novice riders. To get a better spd pedal you have to spend much more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GT2013
Country:Bhutan
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good general use pedal.

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The pedal has easy adjustments. It copes well with dirt, water, and grit if you are riding in the rain. Reasonably light and exceptional value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jancsoo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Excellent value

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Very easy to engage, disengage. felt proper connection with the bike, no sliding or unsure situations. Bonus - light weight.
Excellent value as I got it pretty much half price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jon1058

Bargain pedals that just work well

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Great pedals at a bargain price that last ages and need very little servicing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TH1954
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

They work for me Shimano M520 SPD Pedals

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I now use these pedals on all my bikes; MTB, Flat bar sport, Road bike, they are tough and light, simple to use and set up.
Its cost effective i can change bikes and use same shoes, which is handy less to take on holiday.
Usual bullet proof Shimano quality, they don't fail.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silver1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great starter SPD pedal

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A great pedal that does all that is required of it, at a budget price!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
scorpion23
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Ideal for new riders

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I chose these as a starter set to get used to clipping in when riding. They provide the ideal opportunity to pedal comfortably with the option to choose when you want to clip in and enable you to build your confidence gradually.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>