Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree

Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree

Overall rating:
4.295 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(61 reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 61 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
28
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
59 out of 61Would you recommend this product to a friend?97%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Review 1 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nate91

Good quality!

Posted26 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Fits well, easy to install and use. Very Hard wearing
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
theweasel

Best for your knees

Posted11 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
I did a bit of research on this before buying as I was unclear what i needed - I'd been out of the road bike scene for a few years. In brief, unless you have the know-how and support to get your cleats aligned correctly, these are the ones to go for. Less strain on your joints! Simple to fit, but you'll need a torque wrench with allen key piece to fit properly.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JJBJ
It was bought:Kingston

Good

Posted24 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Exactly as you'd expect. Good quality and works perfectly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phill101
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Replacement cleats

Posted09 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Ideal product, was replacing old worn out set. Price from website carried over into store.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CCSS
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

great product

Posted28 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
good product, been using them for years. never had any problems with them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andy298
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Great value for money

Posted13 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Considering the price of this product you would think it would not last. However it is fantastically made and will last a long time, very easy to fit. 100% happy with my purchase would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nelly123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Cheap but good.

Posted13 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
The yellow pads don't last a million years, but the cleats are strong and give you a good feel of fragility from a plastic component.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Greg4907
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Standard functional product

Posted05 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
On to my second set of these with about 8 months of daily usage out of the first. Standard functional set at reasonable price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Twee22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:East Dulwich

Stiff yet comfortable

Posted11 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, stiff
I have found these to be the perfect cleats for my racing and training needs. Would definitely recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AndrewI
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

nice simple spd cleats

Posted23 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
The Shimano SPD-SL cleats are a simple, cheap replacement and work perfectly. Last about 4-5 months heavy use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cyclingroo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Good but delicate

Posted22 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Last well and fit well into the pedals. The float is ideal for me as I have slightly knackered knees from previous injuries. Only issue is they are delicate when walking. I snapped the yellow bit off when walking a short distance on gravel. Oddly it didn't seem to make much difference to the fit to the pedal!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HalfOutlawEd
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

second set of clips

Posted21 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
first started using clips this year to compete in my first Half Iron Man diastase triathlon, It really is worth going from pedals to clips so much better
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple and effective

Posted20 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Just cleats, but cant cycle properly without them! they arrived quickly and the quality is really good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
biffo28
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidstone

easy first time user cleats that wear out quickly.

Posted04 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Poor quality
I bought these cleats to replace some worn ones that I first started using last winter, I put in about 100 miles a week but I'm careful about how far I walk in them when I'm not on my bike, even so I'm surprised how quickly they have worn. At full retail price i don't think they offer value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TomDave22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Easy to fit, comfortable, reliable

Posted12 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I brought this product to replace my worn and broken cleats.
The store had a wide range of different SPD cleats. The fitting of the cleats was very easy and only took 5 minutes once they had been lined up in the same position of the old ones.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Alan12
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Posted10 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
This product is pretty much standard for a new cyclist using cleats, I would definitely recommend this as a starting point!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
casualkilt
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great cleats

Posted21 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Good product and service. Managed to get price match too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
REMT
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Guildford

Good entry level cleats

Posted14 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: flimsey
Very good value for money. Good cleats but are damaged easily as they are quite flimsy plastic. Absolutely satisfactory for cycling but have to be very careful when walking in them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Wish these were chaper

Posted11 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
I go through four pairs of these a year, they wear down very quick but with three bikes with SPD SL pedals I am stuck with these
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats - Front Float 6 Degree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PhutureBenedict
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Happy with these

Posted21 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
I was concerned when I first bought some Shimano SPD pedals as the cleats which came with them crumbled within weeks. Happy that a few weeks into using these they're still nearly new. I can only assume that Shimano provide low quality cleats with the budget pedals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>