Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals

Shimano M520 SPD Pedals

Sharing many of the features with pedals costing twice as much, the M520 is an entry level pedal suitable for XC and a host of other uses. Lightweight, durable and smooth, with sealed bearings and an open, mud shedding design for reliability in performance in all conditions.
Overall rating:
4.698 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(536 reviews) 534
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 536 reviews
5 Stars
379
4 Stars
152
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
531 out of 536Would you recommend this product to a friend?99%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
50 Questions | 244 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GraBraz
Country:United Kingdom

Good value, fairly lightweight SPD Pedals

Posted27 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I needed a pair of good value, good quality, fairly lightweight SPD pedals quickly and the Shimano M520's certainly fitted the bill!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ManchesterMAMIL

Good for first timers

Posted24 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
First experience of cleats. These pedals have got me off to a great start - haven't fallen off once yet :-)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
rosietherider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Posted03 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good value, sturdy and work perfectly. An excellent set of first clipless pedals
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RhysW
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable, Good Value

Posted19 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
After riding with a set of touring pedals these double sided pedals take some getting used to but are light weight, no fuss. Fitting them took just a couple of minutes the white colour although in retrospect is perhaps impractical looks good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
io420
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great entry level SPD pedals

Posted06 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I got these as a replacement for the cheap and nasty standard pedals on my road bike that I've been putting up with. They work great, look great in white, and after using them with Specialized BG Sport road shoes I can't say it's not been a delight.
Definitely recommend this if you've got a rather tight budget.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
10CC
from Manchester
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First SPD

Posted12 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
As my first venture into SPD pedals I have to say I would never go back! Although I don't have anything to compare them against I have to say these pedals are great particularly with the current price (£19.99)
The adjustable tension makes getting used to clipping in and out much easier and after just a few months I have already started to tighten them up. Only one fall so far, but that was me forgetting my feet were attached rather than being unable to un-clip.
All in all a great product, especially for the first time user such as myself. I would definately recommend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
atcyclist
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect for beginning commuters

Posted11 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I bought these entry-level pedals as my first addition to my entry-level road bike for commuting. The double-sided cleat system means i don't have to worry about which side of the pedal I need to clip into, and the tension adjustments can be very slight to suit your preference. They are certainly not the lightest pedals, but are definitely reliable. I wouldn't look much further for your first set of clipless pedals!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CubeRider
from North Lancs
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great First SPD's

Posted02 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought these as my first SPD's to try after years of flat pedals. All I can say is simply brilliant. They give a great feel of security when riding in the hills and equally on the road. A bit strange to get used to after flat pedals but worth the effort. They have a look and feel of quality that some others a lot more expensive don't seem to give.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
jheppcatt
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Basic

Posted23 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Good sturdy basic pedal. Minimum required characters left 26.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kerosenezen
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

solid entry level pedals

Posted11 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
good quality, solid pedals for mtb and road use. Had these for a long time always been reliable. Good buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stephen007
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value SPD pedal

Posted30 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
It says it all in the summary, this is a great Shimano SPD pedal set, and a great price too. Comes complete with set of SM-SH51 cleats. If you are venturing into SPD pedals for the first time this is a very good place to start, as an experienced rider I still think these are great. You can adjust the pedal tension to you individual needs to clip in/out of the pedal. Looks good and although they are more of an off road pedal set they can be, and are used on road/hybrid or MTB bikes. Great pedal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
EvaE2
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good value pedal

Posted26 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great, two-sided
Cons: Heavy, requires clip-in shoes
These are very good pedals and I have no doubt they will last a long time. They come with the one-direction release cleats, and I put on the multi-direction release cleats which I prefer.
As I never used clip-ins before, if I could go back in time I would rather get the Shimano A530 or the M324, which are clip in on one side, and flat on the other. It's both a blessing and a curse that this is 2-sided clip in - easy if you have your proper shoes on, but not great to pedal with normal shoes on (which I sometimes wish I could).
But excellent pedals if you'll only be in your bike shoes!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Dave78
Country:United Kingdom
It was bought:Wandsworth

Good for commuting, not as good off road

Posted24 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, durable
Cons: Heavy
A solid pedal that lasts for years on the road, good for commuting where you're clipping in and out all the time. Not bad in the mud on single track trails, but clipping in becomes less solid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MarkieB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

No-fuss, easy-to-use SPDs

Posted02 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
These are my first foray into 'clipless' pedals.
I was worried about making the transition but needn't have been.
A quick session with them on the turbo and I was ready for the road.
I wear the LG Terra MTB shoes with SPD cleats (even tho I'm a roadie) and these pedals are really easy to clip out of with a quick twist. Not had any issues yet.
When clipped in there is about a 7-8 degree freedom of sideways movement (yaw) of each foot, but I'm guessing that's not a bad thing unless you have bionic knees.
I've found having these to make the ride feel a whole lot more controlled and efficient.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Oli25
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
It was bought:Guildford

Good reliable and wont break the bank

Posted27 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I came across to MTB from road cycling so found using SPD's quite natural already. These are easy to clip into without fuss and feel solid despite the bike moving around below. unclipping feels easy enough. I bought these after reading a magazine review that claimed these to be a good budget pedal that requires little maintenance but will get the job done!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
soundcheck
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really nice pedals

Posted24 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Use them for my commute on a touring style bike. Very well installed for me at the store by friendly staff. Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
iMarc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product, great price

Posted24 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Had several sets of these over the years on different bikes and never had a problem with them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lost1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Perfect product for the daily comute

Posted16 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
A great product that works well. Non fussy easy to fit and came in genuine packaging. Great shop service with knowledgable staff
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BlueJacko
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Bombproof pedals

Posted04 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I use these pedals on my winter road bike, they are smooth, durable and relatively light. I bought them at a great price from Evans. Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cuba
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

All the pedal you will ever need (Road & MTB)

Posted13 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
You can't go wrong with this pedal. Had road pedals for a while and reverted back to these for their ease of use and robustness....they are brilliant all rounders. All the pedal you will ever need. Great price too
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 27 next>>