Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree

Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree

Overall rating:
4.245 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 49 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
47 out of 49(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Review 1 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nate91

Good quality!

PostedJune 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Fits well, easy to install and use. Very Hard wearing
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
theweasel

Best for your knees

PostedApril 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
I did a bit of research on this before buying as I was unclear what i needed - I'd been out of the road bike scene for a few years. In brief, unless you have the know-how and support to get your cleats aligned correctly, these are the ones to go for. Less strain on your joints! Simple to fit, but you'll need a torque wrench with allen key piece to fit properly.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TomDave22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Easy to fit, comfortable, reliable

PostedJune 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I brought this product to replace my worn and broken cleats.
The store had a wide range of different SPD cleats. The fitting of the cleats was very easy and only took 5 minutes once they had been lined up in the same position of the old ones.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Alan12
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

PostedJune 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
This product is pretty much standard for a new cyclist using cleats, I would definitely recommend this as a starting point!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
casualkilt
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great cleats

PostedMay 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Good product and service. Managed to get price match too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
REMT
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Guildford

Good entry level cleats

PostedApril 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: flimsey
Very good value for money. Good cleats but are damaged easily as they are quite flimsy plastic. Absolutely satisfactory for cycling but have to be very careful when walking in them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Wish these were chaper

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
I go through four pairs of these a year, they wear down very quick but with three bikes with SPD SL pedals I am stuck with these
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PhutureBenedict
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Happy with these

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
I was concerned when I first bought some Shimano SPD pedals as the cleats which came with them crumbled within weeks. Happy that a few weeks into using these they're still nearly new. I can only assume that Shimano provide low quality cleats with the budget pedals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RosieH

good basic cleats

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
ideal for beginners- I am and can use these fine
Found my other ones wore away sooner then I expected however
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bennoefc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Great cleats

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
These were the first cleats I bought when I went clipless and have continued buying them since. Really easy to get in and out of the pedals, and very secure once in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Oleg
Country:Lithuania
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

you need them anyway

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
6 degree float is what I need.
first pair survived on year and after I walked a lot,it is time to replace them.
And even then, I could use them longer, though I always want to be on safe side.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Julesfromleeds
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Standard product

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
It's not like there is a lot of choice. These work fine, but I seem to have to replace mine quite regularly, and c£20 seems a lot. I'd encourage you to consider the ones with 2 degrees of float, as power transfer is better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steph00814
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Does what its suppose to do

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I have always bought these cleats, they seem to be of good quality and im happy with the purchase
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Easy to fit and adjust to your particular requirements.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gordymeister2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

What it says on the tin

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Easy to fit and use, do need to keep walking to a minimum as do seem to wear fairly quickly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Strawbridge

Great easy to get to grips with

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Easy to fit to the shoes and set up and so easy to clip in and get going and simple to remove ur foot from the clip aswell
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
VeloPitshanger
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Good, hard-wearing cleats

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These cleats last a long time and you have plenty of warning when they need replacing. They feel very secure in the pedals and are easier than some to walk in
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bruce243
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Great Cleats from Shimano

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Another great product from Shimano a must for any serious road cyclist
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Oilandbikes
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tin

PostedMay 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cleats for SPD-SL. They wear out, you buy new ones. If they last longer than my last set, they'll get 5 stars next time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
endoftheroad
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shimano quality

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
the cleats do what they are supposed to do. What else is important ?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>