Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats Zero Float

Shimano SPD-SL Cleats Zero Float

Overall rating:
4.111 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats Zero Float
Review 1 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats Zero Float
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Richwhitty01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Solid product

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Perfect cost effective cleat setup!!! Used for casual rides and IM...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats Zero Float
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
izethewise
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Fixed cleats are the best

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Anyone who has gone with the float is better for the knees idea is deluded. Try some fixed cleats and I can assure you, you'll never go back. Why do you think most of the pro peloton use them?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats Zero Float
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
mustTRImore
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

I wish they would make these more robust!

PostedMay 28, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
These pedals are great when you first start using them (although the 'zero float' option can take a while to get used to and initially caused me a little bit of knee pain, until I had them adjusted properly), but they wear so fast!!
Within a few hundred miles (and very little 'out of pedal' action) these pedals are already showing signs of significant wear and my feet are moving around on the pedal.
The plastic is too soft and breaks down very quickly :-(
I would say not recommended - but I don't know of any better alternatives!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats Zero Float
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ciro
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This product is better than the ordinary Shimano

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: wear fast
This product is better than the ordinary Shimano Cleats (yellow's one) however, could be better if were not made of plastic. they wear very fast as you walk on it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats Zero Float
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pdapalmarosa
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Product from Shimano

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Excellent Shimano product and a reasonable price...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats Zero Float
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pengjn
from Hampshire
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent cleats

PostedMay 14, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I had the yellow cleats with float before and they felt a little loose. When I wore those out from walking on them I replaced them with the zero float version. The only complaint is that they aren't that tough, I don't walk far in my cycling shoes - just across a car park but that was enough to fairly rapidly trash the previous cleats. I now take off my shoes and walk in my socks to avoid the problem, which isn't ideal. Metal might be better for longevity?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats Zero Float
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IanT
from SW London
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good cleats {If you want no float}

PostedFebruary 9, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Solved my problems with knee pains - I know 'no float' is not for everyone, but it seemed to help stabilise my leg enough that I could cycle further or longer. The cleat wears fairly well given its exposed nature.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats Zero Float
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speedy1
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Decent Cleats

PostedJanuary 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: lack longevity
The zero float Shimano SPD-SL cleats are a decent set of cleats but I only recommend to those have good form whilst cycling. These cleats allow no movement so they will lead to sore knee's if they are not right for you. I have enjoyed using these cleats but have one complaint which is their longevity.
I understand cleats are not made for walking but I feel they would benefit from a more rigid compound that would last longer as I am replacing mine after 4 months.
Their form and function I cannot fault as I have been using these for some time.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano SPD-SL Cleats Zero Float
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Kevino
from Highland Scotland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Shimano SPDR-SL Cleats Zero Float

PostedJune 5, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Look fine but not yet used. Should have ordered the yellow float cleats.
-8points
1of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.