Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Continental Travel Contact Tyre

Continental Travel Contact Tyre

Overall rating:
4.535 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
41 out of 43(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer reviews for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Review 1 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BikingBrian
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedApril 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Perfect for tarmac and light trail. Good puncture resistance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
andymc16
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

mtb to road

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I have a specialized fsr mtb with maxis at the front and captain s at the back , been thinking about road tyres for a while and went to my local evans and the guys were great and suggested these , I was not disappointed they are amazing , the rolling resistance is near zero and gives good confidance in the bends
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ptolemy15
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Superb all year round commuter tyre

PostedApril 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Fitted these to my Jamis MTB and blown away by the difference it made to the way the bike rolls. Near silent road running and silky smooth ride. I ride mainly on roads and cycle paths when commuting to work and these are the best tyres I have ever used. No punctures, despite riding back roads notorious for broken glass that used to slash my previous, chunky tyres to pieces!
If you have chunky MTB tyres but don't go off road much then make the change to these. The knobbly on the sides will look after you when you hit mud but won't slow you down on day to day cycling round town.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
oslocyclist
Country:Norway
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Roll easily, wear well, grip well, no punctures

PostedApril 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, wears well, rolls easily, good puncture protection, grips surprisingly well on gravel
I have just used the Travel Contact 26 x 1.75 wire beads on both wheels on a 3-month tour of New Zealand, covering 3,600 km. Both tyres new at start. Bike (Surly LHT) loaded with four panniers plus tent, approx 10 kg total at the front, approx 16 kg plus 2.5 kg at the back. Road surface 90 % tarmac (mostly crushed aggregate with quite sharp edges) and 10 % gravel. The front tyre is approx 50 % worn, the rear tyre 65 % worn.
The tyres roll very easily, noticeably faster than the Marathons of an accompanying bike. The wear was quite acceptable considering the heavy load and the sharp aggregate used in NZ roads. Grip on gravel was surprisingly good, just as good as the Mondials that I used on a previous trip, although I had to be careful on a section of hard-packed smooth gravel covered by a thin layer of loose sand. Note however that I didn't experience any soft, muddy conditions.
There was little debris on most of the roads, but a number of glass shards from smashed beer bottles (no deposit on bottles in NZ) in a few towns/suburbs, mostly on the North Island. Despite this, I had no punctures whatsoever, so I had no use for the inner tube or Travel Contact foldable that I was carrying in reserve!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sedaterider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

very good tyres

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
These are good quality tyres. They are faster than my old knobbly tyres. I only use them on cycle paths and the road so don't know how they would perform on rough stuff. Very happy overall.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jbc27
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Make a huge difference commuting

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, low rolling resistance
Bought these as I mainly use the MTB for commuting in the week and slogging up hills on knobblies was a chore. Bought these as they have good resistance to punctures, have grips to the side walls but a flat middle tread so offer much less rolling resistance but some grip for trails.
Definatly no good on boggy grass and mud but great on the road and fine on gravel, tracks and reasonably dry fields etc.
Only had them a month or so now but nothing to complain about so would certainly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Debi

Great value for money

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I use my bike for commuting to work and this is now my 2nd pair of travel contacts. They provide good puncture protection, good grip and good speed along the pavement/road. After about ~4000 miles they started to puncture more frequently which is why I have just bought a 2nd pair. They also came with free inner tubes so can't ask for much more really at this price!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
brotherwong
Country:Hong Kong
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular

GOOD

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
GO TO XC track with my friends still goes fine, and fast in paved road
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fatty43
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Gets you to the tracks with half the effort.

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Exactly what I needed for the summer! Rolls well on tarmac and the edges grip the loose stuff on the tracks. I will change back to full off road tyres in winter as these won't handle wet rocks and roots.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NiftyNick45
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent product

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Bought these to help on the road and off road. No rolling resistance and very tough. Suitable for tracks and stoney tracks. Did the C2C with these on MTB and were perfect.
A great buy, order online as cheaper than buying in store??????
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CJS84
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
When I realised I was riding my Mountain Bike on the roads more than I was off of them I decided it was either time to buy a road bike or upgrade to a more appropriate tyre. Unable to afford a new road bike these have been a fantastic stop-gap. They're fast and smooth and ideal for the roads this summer. When it comes to tyres Continental are my first choice and constantly surpass my expectations in quality and durability. Looking forward to putting down a lot more miles with these excellent tyres!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
oldbear
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great Touring/Road tyre

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I use my moutain bike for cycle track/canal path/road use and these were an excelelnt replacement to the nobbly off road tyres. Significant reduction in resistance :-) Should have made the change a lot sooner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tjhfer0276
Country:Indonesia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The best tyre ever onroad and a little bit offroad

PostedJune 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I've been wanting this tyre since i watch my friend using it. Then i searching for it online as i find it difficult to get travel contact in my countries. And there it is, all meet my expectations. Lightweight, strong, nice looking, and you can count on it on almost every track. Very recommended
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
phillince
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cotinental tyres

PostedJune 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Brilliant product, makes such a differance rolling on the road.
Brilliant service from Evans yet again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
loaf
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
It was bought:Castleford

continental travel contact

PostedMay 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
just cannot tell how much i want them in 29 for 2nd bike great on and off road plus bullet proof so if like me u like to ride on the road to get to the off road this tyre is so good hard wearing fast good grip what more can u want
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tigershark
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Not the first pair I bought - and there will be mo

PostedApril 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I am using these on my commuting and touring bike. They have seen a lot of tarmac, but also gravel, and not only in the UK. I find them durable, and I like that they are smooth on roads but still have a good grip on less firm surfaces. I only just managed to wear out another pair - heavily used - and I will stick with them, as I think they are very good quality and value.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ashmoreland
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

commuting tyre

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
have been using for a month now. so far so good. no punctures which is the main thing. no problems in the wet which there has been a lot lately. other reviews questioned the effectiveness in the wet but i have been confident with them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rick707
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality urban tyre

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Had to replace the knobbly's on my Trek as nearly all my riding at present is on roads or parkland. The increased speed is welcome together with the superb grip on all hard surfaces. Limited use on the loose stuff obviously but as mentioned I did not buy them to use there. Have worked well on grass fields though. If you need a quality product for your MTB to use in urban surroundings this is the one for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ed74
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great for commute

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I bought this two weeks ago for my Hybrid. The toughness and slick tread combo works well for the short commute to town & longer weekend country trails.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jude86
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent product.

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I purchased these tyres for road use of my mountain bike and they are exactly what I needed.
I ordered 2 and the 2nd took a while to be delivered. I did not received any confirmation regarding expected delivery date which would have been good.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>