Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals

Shimano M520 SPD Pedals

Sharing many of the features with pedals costing twice as much, the M520 is an entry level pedal suitable for XC and a host of other uses. Lightweight, durable and smooth, with sealed bearings and an open, mud shedding design for reliability in performance in all conditions.
Overall rating:
4.703 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(512 reviews) 510
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 512 reviews
5 Stars
363
4 Stars
146
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
507 out of 512(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
50 Questions | 244 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GraBraz
Country:United Kingdom

Good value, fairly lightweight SPD Pedals

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I needed a pair of good value, good quality, fairly lightweight SPD pedals quickly and the Shimano M520's certainly fitted the bill!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ManchesterMAMIL

Good for first timers

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
First experience of cleats. These pedals have got me off to a great start - haven't fallen off once yet :-)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
rosietherider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good value, sturdy and work perfectly. An excellent set of first clipless pedals
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RhysW
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable, Good Value

PostedJune 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
After riding with a set of touring pedals these double sided pedals take some getting used to but are light weight, no fuss. Fitting them took just a couple of minutes the white colour although in retrospect is perhaps impractical looks good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
io420
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great entry level SPD pedals

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I got these as a replacement for the cheap and nasty standard pedals on my road bike that I've been putting up with. They work great, look great in white, and after using them with Specialized BG Sport road shoes I can't say it's not been a delight.
Definitely recommend this if you've got a rather tight budget.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
10CC
from Manchester
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First SPD

PostedApril 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
As my first venture into SPD pedals I have to say I would never go back! Although I don't have anything to compare them against I have to say these pedals are great particularly with the current price (£19.99)
The adjustable tension makes getting used to clipping in and out much easier and after just a few months I have already started to tighten them up. Only one fall so far, but that was me forgetting my feet were attached rather than being unable to un-clip.
All in all a great product, especially for the first time user such as myself. I would definately recommend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
atcyclist
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect for beginning commuters

PostedApril 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I bought these entry-level pedals as my first addition to my entry-level road bike for commuting. The double-sided cleat system means i don't have to worry about which side of the pedal I need to clip into, and the tension adjustments can be very slight to suit your preference. They are certainly not the lightest pedals, but are definitely reliable. I wouldn't look much further for your first set of clipless pedals!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CubeRider
from North Lancs
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great First SPD's

PostedMarch 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought these as my first SPD's to try after years of flat pedals. All I can say is simply brilliant. They give a great feel of security when riding in the hills and equally on the road. A bit strange to get used to after flat pedals but worth the effort. They have a look and feel of quality that some others a lot more expensive don't seem to give.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Haggers
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Robust and easy to use. These are my first clip in peddles and I have encountered no issues in clippining in & releasing. Highly reccomend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ronis
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great pedals, very well made.

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I am very impressed with these pedals. For the price I feel they are unbeatable and would recommend them to anyone looking for an introduction to SPD style pedals. they are superbly made and very easy to adapt to but, on my pair at least, I have found that even on the easiest setting, they still grip very firmly. This is not a problem, in fact I like it but it is worth mentioning. a great pedal at a very reasonable price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GOBiker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Great pedals

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, easy to use
Bought these for taking on holiday. Had concerns about small size and double sided arrangement, but these have been great. Limited use so far but probably the easiest pedals to use out of all my SPD and SPD-SL pedals. No problems with support for shoe/foot despite small size, probably helped by my shoes being fairly rigid. I have several pairs of single sided SPD pedals on my MTB, hybrid and tourer, but I will be replacing them with these if they wear out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SarahC2014
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Spitalfields

Great pedal for first time clipless users.

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Although I am a road cyclists, I decided on mountain bike shoes for comfort and for ease of walking. I started with touring pedals on recommendation from a friend. But after my bike (and pedals of course!) was stolen I purchased these ones. I found them much easier to use as you can clip in on both sides. Overall they are very affordable, seam durable (have been using them for 4 months), and very easy to use and adjust.
I purchased them in store with a price match from wiggle for £15.90.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JoDi42
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Preston

Good for first-time users.

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
It is the first time I have used cleats and found these pedals easy to use. I have them set on the lightest setting and come out of them easily in times of trouble, but stay in them while cycling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SpammyB1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Best at the price

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This pedal has proved an excellent choice. It is well made, not too heavy and feels robust enough to stand up to some heavy use. For a first time user like myself they are ideal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buccaneerbilly
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Great inexpensive pedals

PostedJune 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
You can not go wrong with these as a cheap simple MTB pedal, they are great at shedding mud, simple engaging and releasing make them great for muddy rides or just going to the shops and back. I bought these to replace my current 8 year old set that have endured thousands of miles in mud and road use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
theplacidcasual
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Decent entry level pedal.

PostedJune 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Cons: possible tolerance issues, fiddly iterative adjustment
I found one of the pedals easy to accurately adjust to taste, however, the other was very difficult to adjust to allow an easy release. I'm not sure if this is a cleat issue or a pedal manufacturing tolerance issue? However, after practically threading the grub screw due to the amount of tweaking, I've finally achieved some sort of acceptable adjustment. They perform their job admirably though and after a few very embarrassing early spills due to forgetting that I was clipped-in (too comfy and I really did feel part of the machine), I think that I've mastered them and can fervently recommend them as a starter 'clipless' pedal as, all-in-all I've found them to be very good value for the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tumbo81
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Great starter pedal.

PostedJune 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
As someone who has never used cleated pedals before, I was advised to try these as a starter and I wasn't disappointed. They are easy to use for someone who has never clipped in before and prepare you well for a more advanced road pedal. Thoroughly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jochen
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product

PostedMay 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Very pleased with these pedals. They make climbing hills much easier as I can now stand up on the pedals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tom1986
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Superb entry level spd

PostedMay 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
If your not to worried about weight these are all the SPD pedal you need. Great pedal and do everything of the more expensive options
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
smacattack
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

First SPDs - will never go back to flat pedals

PostedMay 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Can definately notice the efficiencies of using click in pedals. Picked these because they are 2-sided, good for a newbie like me.
Biggest lesson learned is to ensure you tighten up the cleats regularly as these loosen and can make it difficult to release.
Purchased from Fenchurch Street store. Excellent service, they got me on a Turbo Trainer so I can practice clipping in and out. They also resized my riding position which has been awesome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 26 next>>