Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals

Shimano M520 SPD Pedals

Sharing many of the features with pedals costing twice as much, the M520 is an entry level pedal suitable for XC and a host of other uses. Lightweight, durable and smooth, with sealed bearings and an open, mud shedding design for reliability in performance in all conditions.
Overall rating:
4.709 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(525 reviews) 523
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 525 reviews
5 Stars
375
4 Stars
147
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
520 out of 525(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
50 Questions | 244 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GraBraz
Country:United Kingdom

Good value, fairly lightweight SPD Pedals

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I needed a pair of good value, good quality, fairly lightweight SPD pedals quickly and the Shimano M520's certainly fitted the bill!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ManchesterMAMIL

Good for first timers

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
First experience of cleats. These pedals have got me off to a great start - haven't fallen off once yet :-)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
rosietherider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good value, sturdy and work perfectly. An excellent set of first clipless pedals
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RhysW
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable, Good Value

PostedJune 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
After riding with a set of touring pedals these double sided pedals take some getting used to but are light weight, no fuss. Fitting them took just a couple of minutes the white colour although in retrospect is perhaps impractical looks good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
io420
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great entry level SPD pedals

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I got these as a replacement for the cheap and nasty standard pedals on my road bike that I've been putting up with. They work great, look great in white, and after using them with Specialized BG Sport road shoes I can't say it's not been a delight.
Definitely recommend this if you've got a rather tight budget.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
10CC
from Manchester
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First SPD

PostedApril 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
As my first venture into SPD pedals I have to say I would never go back! Although I don't have anything to compare them against I have to say these pedals are great particularly with the current price (£19.99)
The adjustable tension makes getting used to clipping in and out much easier and after just a few months I have already started to tighten them up. Only one fall so far, but that was me forgetting my feet were attached rather than being unable to un-clip.
All in all a great product, especially for the first time user such as myself. I would definately recommend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
atcyclist
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect for beginning commuters

PostedApril 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I bought these entry-level pedals as my first addition to my entry-level road bike for commuting. The double-sided cleat system means i don't have to worry about which side of the pedal I need to clip into, and the tension adjustments can be very slight to suit your preference. They are certainly not the lightest pedals, but are definitely reliable. I wouldn't look much further for your first set of clipless pedals!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CubeRider
from North Lancs
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great First SPD's

PostedMarch 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought these as my first SPD's to try after years of flat pedals. All I can say is simply brilliant. They give a great feel of security when riding in the hills and equally on the road. A bit strange to get used to after flat pedals but worth the effort. They have a look and feel of quality that some others a lot more expensive don't seem to give.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cuba
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

All the pedal you will ever need (Road & MTB)

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
You can't go wrong with this pedal. Had road pedals for a while and reverted back to these for their ease of use and robustness....they are brilliant all rounders. All the pedal you will ever need. Great price too
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DAVE108
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

SPD pedals

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Nice mountain bike type SPD pedals great for everyday riding fitted to CAADX bike why pay more
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PeteVWC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid Quality

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good pedals, very solid and well fitting - exactly what you expect from Shimano
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

love em

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
First time clip less and these are great. Value for money would recommend these even for rodies. Easy to fit and I was used to them after a couple of miles what more could you want
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Atlantic2000
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent set of pedals and good value.

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Good quality, lightweight, the clips work exceptionally well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shookway
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Does exactly what you expect it to

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This was my first pair of SPD pedals and I am very pleased with them. They are easy to clip in and out of and hold your foot securely whilst pedaling. Being a Shimano product they are naturally excellent quality, and have a really good weighty feel to them.
I don't see why anyone would ever buy anything else, I cannot think of a way that these could do a better job of what they are designed to do!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
QwertyMoose
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

Reliable, safe and great value

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I've used these pedals for several years. They were my first clip-in pedals when I decided to take my cycling up a notch. I thoroughly recommend. They have never let me down and I've never had a fall caused by trapped in feet; they reliably unclip with a slight twist of the ankle.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rupdog84
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Excellent value and quality

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This is a fantastic value pedal with the excellent quality you would expect from shimano. I have used this pedal for years mountain biking and it has stood up to a large amount of knocks over the years.
I would definitely recommend as a first spd pedal. I also use it on my road bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Groocockclan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Great entry level peddles

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
My first experience of clip in peddles and I have to say they are brilliant. So easy to use, so easy to 'unclick' which was my main concern. Fell of the bike once as I panicked and didn't follow the instructions to release your foot but that was the only time. A simple outward turn of your heal and you are free.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mike6767
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Highly recommended - really improved my cycling

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
These are the first clipless pedals I've bought. I was worried that they would be difficult to get in and out of and that it would be a pain always having to wear cycling shoes on the bike.
I got great advice in-store and bought an entry-level pedal and Specialized RBX touring shoes. The sales guy even helped me set up the shoes and pedals in the store.The first time I rode with the new pedals I was amazed at how much more power I could get on hills. Clipping in and out only takes a few minutes to master and I find it easier than toe clips. Delighted!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
slinkster
Country:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

The best SPD Pedals around

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
You can't go wrong with these pedals I have them on my MTB, Commuter and now on my road bike. Strong, sturdy and reliable. They also come with cleats too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
craig1978
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

good value

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
These are my first clipless pedals and offer good value as an entry pedal. Small pedal gives a good look and they are easy to clip in and out of.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 27 next>>